We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Blacksmith Restaurant

The Blacksmith Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Blacksmith Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #27 of 444 Restaurants in Bend
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Harriman St
Elkton, Oregon
Level Contributor
157 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Walked in without reservations, tired and dusty after a long, hot day at a horse show. What a find! The staff was attentive, and my wife fell in love with their peach lemon drop. My beer was great, and the appetizer was fantastic--we had the tuna poke, and the ahi just melted in your mouth! Quite delectable. I had the Cajun beef medallions--very nicely done, and not overcooked. My wife had the surf and Turf, which was also great. While we entered hungry, we couldn't even look at the desert menu at that time! The ambience was great, the staff was solicitous but not overly so, and the food was fantastic!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ghotai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    41
    20
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portland
Level Contributor
345 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“A haven in a shutdown town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Bend, Oregon is a fun town with lots to do ... but not so much after 9pm. The bar and restaurant scene quiets way down after 2100 hours. That's one of the things that makes The Blacksmith so good. Delicious food, a fine selection of beers on tap, friendly and attentive service and a nice atmosphere, all wrapped up inside a historic building in downtown. And it stays open, with some great happy hour deals, past that 9pm witching hour. I enjoyed the mac-and-cheese sampler (three varieties all tasty and artery-clogging) and the shrimp po' boys. The berry tart is yummy, too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KommissarKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Go early to have the place to yourself”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

A local sent us here for a good steak- We had the ribeye - it was one of the best we have ever had and we have eaten some good ones including the ones we cook ourselves as we are from beef country. Service was fantastic, the choice of wine was very good the atmosphere is contemporary with servers dressed in all black- age group any- great menu but we were there for a good steak and they delivered

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank dsagmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Needs attention”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

A very mixed experience in late May of 2013. The staff was very accommodating in seating the 2 of us on a busy Friday night - the place was hopping with very good live music. In general, the food was tasty. My wife had the great beet salad as her sole entree, but unfortunately had considerable GI distress during that night. My Tuna Poke (origin of the name?) was only OK and too heavy on the guacamole that formed the dish. My drink order was lost. They are trying hard, but need attention to detail in the kitchen and service. This is a work in progress for the new owners.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PTMag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
398 reviews
278 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Great place for cocktails with friends!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

We've known the Blacksmith for their great food and service (be sure to get their bananas foster if you're having a meal here) but we also love it for their lounge and happy hour! We met up with three other couples here and reserved one of the larger couch areas for all of us. What a delight! The drinks were excellent, service ideal, and we all had a happy hour snack before the end of happy hour. The food was wonderful as was the atmosphere. It was such a comfortable setting in the lounge....give it a try!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank BlueEyeTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blacksmith Restaurant also viewed

 
Bend, Central Oregon
 

Been to The Blacksmith Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing