We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best place to stay in Bend, OR”
other travelers have booked this property
Secluded and serene, the Cottage is just a 4 minute walk to downtown shops, restaurants and events.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Secluded and serene, the Cottage is just a 4 minute walk to downtown shops, restaurants and events.
New LCD HD TV in Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
70 reviews
Secluded and serene, the Cottage is just a 4 minute walk to downtown shops, restaurants and events.
New LCD HD TV in Bedroom
Tile shower with double shower heads and grab bars. Four sets of quality towels, shampoo and soaps.
Shower with an assortment of soaps and hair care products. 4 sets of towels.
Ample counter top and mirrors. Blow dryer, curling iron and various lotions provided
Washer and Dryer -Icemaker in freezer. Laundry and cleaning products provided
LCD HD TV, Cable, BluRay DVD and surround sound systems in living room
Full sets of glass and stem ware
Table setting for 8
complete sets of pots, pans- toaster and blender
Quality Coffee, French press, bean grinder and a large selection of teas
Generous assortment of seasonings
Coffee flavorings and  loaner growler
Cottage patio as seen from the Stairway to Heaven.The Cottage is situated on over .25 acres downtown
view looking up the 'Stairway to Heaven'
Bench at the top of the 'Stairway to Heaven'--listen to the river from here
Summer blossoms
Private parking, entry and storage unit. New Level 2 EV Charger inside the storage unit.
Fall colors. New Level 2 EV charger inside Storage locker. Loaner ice chest and Beach Towels too.
Level II, 50 Amp Electric Vehicle charger with 25' cord. The EV Charger is unique to Bend STRs.
Fall is a season for the plants to prepare for next Spring. It is also one of the greatest times to visit Bend and hike...
Winter peacefulness also signals ski and board season.
Along with the seasons, The Cottage bedding and artwork change too-winter holiday season shown here.
Vies of Bend from Pilot Butte in early winter. Seen are Broken Top and the Three Sisters
From Pilot Butte overlooking Bend. Middle and North Sisters, Black Crater, Mt Washington, Black Butte, Three Finger...
Deer frequent the grounds year around. This beautiful buck was likely born in our gardens.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bend, Central Oregon, Oregon

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 70 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kathy O
2 reviews
“Best place to stay in Bend, OR”
Reviewed January 23, 2019 for a stay in December 2018

Perfect location to explore Bend's downtown area and the river. It is so homey and truly adorable. It is in a private location but off the beaten path with a beautiful garden right outside the french doors. It is well equipped and has everything you could possibly need or want for your stay. The owners are respectful and response to anything you need. I highly recommend 2nd Street Cottage!

Date of stay: December 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 25, 2019
Thank you Kathy
We try to be respectful of our Cottagers; our guests at all times. Even when something like a faulty light bulb is reported, we ask permission to enter the Cottage. May that might seem over-the-top respectful but it is how we roll. It was a pleasure having you for a month while relocating to Bend and finding permanent housing. And thank you for taking such good care of the Cottage. Do stop by later this spring and visit the gardens. Some of the flower beds are already starting to awaken.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kensondev...
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Amazing garden oasis close to everything”
Reviewed September 1, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Great location, sparkling clean cottage, beautiful gardens, welcoming host - this place is truly special

Date of stay: August 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 2, 2018
Thank you for the succinct review. You hit on the special elements of the Second Street Cottage and grounds. We hope to see you again soon. DonP
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve S
1 review
“The Absolute Best Place to Stay in Bend, Oregon!”
Reviewed August 30, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

My wife and I just returned from a 2 week long Oregon vacation. We spent the first week at the Second Street Cottage in Bend and we loved it! The Cottage is immaculately clean, perfectly located, and incredibly well-stocked with everything you could possibly need to have an amazing, entertaining, and relaxing stay in Bend. Within walking distance there is a great grocery store (Newport Avenue Market), a great place to rent bicycles (Sunnyside Sports),. and oodles of places to eat. The grounds are stunningly landscaped - we enjoyed relaxing on the awesome patio behind the Cottage each evening. Each day we made sure we returned from our adventures in time to enjoy the sunset. Don and Marline are the perfect hosts - they are there if you need them but they respect your privacy as well. Don knows everything Bend has to offer and he suggested two great adventures that we would not have discovered without his guidance. This is easily the best vacation rental property that we have ever experienced. Thanks Don and Marline!

Date of stay: August 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 31, 2018
Thank you for the glowing review and mentioning how we respect our guests' privacy. The Cottage is situated at the rear of our .25+ downtown acre property. It has its own dedicated off street parking and private entry. The ground were on the 2012 Central Oregon Master Gardeners' tour which attests to the landscaping being a "cut above". And there is great separation between the Cottage and our home, affording privacy for our guests with each of us enjoying our own patios. Most importantly, each time we walk toward the Cottage patio, we (the hosts) ask permission to approach. Our Cottagers' comfort and privacy are paramount. Please do come back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freedom73...
2 reviews
“Best Place To Stay In Bend”
Reviewed August 28, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

This cottage is very well appointed (sharp knives, coffee, tea, condiments) and did not disappoint. It is close to downtown and within walking distance to many good restaurants. The host is very attentive and works hard to make sure everything is in order.

Date of stay: August 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 29, 2018
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and, of course, your repeat business. There is no greater affirmation than repeat stays. Marline and I strive to provide every guest a great lodging experience in a convenient yet secluded location. Hope to see you again soon. DonP
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel G
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“Peaceful retreat in the heart of Bend”
Reviewed August 17, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

This smartly designed, comfortable, and well appointed cottage is ideally located in the heart of Bend, within walking distance of the Deschutes river, downtown, and the west side restaurants and bars on Galveston. The location is also perfect for the west side driving excursions to the Three Sisters Wilderness for outdoor recreation. Donny is a great communicator and checks in to ensure everything is ok during your stay. The cottage is quiet and the vaulted ceilings and skylights, along with the modern amenities, make for the perfect home away. The outdoor area is beautifully landscaped and the patio is perfect for morning tea or meals outside. I have traveled to a lot of VRBO properties and Donny and his wife have thought of everything when outfitting the cottage for travelers. I look forward to future return visits.

Date of stay: August 2018
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 19, 2018
Thank you for your in-depth review. As we discussed during your visit, Marline and I do try to anticipate traveler needs and provide for them. All travelers have a finite amount of time while in central Oregon. Anything we can do to increase play time by providing the many little things one might need adds value to the guest experience. An example might be the variety of spices stocked in the Cottage. Not only does it save the guest time and money usually expended while shopping, having items on hand which might only be used once or twice, reduces waste. We encourage our “Cottagers” to check all of the cupboards before shopping for groceries. And we always provide a generous amount of paper products, again, to save the traveler time and money. Please do come see us again. DonP
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safari259...
1 review
“Excellent Cottage within easy walking distance to downtown Bend”
Reviewed August 10, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We have stayed in rentals throughout the U.S. and Europe and Second Street Cottage is by far the nicest and best equipped accommodation we’ve stayed in - from shampoo to salad dressings to coolers to champagne. Extremely clean and ready for us with the air conditioner running. Don was always willing to offer suggestions for restaurants, stores, and day trips. We’d highly recommend this cottage to anyone.

Date of stay: July 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 11, 2018
WOW! What a great review.
Marline and I recognize that every guest, regardless of reason for traveling, has a finite amount of time in Bend. Thus, we try to anticipate what guest's might need or seek. From non-perishable spices and condiments to quality hair care products, to various sizes of cooler / ice chests., we have you covered. And as the seasons change, we rotate art work, bedding and comforters to match.
Thank you for your business, kind comments and please do return.
DonP
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kgursahan...
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
“Can’t go wrong”
Reviewed July 2, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

The cottage was just perfect & Don is a great host. I’ve already mentioned it to several friends interesting in visiting Bend.

Date of stay: June 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 4, 2018
Referrals are perhaps the best testimonial possible- Thank you for your business and appreciations. DonP
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing