We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury camping”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bend-Sunriver RV Campground
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Bend
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Luxury camping”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

After the birth of our third child, campsites without real bathroms became unthinkable. Hot runing water, nonscary showers, and walking distance entertainment make vacations so much less traumatic that we purchased a membership in these campsites. Now we have the added bonus of easily reservable dates.

Though the kids pool is *freezing*, it was still a hit with the kids when the outdoor temperature was warm enough that i would let them in. But when it really was too cold, the free minigolf with as many trys as you like was a hit with all the kids. Biking through the sites to the playgrounds, picking up produce at the weekend farmers market (it is wonderful quality!) and the proximity to great daytrips makes this a location we plan on returning to each year. The older staff members (like ken) are particularily kind. We look forward to returning!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rubiskies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    88
    43
    16
    15
See reviews for
139
81
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redding, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

If you like being close to strangers when you tent camp (and you aren't a member of TT) this is your place. I reserved a tent camping site and thought I'd be camping in semi-private forested site, like most of the rest of these sites at TT near Bend. Instead, after waiting for 30 minutes to check in (we had reserved online, so I'm not sure what the hold up was) we found our site in "group camp site". There were about 16 tent sites in a dirty field. The other camp sites had nice gravel/cinder without the dirt, but this site was filthy. Good thing the showers were close and hot because we needed them to clean off all the dirt. Our neighbors didn't reserve quiet hours, and they weren't enforced. We also got the benefit of their cigarette smoke drifting across the field. The amenities of this place were nice (pool, etc) but children could only swim from 12-2 this weekend because they closed the children's pool and everyone had to swim in the "adult pool." I would not stay here. In fact, as we were checking in, a tenter was standing in line for a refund because he wasn't happy with being stuck in the group camp site.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sunny12362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We went here for two nights last weekend, with the intent of doing the tent camping. With all of the positive press about this place, I assumed that the tent camping would be nice, but I assumed wrong! The tent sites were all in one boring, open grass field, with no separation or privacy for each site at all.

We ended up paying a fair amount more for an RV spot that at least had some trees surrounding it and a little privacy. If you have an RV, a family, and will use all of the amenities, than this might be a great place for you! But if you like a little more privacy and natural setting, this is not the place. A little overpriced too I thought... and a drive from Bend...

Upside: nice activities, events, and bathrooms with showers and flushing toilets.

Room Tip: Do not camp in the tent sites... they are very open, not private, and not attractive. The RV sites a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sone-a-rone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

We are a family of 3, mom, dad & 20month old daughter. This place is very large & beautiful with alot of activities to do & 3 pools!!!! Adult only, all ages & little kids pool. Frisbee golf, put put, horseshoes, tennis, I mean the list goes on & on! Everything needed is here! General store, espresso stand, rustic boardwalk & more. We LOVED it & will be back soon!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Meems1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

This Park is NO WHERE NEAR Bend, Oregon. Calling it Bend-Sunriver is false advertising. It is not in Bend, as Bend is 30 minutes north! It is not in Sunriver either! It is a nice location though.

They want to draw you to them, under false pretense. Shame on you Thousand Trails!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Location
Helpful?
4 Thank c m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

Travelled late July with young children hauling a travel trailer. We booked this facility as non-members through RV-on-the-Go – a great way of trying out the member-style RV park concept.

The facility has a lot of sites with several amenities for the whole family. With both an adult pool and a family pool, each can enjoy the water uniquely. They have many tennis courts, and pickle-ball courts. You can sign out bikes, quad peddle bikes, canoes and other summer games. Wi-Fi was a available only at the pool area.

There are no sites with sewer (they have two dump stations). Throughout the park, they have 5 washroom/shower facilities.

We did find the sites remote and heavily wooded. You are not assigned a site on reservation, but simply select any one that is unoccupied. As a non-member though, we were restricted to choosing a site in the loop furthest (a solid 5-10 minute walk) to the pool and other amenities. Not terribly convenient, nor sensible (if one is trying to market membership) given there were many unoccupied sites within closer loops.

Location was very close to the SunRiver Resort with a few dining options, but 24 kms (15 miles) South of Bend in case you wanted to take in a broader range of restaurants/shopping. We did get a bit of old Downtown Bend and really enjoyed it – their revitalization of the area is great. As far as the RV park; we enjoy a little more of the ‘open’ park layout and would explore other options next time we're in the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Team_Cisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bend
14.6 mi away
Tetherow Lodges
Tetherow Lodges
#3 of 44 in Bend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
16.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bend
18.1 mi away
Wall Street Suites
Wall Street Suites
#1 of 44 in Bend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
WorldMark Bend - Seventh Mountain Resort
18.2 mi away
Bend Riverside Inn & Suites
10.7 mi away
Best Western Newberry Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bend-Sunriver RV Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bend-Sunriver RV Campground

Property: Bend-Sunriver RV Campground
Address: 17480 S Century Dr, Bend, OR 97707-2534 (Formerly Thousand Trails - Bend-Sunriver)
Location: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Bend
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Bend-Sunriver RV Campground 1.5*
Number of rooms: 351
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Bend-Sunriver RV Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing