We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New owner same wonderful property and service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Bend
Ranked #6 of 44 Hotels in Bend
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“New owner same wonderful property and service.”
Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

This is the old Ameritel Inn that was purchased recently by Hilton. We were worried that our beloved Ameritel would be ruined, but we were pleasantly surprised.

We weren't surprised to find out upon checkin that the buffet breakfast was no longer complimentary, however, they gave us vouchers for free breakfast for the two days we stayed. This turned out to be a bonus as the hotel has turned the dining area into a restaurant. We enjoyed breakfast both days and it was very good. We also heard from others that dinner is also very good and prices are very modest as well.

The lobby is much the same and is very welcoming. I enjoyed reading in the morning next to the fire. They continue to have fresh baked cookies in the lobby in the evening.

They have new equipment the the fitness center which is one of the nicest we have experienced. Two elipticals, two treadmills, a bicycle, weight station, two benches with a rack of free weights. Two large screen HD TVs in the room and individual monitors at the treadmills and elipticals.

The pool and hot tub are also nicer than most.

We will continue to make this our first choice when visiting Bend.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B_and_A_2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    206
    55
    22
    8
See reviews for
211
326
31
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte
Level Contributor
306 reviews
259 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We spent two nights here, and had a great stay. The exterior and lobby have a mountain lodge feel that fits in perfectly with the atmosphere in the beautiful city of Bend. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. Overall it's just a nice vibe here. There is a good indoor pool and well equipped fitness room. Our King Balcony room was quite luxurious, with a large TV and good lighting. It had a good view of the river below and the mountains to the west. Breakfast is in a large open area adjacent to the lobby, and was in line with Hilton Garden standards. We opted for the continental breakfast which gives you a lot of food for a lower price than the full breakfast. The restaurant is open for lunch and dinner, but most people elect to eat elsewhere. They also have a laundry room which comes in handy if you're on a long trip like ours.

The hotel overlooks the upscale Old Mill shopping center (one minute walk) where there are several decent restaurants. The best restaurants in Bend (e.g.---Zydeco) seem to be downtown which is a mile away. Parking downtown is plentiful, and it's worth the drive down there.

Room Tip: River view rooms are worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lchjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

As a business traveler, HGI is one of my favorite brands. Since I generally travel alone, I really enjoy eating dinner at the bar in the restaurant. Saves me the time of driving around to find a restaurant. The staff at this HGI, especially in the restaurant, were great. I asked if I could get an entree prepared slightly differently and they were happy to accommodate me (in fact the chef came out to talk to me about it). The dinner was very good! One note, the restaurant currently serves only beer and wine.

This is a beautiful HGI and fairly large. I understand that it used to be another brand and it was recently converted to an HGI. The architecture and decor reminds me of a stately lodge. The rooms are very nice, with the HGI standard of microwave, refrigerator, and coffee maker...all are nice to have. As a Hilton Gold member, they had a very generous gift bag waiting in my room with two bottles of water, microwave popcorn, trail mix, and M&Ms.

The only complaint I have is the noise. For whatever reason, I could hear a lot of noise from my room. I never experienced this at another HGI that I can remember. I would probably stay here again, but would probably request a room on the top floor and not facing the parking lot.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank FRW99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Wisconsin
Level Contributor
100 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Has only been a Hilton Garden since summer 2012, but is a few years old. It must have been built with Hilton Garden in mind, as the atrium/lobby/restaurant looks pretty much like any other Hilton Garden. Great welcome at the front desk, restaurant is very good. 2 nights here in comfy Hilton beds, and a short walk down the hill in back to the old mill area that is now a 'lifestyle' (shopping) center with a movie theater. All in all, a real find.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerWisconsinWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Highly recommend. Comfy beds, quiet rooms. Fun location next to shopping and movie theater. I believe that breakfast is no longer free, but there is an option to purchase a full hot breakfast within the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank averagejane76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garden city
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We were lucky enough to get a King room that faced the river and the perks just kept coming. The view was beautiful and the fireplace was a great surprised. Additional touches were the big screen tv above the fireplace, the high ceilings and the roomy 2 person shower with double heads. I was at first disappointed in the rate we were paying but it became abundantly clear why we were paying more than us usual. We were getting a lot more than the usual. This would be a fantastic place for a romantic get away and not just because the room lends itself to romance. If you enjoy walking and hand holding there are plenty of shops and places to dine within walking distance. It's probably beautiful at Christmas time because we could see the lights going up the 2nd week of November. You could bundle up and set out on the balcony on the furniture and look out over the shops to the river. You could do that with complementary coffee and cookies in hand :0). Never stayed in a Hilton Garden Inn before so I'm not sure the $149.00 rate was fair but we felt we got our moneys worth. One additional comment..... If you do not GPS this address and have a navigator you will not find it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
727 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

The HGI Property is located right above the Old Mill Shopping district. A very beautiful and walkable area. The views of the nearby mountains are awesome. The accommodations are very clean. The front desk staff and the cleaning staff are great. The fitness center is very well appointed. The only downer was the breakfast meal staff, both hostesses, were not attentive nor were they very nice. I have never had this problem at any other HGI before. They wouldn't bring coffee, nor juice, and was told "Sit down and someone will take care of you." The same lady who said that, was the lady who eventually "helped" me.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YearoftheRabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bend hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bend
2.9 mi away
Tetherow Lodges
Tetherow Lodges
#3 of 44 in Bend
519 reviews
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Oxford Hotel
The Oxford Hotel
#2 of 44 in Bend
1,128 reviews
0.2 mi away
My Place Hotel - Bend, OR
1.3 mi away
Wall Street Suites
Wall Street Suites
#1 of 44 in Bend
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Bend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Bend

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Bend
Address: 425 SW Bluff Dr, Bend, OR 97702-1367 (Formerly Ameritel Inn Bend)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Bend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bend
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bend
#2 Family Hotel in Bend
#3 Green Hotel in Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Bend 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Garden Inn Bend is a business-friendly hotel located in Bend, close to Old Mill District, Les Schwab Amphitheater, and Deschutes Brewery. Free WiFi and parking. Nearby points of interest also include Tower Theater and Drake Park. Recreational amenities include an indoor pool, a spa tub, and a fitness facility. This 3-star property has a 24-hour business center and offers small meeting rooms. Complimentary wireless and wired high-speed Internet access is available in public areas. This Bend property has 191 square meters of event space consisting of conference/meeting rooms. Room service is available. The hotel offers a made-to-order breakfast. Guest parking is complimentary. Additional property amenities include ski storage, laundry facilities, and express check-out. 96 air-conditioned guestrooms at Hilton Garden Inn Bend feature complimentary weekday newspapers and windows that open. Accommodations offer city, river, or mountain views. Beds come with signature bedding. Accommodations include refrigerators and microwaves. Bathrooms feature shower/tub combinations and hair dryers. Wired high-speed and wireless Internet access is complimentary. In addition to desks, guestrooms offer free local calls (restrictions may apply). Televisions have premium cable channels. Rooms also include blackout drapes/curtains, electronic check-out, and irons/ironing boards. Guests may request hypo-allergenic bedding, extra towels/bedding, and wake-up calls. Housekeeping is available daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Bend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ameritel Inn Bend Hotel Bend
Ameritel Hotel Bend
Bend Ameritel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing