We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great expectations” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brother Jon's Public House

Brother Jon's Public House
Ranked #18 of 444 Restaurants in Bend
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
126 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great expectations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

You can always count on great food, great guest beers, and of course great service. This place always exceeds our expectations. Nothing on the menu is ordinary or too far out. Can be tough to get a seat during lunch.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    63
    10
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Grants Pass, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A Fabulous Little Spot That Puts the "House" in Public House”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Sure, it's a crowded little spot with a sign that is barely visible from the street and it looks like it was decorated by a drunken college student - but.....My Goodness the food is good and the people are friendly.

There are no shortage of pubs in Bend where expansive brew/pubs like Deschutes tend to get all the attention but we asked a local where he goes and he recommended Brother Jon's and we were all really glad he did. We were a large group of 7 and at an establishment that small we were worried we would have to wait a long time but after just a few moments we were taken out to a nice back deck and seated at a large picnic table.

They have a relatively small but varied beer list and the menu had some interesting takes on pub classics. The mac and cheese, burgers and sandwiches were all fantastic.

The servers were all very attentive and took great care of us.

If you're in the area, and can find it, pass up 10 Barrel and stop in to Brother Jon's.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
109 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

Used this place for catering and came back for a meal of my own. I had a Cobb salad which was great. Food was fast and service was excellent. I would come back!

Helpful?
Thank megmagoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Always on the move
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“No frills exterior - Quality food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

This is a pub so it can be a bit loud when it's packed, and it was for us but we found out why. The food is excellent and our server was spot on attentive to every table he had.

Very casual as expected, not as flashy as the place across the street but no regrets here. If you want good food, service and great beer or cider, give them a try.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 2Luvbrds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
89 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“This place deserves a higher ranking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

This is a favorite in Bend, always crowded. with a reputation for the best pub food in town. The beer list is always excellent. The food is surprisingly good and the servings are enormous. The one disappointment is the French fries. In a place like this they should be a signature item. Instead they are soggy and come to the table too long after they are cooked. There is a redeeming feature, however: plum sauce. Really. You could eat this stuff on anything. It is sweet and spicy and unusual and familiar all at the same time. Happy eating.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Leighsscreenname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brother Jon's Public House also viewed

Bend, Central Oregon
 

Been to Brother Jon's Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing