We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fun cold hike”

Pilot Butte State Scenic Viewpoint
Willows, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A fun cold hike”
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

I hike this butte on a 26º day in january.. it was cold but well worth the hike.. the fog started rolling in as I got to the top but it was still nice.. took me about 20 mins to get up to the top

Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    356
    159
    28
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“fun climb”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

What better way to join the brilliant Jan sunshine than a late afternoon climb to the top! Lotsa places to sit and enjoy the view of most of the Central Cascade's peaks!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bobvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Good Hill Climb in the Middle of Town”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

A workout favorite of locals. The butte looks like an anthill any of our many sunny days here. Tons of people are seen climbing this hill daily. I rode my bike down it a few times. Coast at 50 MPH. If its July, hang out and watch the fire department catch it on fire with fireworks, then put it out. Great view of Bend from the top. Watch for cougars. They have frequented the area in the past. The kitty type. Oh wait, watch for the human type, too.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank codyayrton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
420 reviews
268 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 791 helpful votes
“Sunset over the Cascades”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Pilot Butte is an extinct cinder cone volcano located within the city of limits of Bend, making it one of only four cities in the United States with a volcano within it's boundaries. Most of Pilot Butte is protected as part of Pilot Butte State Scenic Viewpoint. There are two ways to access the summit - hiking or driving. The hiking trail is short, but steep. For those not wanting the challenge of hiking up the volcano, there is also a road to the top. Normally, I would always prefer to hike up a mountain, but we were running short on time when we visited and had a little trouble finding the parking for hiking. Not wanting to miss the sunset, we drove to the top instead. The views from the top are absolutely beautiful. Pilot Butte is the highest point for miles around so great views of the high desert in all directions. As the sun was going down, looking east we could see the immense shadow of the butte. To the west, we could see the sun setting over the Cascade Mountains, including the Three Sisters, Mount Bachelor, Mount Jefferson, and even Mount Hood in the distance. It would be hard to beat this spot for watching the sunset, so if you're visiting Bend, don't miss out on Pilot Butte.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank jmpncsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great little daily hike...”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We visit often in Bend and this is a favorite place to hike...shhort and sweet and to the point in under an hour and the view is panoramic.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DianaE34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pilot Butte State Scenic Viewpoint also viewed

 
Bend, Central Oregon
 

Been to Pilot Butte State Scenic Viewpoint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing