We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Bend
Ranked #7 of 44 Hotels in Bend
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Walla Walla, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
616 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed August 22, 2011

My friend and I had a great experience at Ameritel. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. The desk was always staffed so there was always someone to help. They also have a mini-store that is open 24 hours and you can purchase items to charge to your room.

There is a large indoor pool and hot tub that is open 24 hours. We thought the pool seemed a little too cold for a dip but we enjoyed the hot tub both nights. There are plenty of clean pool towels available in the pool area.

There is plenty of parking. We pretty much parked our car and didn’t move it until we left. We were able to walk to the Old Mill area easily from the hotel. Old Mill has shopping, restaurants and a movie theatre, plus recreation equipment available for renting. We also attended an event at the Les Schwab Amphitheatre which was just across the river from the Old Mill. You could probably even walk to downtown, but it’s also just a short drive.

This hotel also offers a full, hot breakfast with eggs, meat, waffles, as well as fruit, yogurt and cereals. Every night from 5-7 pm they have fresh, hot cookies. They also always have coffee/tea available.

Our room was large. It included a refrigerator , coffee pot and a microwave (which we didn’t use). Having an additional vanity outside the bathroom would be nice, but not necessary. We never had the room cleaned, so we did have to stop by the front desk to pick up a roll of toilet paper.

We didn’t have a “river view” room or a balcony, so our room was $10-20. cheaper. I think if I stayed here again I’d probably request a room on that side just to see how it is but we were hardly in the room enough to need the view.

The A/C in the room was great and necessary for a hot August weekend.

You could easily stay here for a weekend with your family and find plenty to do without ever having to start your car. And if you like to walk, bike or run, there are plenty of nearby trails. I’m sure I will be back here to stay.

Room Tip: Request a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plaidbagel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    209
    56
    22
    8
See reviews for
219
331
31
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jaffa, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Stayed here two nights on a family vacation. Location is great, hotel is clean, pool and fitness facilities are nice, and the breakfast is very good.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IDMudskipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We booked our room well in advance and we were glad we did. I think at this weekend the hotel was fully booked. Go for a riverside room, the view is fantastic. I have to say, it was a large two queen room, perhaps there was space for three queen beds.The bathroom was very clean and had a good shower. Breakfast was more than we expected, fresh fruits and fresh made eggs. A good choice of tea and breads. The breakfast area was exceptional clean and the staff did a really god job to remove plates and clean the tables. And no plastic!!! Even for coffe we could take china mugs.The Ameritel is a good choice.
A nice walkway goes down to the Old mill district with shops and restaurants. We also had a walk to the historic city center and there are many good restaurants. It was ca. twenty minutes to walk the direct way or one day we took the riverwalk this is a bit longer to walk but well worth. At the Old mill district is a tourist office and they have all kind of maps and recommendations for things to do.
Bend and the wonderful landscape in this part of Oregon was one of the most rememberable stops on our tour from San Francisco to Seattle. We loved every minute.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amsel4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Great experience from check in to check out. Mgr, Don, makes you feel like an honored guest. Big rooms--spotless, quiet, lovely furniture and linens. Great location--Wonderful breakfast. It was my first experience at Ameritel and will look for them in the future.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asfem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2011

The Ameritel is relatively new and has the usual middle class amenities, and all are well-cared for and up-to-date: nice (for a hotel) exercise room, nice pool and spa, much better than average hot breakfast, large suite rooms, welcoming staff, great cookies in the early evening, etc. But room/suite 217 had one window to the outside, and it overlooked an ugly roof and vents --- absolutely blocking any view at all of beautiful Bend, Oregon --- not even the parking lot was visible. So by all means stay at this hotel but check out the room first before you bring your bags in.

Room Tip: See the review above --- insist on a room with at least a reasonable view (the mts would be best).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Always_Rain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Can't say enough good things about this hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful, room was spacious, clean, well equipped, location excellent, wireless internet fast, bed and pillows comfy, public spaces were beautiful and comfortable. They do need to update the televisons and it would have been nice to have an outdoor area attached to the indoor pool for sunbathing. We had a river-view balcony and caught a concert at Les Schwab Ampitheater one night of our stay. When we'd had enough of the music we closed the door and the room was quiet. The breakfast was excellent, cookies in the evening not to be missed. I was able to utilize the guest laundry to get us through the rest of our vacation. This place offers excellent value and we'd go back and recommend it to all our friends.

Room Tip: uppper floor, river view balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanda38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, LA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

I almost don't feel the need to write a review of the Ameritel, since it seems to have received many many positive reviews on TripAdvisor. But I can assure you, all the accolades are well-deserved.

I recently travelled with my husband, our son, his wife and their two toddler twins. We were on a 9 day driving trip that included stops throughout much of Oregon and northern California. (I'll review the other 7 hotels later, but I'll write the best first!)

First of all, Bend is a beautiful town, and the location for the Ameritel, directly in front of the Mill District, is just gorgeous. We had travelled from the scorching and parched southern U.S., and the climate here in July was just wonderful. There were flowers everywhere, and the Deschutes River running past, filled with canoers, tubers & kayakers was so peaceful & beautiful.

I was in awe from the moment we stepped into the Ameritel lobby, with its huge stone fireplace, high ceilings, warm lighting and lovely but comfortable furniture. I was in awe again when we stepped into our suite and saw the size of the flatscreen TV! We had a suite that was just perfect for our needs. It had a living area with 2 sofas and a desk with chair. There was a very nice full kitchen. We had 2 bedrooms, each with a king-size bed that was very comfortable. One of the bedrooms included a sink with well-lit mirror. That bedroom had a door that opened into the toilet/ tub area of the full bath. The other half of the bathroom, where its sink and mirror were, was separated by a pocket door, and this area opened into the hall. So getting ready with that many people wasn't all that difficult. We were on the second floor and the views of the mountains (some still with snow in July!), the river and the mill district were just lovely!

For dinner, we walked to the mill district and ate at Greg's Grill, a beautiful restaurant with a menu that had lots of choices. The next morning, we ate the buffet breakfast at the Ameritel that was included. It had fluffy scrambled eggs, thick sliced bacon, hash browns, waffles, pastries, great coffee with flavored creamer choices. So we started off our day well-rested and VERY well-fed.

I made use of the office center, because we had not brought our laptop on the trip. Their computers were easy to use & the room itself nice and well-stocked with paper, pens, paper clips, tape. The office center was near the workout room and the pool area. Both looked beautiful, but I didn't have the time to enjoy either of them. Maybe next trip!

Is this the standard I'll compare all other hotels to, from now on? It just may be!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grandmartha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bend hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bend
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bend
0.9 mi away
The Oxford Hotel
The Oxford Hotel
#2 of 44 in Bend
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
My Place Hotel - Bend, OR
2.9 mi away
Tetherow Lodges
Tetherow Lodges
#4 of 44 in Bend
551 reviews
1.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn Bend
La Quinta Inn Bend
#15 of 44 in Bend
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Bend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Bend

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Bend
Address: 425 SW Bluff Dr, Bend, OR 97702-1367 (Formerly Ameritel Inn Bend)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Bend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bend
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bend
#2 Family Hotel in Bend
#3 Green Hotel in Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Bend 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Garden Inn Bend is a business-friendly hotel located in Bend, close to Old Mill District, Les Schwab Amphitheater, and Deschutes Brewery. Free WiFi and parking. Nearby points of interest also include Tower Theater and Drake Park. Recreational amenities include an indoor pool, a spa tub, and a fitness facility. This 3-star property has a 24-hour business center and offers small meeting rooms. Complimentary wireless and wired high-speed Internet access is available in public areas. This Bend property has 191 square meters of event space consisting of conference/meeting rooms. Room service is available. The hotel offers a made-to-order breakfast. Guest parking is complimentary. Additional property amenities include ski storage, laundry facilities, and express check-out. 96 air-conditioned guestrooms at Hilton Garden Inn Bend feature complimentary weekday newspapers and windows that open. Accommodations offer city, river, or mountain views. Beds come with signature bedding. Accommodations include refrigerators and microwaves. Bathrooms feature shower/tub combinations and hair dryers. Wired high-speed and wireless Internet access is complimentary. In addition to desks, guestrooms offer free local calls (restrictions may apply). Televisions have premium cable channels. Rooms also include blackout drapes/curtains, electronic check-out, and irons/ironing boards. Guests may request hypo-allergenic bedding, extra towels/bedding, and wake-up calls. Housekeeping is available daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Bend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ameritel Inn Bend Hotel Bend
Ameritel Hotel Bend
Bend Ameritel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing