We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service and food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brother Jon's Public House

Brother Jon's Public House
Ranked #18 of 444 Restaurants in Bend
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
chicago, il
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent service and food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Good beer selection. Great food. Friendly staff. Excellent service. Homemade fries are awesome. Huge portions. Our table had the pulled pork sandwich, ranch burger, and special of the night...tenderloin medallions with an amazing blue cheese sauce. We also had two desserts for the table...brownie sundae and peach cobbler. Total tab for four people: two sandwiches, two entrees, two desserts and two mixed drinks at the table was $87. Very reasonably priced. We got there and had a bit of a wait...maybe thirty minutes, but not bad for a Saturday night.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ylimer82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    63
    10
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Southern Comfort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Some of the best food and THE best value in town. No one else puts out the unique southern style dishes Like Bro Jo's. If you have not been go early or late because the secrets is out. Somewhat small but very much worth the wait if need be. Portions are huge but the taste is still there. One of my must try spots for any of my out of town guests. The staff is very professional for this atmosphere and pour a tasty cocktail. Also they offer revolving taps with a very good selection of beers/ales you normally don't see in Bend. Thumbs way up.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood, Oregon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“HUGE SANDWICHES”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

The 4 different types of sandwiches ordered at our table were giant and good. The fries seemed a little sad. They were luke warm and looked like the oil should have been changed long ago.
Our server was great.
The room was pretty loud with only a few other tables full but we enjoyed it overall.
Very nice local beer selection.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KRIS T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Good grits!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Ate here because the more popular restaurants that we enjoy had a 40min to an hour wait. My only complaint is that it's not handicapped accessible.

Service was a little slow... But not too bad. The bacon/cheese grits were great but would have liked a bigger portion. Overall food was good but not as good as let's say the Victorian...

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bjeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland
Level Contributor
157 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A fun brew pub for the whole family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

The place looks the part. The brews were very good. Our server went out of her way to make sure that the grandchildren got what they wanted. This set the tone for a very nice evening meal. I read the reviews about the ale house and I'm happy to report that the Public House lives up to the standard. The meal was plentiful, hot and well prepared. It's too bad that we were only touring because I would make this a regular spot for dinner and a brew.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank zaxes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brother Jon's Public House also viewed

Bend, Central Oregon
 
Bend, Central Oregon
 

Been to Brother Jon's Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing