We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quick stop that's worth the view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pilot Butte State Scenic Viewpoint

Pilot Butte State Scenic Viewpoint
St. Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Quick stop that's worth the view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Worth the quick drive if you are in Bend. We spent maybe 20 minutes taking in the views and checking out which landmarks were what. It's free.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank lini04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    144
    26
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level Contributor
187 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Closed over July 4th”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

The other reviews describe the butte pretty well. Just be aware the butte is closed to the public from July 3rd - July 5th. Fireworks are shot off from here on July 4th so I figure the authorities must be keeping it safe by keeping the public away for the set up, display, and clean up.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
247 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Fantastic view and sunset”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

I stumbled upon this after dinner while searching for a gas station. It is a windy 2-way road to the top. Along the way there were many joggers and walkers (but you can drive to the top). The view is 360 amazing. Once at the top there is a further elevated (5 or 6 steps) with signage to explain what each mountain. At sunset the view was fantastic. There is a bathroom, but i dont know the condition. If i lived in Bend i would go here all the time for the view.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Angeles, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good walk to a GREAT view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

I had some time to myself and decided to walk up Pilot Butte for the experience and fun of it. I wasn't disappointed! After a good workout on the climb, the view at the top was amazing! Miles of different mountain ranges are viewed in all directions as is the city of Bend below. Quite a sight!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Cool viewpoint”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

You can walk or drive to the top. There is neat stonework and information stations at the top. It has a great view of Three Sisters and other mountains. Good, short picture stop.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pilot Butte State Scenic Viewpoint also viewed

 
Bend, Central Oregon
 

Been to Pilot Butte State Scenic Viewpoint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing