We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Paella this side of Barcelona!”
Review of Barrio

Barrio
Ranked #19 of 456 Restaurants in Bend
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Latin, Mexican, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Wall Street
Description: Barrio is a Neighborhood Spanish Kitchen specializing in fast-casual lunch (fresh salads, homemade savory soups, tacos made-to-order including pork carnitas and fish varieties, and vegetarian/vegan/gluten-free friendly options. Dinner is comprised of shared plates from a variety of different tapas to choose from, to different types of paella (including a vegetarian option), and mouth-watering desserts, including housemade churros and chocolate to end the night. Barrio also offers a full bar including unique cocktails made from fresh ingredients, a modest spanish wine list and local brews.
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Best Paella this side of Barcelona!”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

What a fabulous find! This is a tiny place on a side street of downtown and it is a TASTY experience! The menu was intriguing, settled on plantain "sandwiches" for our appetizer and then the house special paella of chicken and chorizo for our main dish. We ordered two plates of the plantains for our party but should have gotten more. Never had anything like them and they were mouth watering good! But the paella was even better! The plate was good sized, spiced just right and bountiful with chicken and chorizo. We will be back again next time we are in Bend.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tjb5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    61
    23
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level 6 Contributor
293 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great food, delicious”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

The service was somewhat slow and the restaurant is not very big, but the food was fantastic and that is what matters. I would recommend this place.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Some of the best food we've had anywhere... The margarita is amazing... Get the paella”
Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

We stopped by here after walking by on a night stay in bend. We live in Austin tx, where we consider the food to be pretty awesome. We were more than satisfied with our food and drinks. The margarita is one of the best I've had anywhere... Even in Texas. My boyfriend and I shared he paella and he's been to Spain multiple times and said this paella was better than any he's had in Spain. I would not call this Mexican. I'd call it Latin inspired amazingness. The food was fresh, the service was friendly and we were happy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lnicole86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good food, limited menu”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

I went for lunch with a friend. The menu was pretty limited but I was surprised to see some interesting items like the Sonoran Hot Dog (if you've never had one, you have to try it!). I had the chicken mole torta and it was delicious. The prices are a little higher and the place is small, but it is downtown Bend so that's to be expected. It got a little less comfortable as it got more crowded because it's tough to not interfere with the line out the door while getting up and down. But still a good experience.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank srblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good and different food variety”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We wanted to try something different, this is really different. They have several type "tapas" a Spanish type food for sharing. My wife is Mexican so she had a dish that reminded her of her mom's cooking. It is a bit expensive but is very good.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank noslekkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barrio also viewed

Bend, Central Oregon
 
Bend, Central Oregon
Bend, Central Oregon
 
Bend, Central Oregon
 

Been to Barrio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing