We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Valentine Dinner”

McMenamins Old St. Francis School
Ranked #21 of 446 Restaurants in Bend
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
150 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Quiet Valentine Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

We had a very pleasant evening on Valentine's Day. It was great having the regular menu to choose from not a special menu. The server was a delight - so friendly. The food was very good. I had salmon cakes and polenta with wild mushroom which was excellent. My husband had bean soup and a steak which was great. The bread was homemade and wonderful. The berry dessert was awesome. McMenamin Old St Francis school is such an interesting place to visit. We enjoyed walking around and looking at the many pictures of the students and activities in years past. It might be fun to stay in one of the classrooms in the future.

Helpful?
Thank NanEdKirkland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    110
    46
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great dinner and movie”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

My wife and I are new to Bend and decided to give Bend's McMenamins dinner and movie option a try since we have tried other McMenamins similar options. We liked the theater about as much as their Edgefield one and much more than their Olympic Club location. The ordering process was ok but slow. We were warned that if we didn't get their at least 30 minutes early we would be too late and they were right. My wife had the hummus plate and I had the veggie burger. Both were very good and reasonably priced. The total for the movie and food was about what a regular movie for two would cost so it was a great value. Nice downtown location and we will be back for some outdoor dining.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bemidji, Minnesota
Level Contributor
96 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“One of the best McMenamins locations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

We love coming to this location. The food is always very tasty, and the menu is actually quite unique. The beers are really nice too, the Ruby has an interesting after taste. Our waiter this time around was being shadowed, so he was still new at the job, which was fine, but then in the middle of our meal he and the waitress who shadowed him; take their lunch break, like three tables from us. This was slightly bizarre and we were not overly impressed. More so, we were less impressed that that was it... he (they) never came back... AT ALL, in fact when I looked again, they left for the day without a word.
What made things ok was the host who took over from them. The guy entertained our baby daughter and was really family friendly for a place that could be seen as less than.
We were happy to find consistent quality, however, and will be going back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank molopomaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great place to eat and just enjoy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

We have tried every room now as well as the theater. The food is universally excellent, great service and everyone is very pleasant and professional. The smoking bar is fun and reminds you of a great little Irish pub and I don't even smoke. Great background music. We go back often.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
92 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good for family not very good food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Bring your family to watch movies and have a snack or beer. Not an ideal restaurant for decent food.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Henry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McMenamins Old St. Francis School also viewed

 
Bend, Central Oregon
 
Bend, Central Oregon
 

Been to McMenamins Old St. Francis School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing