We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Middle Eastern flavors”
Review of Joolz

Joolz
Ranked #16 of 453 Restaurants in Bend
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Lebanese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Middle Eastern flavors”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Having lived in the Middle East, my husband and I are always on the lookout for good Middle Eastern food. We tried Joolz in Bend recently, and while we liked what we ordered, we would not give the menu rave reviews.

The decor of the restaurant is very effective, and the dining room was comfortable. We had reservations on a week night in late October and were glad we did, as the place appeared to be full.

One of my must-haves in this cuisine is Baba Ganoush, and Joolz makes an excellent one, smoky and garlicky, although the appetizer portion is on the small size. I'm also a Felafel lover, and Joolz makes the best I have had in the Northwest. They are moist and flavorful, and don't crumble into bits like many other restaurants' attempts. My husband is the lamb lover, and he liked his Lamb Kabob all right, but he wasn't blown away.

Our only real disappointment is that we felt the entree menu was rather limited. There are a number of American choices (burgers, for instance), although one of our dining companions was grateful for this choice. All in all, the quality of the food at Joolz is excellent. The meze option may be a good idea for a larger group, but too expensive for a party of four, particularly when one in the group is "not very adventurous" when it comes to eating out.

The bottom line: we liked Joolz enough that, if we are craving Middle Eastern for dinner in Bend, we would probably eat here again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeschutesSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    66
    9
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warden, Washington
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Waiting for the Queen of Hearts!!!!!!”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

If you are traveling to Bend, Oregon do not miss Happy Hour at Joolz! Sitting at the bar and chatting with Ramsey while nibbling on cauliflower and sipping a PBR is a great way to spend an evening. I have never eaten at a place where I can honestly say everything I have had there is good, until now! Great food, great stories, great atmosphere! We have lived in Bend and tried most of the eateries in town, fancy to casual, and Joolz is at the top of our list! Ramsey and crew go to great lengths to make the “experience” at Joolz one to come back for. The first attraction we think about when friends come to town isn’t Mt. Bachelor, its Joolz.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank QueenofHearts_PBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Noot to be missed”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

A jem in Bend. I was not sure what to expect, but was very impressed with the depth of flavour in their menu items and the variety. The portions are a reasonable size and gives you the opportunity to try various treasures on the menu. Our service was outstanding, very helpful and I am pleased that we listened to the servers reccomendations. The prices are quite reasonable.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wonderer55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, WA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A delightful experience”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We ordered from the happy hour menu and enjoyed great food loaded with fun and rich flavors, excellent drinks and very good service. Perfect weather and dining outside was a plus. Joolz will become a regular stop on our frequent trips to Bend.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A good choice”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Visited with friends who are regulars and they didn't lie...it's a great place. Loved the smoky baba ganoush! Just calling it an appetizer did not do it justice. Our dinners were good, but that was the star of the show for me. Cocktail menu strayed from the ordinary which was a pleasant surprise. Though Americanized enough to glorify their Elk on the menu, it was exotic enough to trigger memories of the mideast if you've ever traveled there. A pleasant dining experience overall, made that much better by our server who knew the importance of a smile along with the good service. She was a delight. When I return to Bend, this is on my list of places to visit.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NinSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joolz also viewed

Bend, Central Oregon
 
Bend, Central Oregon
Bend, Central Oregon
 

Been to Joolz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing