We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best Vacation Rental We've Ever Stayed In!”
other travelers have booked this property
Patio with BBQ and propane heater
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Patio with BBQ and propane heater
Private parking, entry and storage unit. New Level 2 EV Charger inside the storage unit. Queen size Captain's bed with 600count linens
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
69 reviews
Patio with BBQ and propane heater
Private parking, entry and storage unit. New Level 2 EV Charger inside the storage unit.
Queen size Captain's bed with 600count linens
New LCD HD TV in Bedroom
Tile shower with double shower heads and grab bars
Shower with an assortment of soaps and hair care products. 4 sets of towels.
Ample counter top and mirrors. Blow dryer, curling iron and various lotions provided
Bedding and art rotated with seasons
Fully equipped kitchen with stainless steel appliances including a diswasher
Washer and Dryer -Icemaker in freezer. Laundry and cleaning products provided
Queen size sofa bed with full 600 thread count linens.
LCD HD TV, Cable, BluRay DVD and surround sound systems in living room
Full sets of glass and stem ware
Table setting for 8
complete sets of pots, pans- toaster and blender
Coffee, French press, bean grinder and a large selection of teas
Generous assortment of seasonings
Coffee flavorings and  loaner growler
Cottage patio as seen from the 'Stairway to Heaven'
view looking up the 'Stairway to Heaven'
Bench at the top of the 'Stairway to Heaven'--listen to the river from here
Summer blossoms
Fall colors. New Level 2 EV charger inside Storage locker. Loaner ice chest and Beach Towels too.
Fall is a season for the plants to prepare for next Spring. It is also one of the greatest times to visit Bend and hike...
Winter peacefulness also signals ski and board season.
Vies of Bend from Pilot Butte in early winter. Seen are Broken Top and the Three Sisters
From Pilot Butte overlooking Bend. Middle and North Sisters, Black Crater, Mt Washington, Black Butte, Three Finger...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bend, Central Oregon, Oregon

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 69 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rosalind...
1 review
“Best Vacation Rental We've Ever Stayed In!”
Reviewed July 6, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Simply and beautifully decorated; great outdoor space -- we dined on our private patio every night! Every need is anticipated from the well-stocked kitchen to bathroom amenities to detailed instructions for every electronic device to a nice selection of books about the area to a host-made information book full of personal suggestions of local shopping, dining, sights, you name it! Our hosts were so friendly and helpful and the location was perfect. While the cottage was quiet and peaceful, it was only a few minutes walk to the river and the charming restaurants and shops of downtown Bend and a short walk in the other direction to the delightful Newport Market. And to top it all - evening visits in the beautiful garden by a momma and baby deer! Just lovely.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 7, 2017
Thank you Rosalind for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We cannot promise the deer will visit every evening but the odds are good--not for the garden as they love the Cottage "salad bowl" of landscaping.
Really do hope you will visit again soon. DonP (the gardener) and Marline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn A
1 review
“Beautiful cottage in a perfect location”
Reviewed June 26, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We loved staying in this gorgeous cottage. It included all the thoughtful touches that make you feel welcome. The peaceful outdoor seating area was also lovely - especially in the morning with the sun coming through the trees. Best of all was the location - so easy to walk or bike to downtown, breweries/tasting rooms, and the amphitheater. It was lovely to leave our car behind all weekend. We will be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 27, 2017
Thank you for your thoughtful comments. To note that you left your car parked all weekend is a great testimonial to the Cottage location. And thank you for appreciating the patio and gardens. Please do come back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William R
1 review
“This is a great place for 2 in the heart of Bend.”
Reviewed June 13, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This small but perfectly appointed cottage has everything you could want in a rental. It is located walking distance to downtown, hiking/biking trails and the river. The kitchen is better equiped than any rental I've ever been in and the cottage is comfortable and perfect for 2. There is a beautiful patio and garden right out the back door. The owner is nearby and available to answer questions and make recommendations on restaurants and nearby activities; very helpful and hospitable. If I return to Bend this is where I'll stay; highly recommend it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 15, 2017
Thanks for taking the time to write a testimonial. The Cottage is licensed for up to 4 guests and as you said..."a great place for 2". Marline and I strive to ensure every Cottager has a unique lodging experience; one which solicits .....we will return. There is so much to do and see in central Oregon, we try to recommend sights, hikes, activities tailored to our guests desires. Hope to see you again. DonP
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DayTrip48...
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed November 16, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

2nd time at 2nd Street Cottage - Again met all our needs - Perfect location,immaculate and comfortable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 17, 2016
Repeat Cottagers are the best testimonial for which a host can ask. Perfect location, immaculate and comfortable says it all. Thank you for taking time to write a review and please do come see us again soon. DonP
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarethJ11...
2 reviews
“Best place ever !”
Reviewed November 9, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We loved every minute of our two weeks at Second Street Cottage. The house itself is absolutely beautiful - perfectly clean and fitted out to the highest standard, there was everything in it that we needed and more. Having our own bit of garden (complete with resident deer, Gladys and her 2 babies!) was fantastic and the location couldn't be better either - only 5 minutes walk from downtown Bend, but so peaceful and quiet.
We had said that this would be our fifth and final visit to Bend from the UK, but after discovering this gem we know we will be back! Don and Marline are the perfect hosts - so friendly and attentive, and nothing was too much trouble - they made it feel like a home from home and we feel lucky to have made such wonderful friends.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZZenner
Petaluma, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A peaceful modern home away from home”
Reviewed August 16, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Don and Marline's cottage is the perfect getaway spot. They thought of every thing you might need and then some. They had amenities for everything you might have forgotten ie: toiletries, kitchen items for packing a lunch for a hike, etc. A lot of thought and care was put into this cottage and we really appreciated this aspect.

The modern and tastefully decorated cottage was located within walking distance to downtown yet it was so quiet there you wouldn't know. The yard was really pretty and peaceful with two deer that came down to visit.

Don was a perfect host giving us great advice on goings on about town. We took his advice and ate dinner at "Drakes" which was wonderful. He also let us know about music in the park and a hot rod show which we attended. It really felt like we were staying with friends and I highly recommend this cottage for those looking to get away and relax but be close enough to walk to a nice dinner. Thank you Don & Marline.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 17, 2016
Thank you for taking time from your busy schedule to write a review. There is so much to see and do in Bend. There seems to be a special event nearly every weekend and we are happy to clue our "Cottagers " into the local scene. The cottage is only a 5 minute walk to downtown where most of the events occur. With the cottage having its own private parking pad, guests need not waste time searching for a place to park or worry about driving after tasting and meals.
A word about our customer interaction. Marline and I respect our Cottagers privacy. We are cautious to only interact when invited. The guest sets the tone.
Do come visit again. DonP
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lathrop S
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We would give it six stars if we could”
Reviewed August 15, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We would give it 6 stars if we could. The place is immaculately clean and well kept. Don is very thoughtful to include incidental items such as soap, shampoo, yoga mat, to go coffee cups and even a state forest parking pass. Don also had great recommendations on places to eat and see. Beautiful garden and lawn to enjoy. Lovely spot. Can't wait to go back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 15, 2016
We would love to have a six star rating but alas, 5 will have to do. Thank you. Marline and I diligently work to ensure the Cottage is immaculate for each guest and provide the “little things” travelers would not expect. Our philosophy is that our customers’ time in Bend is finite. We try to make that limited time more efficient by providing the Northwest Forest and Oregon snow parking permits. The Cottage is stocked with a generous supply of condiments, spices, coffee and a selection of teas. Other “little things” include a day pack, small lunch size cooler and a larger ice chest. One will find beach towels and even make-up removal towelettes (saves the 4 sets of high quality wash clothes and towels  ). When a traveler makes a reservation, we a detailed list of amenities to assist them with trip planning and packing. Many Cottagers have commented that getting the list really helps reduce the number of items which they might have packed. We also hear many comment on the quality of the linens; all 600 thread count and above. Please do come back and spend much more time in our little piece of heaven.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing