We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Stop out of the fray.”
Review of Pho Viet & Cafe

Pho Viet & Cafe
Ranked #44 of 458 Restaurants in Bend
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Restaurant details
Fiumicello - Santa Venere, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Comfortable Stop out of the fray.”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I like Pho Viet on Third Street in Bend OR. The staff is friendly, humorous, and kind. The place is cozy with no pretensions. The food is good, not great, reliable and just what I want some evenings in the cold snowy winter. I like the tofu dishes, both times we have ordered crispy fried tofu or the wok stir fried lemon grass tofu, superb!! The pad thai is adequate and comes with crispy fresh mung bean sprouts and chopped peanuts. The tofu is served with fresh carrots and broccoli steamed perfectly and jasmine rice. Tea is offered.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sben325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    40
    11
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Really Good Food”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This was our first time trying Vietnamese food in Bend and we were delighted with the results. The pho is excellent, I would suggest the beef stew if you like spicy and well blended soups, the perfect thing on a cold day. The service was excellent and the staff seemed genuinely glad that you were there and were eager to share about the food when asked. Very reasonable prices round out a nice dining experience. Lots of other items on the menu that I can't wait to try the next time I'm back in Bend. Recommend.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blacklab1601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
413 reviews
258 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
“Right on!”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Pho Viet is one of the few Vietnamese Restaurants in Oregon east of the Cascades but it would be rated as excellent in any big city. If you don't know Pho, this is excellent place to learn. The beef broth has outstanding flavor and you get to select which cuts of meat go into your bowl along with a truck-load of perfectly cooked noodles. You get to add basil leaves, bean sprouts, and jalapenos at your discretion.

I prefer the house special pho which can contain some more authentic, that is more exotic, choices of meat. Also the Vietnamese beef stew has a great lemon grass flavor. The wonton-shrimp soup is a good choice if you are not interested in beef flavor. My friends tell me that the pad thai is also very authentic

The sandwiches are an outstanding value. A generous serving of meat and fresh vegetables on house made french bread. Remember that Vietnamese food is influenced by both the Chinese and French: you get both in these sandwiches.

I find the owner to be gracious and helpful. if you tell me the food is good, he usually responds with a hearty "right on!". You would wish every restaurant was this good and well run. Located on Business Hwy 97 near the center of town.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DoctorM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best Spring (salad) rolls”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

I love the spring (aka salad) rolls here. They serve them with awesome peanut sauce. The Pho is very good too and they have large portions. You will probably have enough to take home. Not the best location if you're looking for ambiance, but if you want good food this is the place to go.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aimeeclimbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“I can't stop thinking about the "beef stew" Pho bowl !”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Don't let the appearance of this little hole-in-the wall cafe deter you from one of the best bowls you'll ever experience! We'd heard raves about this place, so tried it on our last visit to Bend over Thanksgiving holiday. The rich, fragrant oxtail stock with hints of star anise and cardamom must also have crack in it, because we just had to return a few days later for a repeat order of the "Beef Stew" bowl, which contained large chunks of crisp-roasted carrot, fried potato and tender beef over noodles. Another menu item of delicate chicken stock with seafood dumplings was delicious as well, and each order came with generous sprigs of thai basil, fresh bean sprouts and jalapeno slices. The perfect comfort food for winter.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LorraineMontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pho Viet & Cafe also viewed

 
Bend, Central Oregon
 

Been to Pho Viet & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing