We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Learned So Much!”

Pilot Butte State Scenic Viewpoint
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Learned So Much!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Friends that now live in Bend took us to Pilot Butte. I was just amazed! Had no clue how the land was formed and there are wonderful plagues showing you the different mountain ranges and describing the volcanic fields. Absolutely worth your time. Next time we want to walk instead of driving to the top.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Colleen5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    324
    148
    27
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The little mountain with a great view of Bend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

This is a fun drive or hike up to the top of Pilot Butte. Once on top you get a great view of all of Bend and the surrounding area. Great photo ops can be found here.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fly-Harley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manzanita, OR
Level Contributor
107 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Sunset from Pilot butte is wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We drove up here on a lovely summer night and was wowed by the spectacular view right there in the middle of Bend. Our sister-in-law guided us up there or we would of never known. Planned to go there at sunset for the best views. Remember to drive slow, small almost one lane road with lots of walkers and bikers. Enjoy!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ziabaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“amazing view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Well worth the little drive up. It is breathtaking. Fun to see where you have been. Parking is great easy access.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Diana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
822 reviews
327 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
“Well worth it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Whether you choose to walk up (either taking the road or the fabulous dirt path), it's well worth the short trip up to Pilot Butte. Local or visitor, the views are never disappointing. I love the dirt path and find that to be a very satisfying short hike. It takes me about 18 minutes - the start is quite steep for about 5-6 minutes, but then actually levels out for a bit and then has another short steep incline to the top. Walking the road can be ok especially if not wanting to get dusty but there are car to contend with. It's about a 2-3 minute drive up. Once at the top, the 360 degree views of all the areas mountain ranges will take your breath away. Anytime of day is wonderful and it's particularly spectacular at sunset.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pilot Butte State Scenic Viewpoint also viewed

 
Bend, Central Oregon
 

Been to Pilot Butte State Scenic Viewpoint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing