We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior Italian Experience”

Johnny Carino's Italian Grill
Ranked #90 of 458 Restaurants in Bend
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Gearhart, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Superior Italian Experience”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

This place was a surprise. I expected upon arrival to get a Olive Garden-like experience. While the atmosphere was relaxed and friendly like OG, the food, service, value, portions, bar and overall experience was way beyond that of a moderately priced italian restaurant.

Great job at every aspect of this great restaurant.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TimRegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    37
    12
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Italian in Bend”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Service was great. Food was great. We ordered drinks, appetizer, salad, entree and dessert. All was great. The entree's had a great bold flavor. My Bellini was huge and delicious. This was out third time there and it is great every time. Will definitely go back.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AKBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“quiet and good”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

My best friend and I stopped for dinner after a class and had a great meal. We ate in the bar, however there were children in there. I don't understand that.

I had their soup and salad. EXCELLENT. They offer to bring you refills, but honestly, one serving of each was more than I should eat! Their bread is served warm in a small loaf you need to break apart. They serve olive oil with toasted garlic with their bread. I felt the bread and olive oil offering was below average. Not fond of either; however the soup made up for it. It was delicious.

I noticed they do take-out which would be convenient, too. Yes, we will go back again.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sued1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lunch a good deal”
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Their Caesar salad is superb, and it is served on well chilled plates which enhances it. Paninis are big enough to share.

Helpful?
Thank Foodie2718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
427 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“For Italian -- try this one”
Reviewed December 29, 2011

This place was here before Olive Garden and we like it better! Many interesting dishes at nice prices.

Helpful?
1 Thank CyndeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnny Carino's Italian Grill also viewed

Bend, Central Oregon
 
Bend, Central Oregon
 
Bend, Central Oregon
 

Been to Johnny Carino's Italian Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing