We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Déjà vu” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Backporch Coffee Roasters

Backporch Coffee Roasters
Ranked #3 of 25 Coffee & Tea in Bend
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Déjà vu”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

I went to the Newport Ave location twice in one day and was pretty stunned when the barista said the same thing to me during both visits: "Sorry your drink took so long; I wasn't happy with the shots the first time."

?!

The rub is my coffee didn't necessarily taste incredible, or even above average. I've worked at coffee shops and get the theory behind timing shots but this fella might be taking it a bit far. I just get the impression that I'm not the only customer waiting while he pours twice (and wastes once) on his personal mission to get the perfect shot (that he will never taste himself). Just odd.

I do have to say that the staff was exceedingly friendly. Just exceedingly exceedingly slow. Both times I was in there was a perpetually long line at the counter.

Next time I'm in Bend I'll try their other location.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank charpackage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    15
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great iced tea and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

Outdoor seating, good tea selection. Nice place to do work on the Internet for a bit before going back outside.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pamelams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Skilled coffee people”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

So I've visited this place four times in the last month. They make very good lattes and even go for the "art" with the milk foam. It was good but I've had better. The Americano I had tasted odd like they either used the incorrect bean OR the 28 sec shot time is too much. It just tasted different. I feel it was a "fruity" bean that caused the odd flavor.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Legate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What have I been drinking until now?!?!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

Wow, had a wonderful cappuccino at Backporch today. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LCD2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bend
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Geat coffee, bakery treats, friendly staff, local gathering spot, WiFi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

Just moved to the North side of Newport Ave across from from the Newport Market is the Back Porch Roasters. A local favorite with great coffee, bakery items from the fantastic Sparrow Bakery and a friendly relaxes place to meet others or practice your laptop skills alone. The staff is wonderful.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rickwinsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Backporch Coffee Roasters also viewed

 
Bend, Central Oregon
Bend, Central Oregon
 
Bend, Central Oregon
Bend, Central Oregon
 

Been to Backporch Coffee Roasters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing