We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great day for a family!”
Review of Sun Country Tours

Sun Country Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Home of the Big Eddy Thriller since 1978! Sun Country Tours provides part-day and all-day whitewater rafting trips on three of Oregon's beautiful rivers including the Deschutes, McKenzie and North Umpqua. The Big Eddy Thriller, their most popular and convenient trip, is just minutes away from their Bend Headquarters and easily fits into a morning or afternoon. Sun Country Tours offers convenient pickups in Bend, Sunriver, Redmond, and Sisters. All whitewater adventures include expert guiding, transportation, state-of-the-art equipment and child pricing, and all trips are appropriate for kids ages 6 and older. Professional quality digital photos capture all the color and excitement of your rafting adventure for you to share with friends. Sun Country Tours also offers River Float Tube Rentals and Stand Up Paddle Boarding from its location in Riverbend Park in Bend's Old Mill District.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We took the MacKenzie magic tour with my mother and aunt (in their 60s), my husband and myself (mid-thirties) and my sister (20s), and had an incredible time. I'm guessing it's one of the most tame of the rafting experiences Sun Country offers, but WOW. You won't find a more beautiful way to spend the day. Everyone from reservations, to questions ahead of time, checkin, our driver/photographer, and our guide was so friendly and helpful. All were knowledgeable about the area and happy to share lots of fun details. We have especially wonderful things to say about our guide, Max. He couldn't have been nicer, or more helpful. Our driver, Jay also stopped on the way home to let us see Sahalie Falls, which was great. We are already looking forward to coming back to Sunriver/Bend in a few years and will ABSOLUTELY be taking at least one trip with Sun Country Tours when we do.

Thank Shelley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle B, Manager at Sun Country Tours, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Hi Shelley, we are so glad you enjoyed our McKenzie Magic whitewater rafting trip. It's incredible scenery, isn't it? Thank you so much for taking the time to write a detailed review, and we will pass along your kudos to our incredible team of people who made your experience great!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (365)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

279 - 283 of 365 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013

I am an oldie and went on the Big Eddy (was looking for a fat guy the whole time!) rafting adventure and was absolutely sure I would be the only person to drown but no one did although there were some who jumped off the raft after the rapids :-)! This was the most fun I have had in years and with a highly competent and personable guide, Ross, who instilled confidence in those of us who needed all the help we could get, the whole event was a hoot! I cannot wait to do it again and thought the whole process went like clockwork!

Thank Passportalwaysready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle B, Manager at Sun Country Tours, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Hi Passportalwaysready (great user name by the way!), we're so glad you enjoyed your Big Eddy Thriller whitewater rafting adventure! Thank you so much for posting a review, and we hope to see you again next season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Attending a wedding, e stayed in Sunriver, Oregon for a long weekend. We decided on a whitewater raft trip. An easy walk from our condo to the Sunriver location, we were then bussed to the Bend location to pickup more folks. Our driver, Coach, pointed out highpoints along the way. Enjoyed the Deschutes raft trip with Christa as our guide. She was very knowledgable and fun, explaining what we would experience and how we were to paddle. When we were in the calm water she gave us opportunities to play around. You will definitely get wet and have a fun time on this trip.

1  Thank arrowhead5m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle B, Manager at Sun Country Tours, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Hi arrowhead5m, thank you for including a whitewater rafting adventure with us during your visit to Sunriver. We will pass along your positive comments to our team of people who made your trip a great experience! We hope to see you again next season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We rented tubes for a river float in Bend and every single point of contact with one of the kids working for this company was HORRIBLE. They were RUDE, lazy, refused to answer questions, and had the gall to ask for a tip in the end. If you like being treated like crap, then this is for you. If not, find another company.

1  Thank HeidiHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle B, Manager at Sun Country Tours, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Hi Heidi, we are dismayed that you had a negative experience at our river tube rental operation, and will definitely address your concerns with our park employees. We have a reputation for excellent customer service, and serve thousands of guests each summer at that location, and are disappointed on the rare occasion when we do not deliver exceptional service. We hope you will give us another chance to create a positive experience for you and your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Although we all felt it could have been longer, that was our fault for booking such a short one. The actual trip was about 1 1/2 h and it was awesome the whole way. Our guide Jeff was excellent with both the adults and the kids. Our youngest was 7 and we looked a little shocked after the biggest rapid and it could have lead to tears but he handles it really well and got the boy to smile instead. By the end of the trip, he said it was the funnest thing he had ever done and wanted to do another trip! It was very exciting and Jeff kept it fun all the way. I would definitely use them again for a longer trip in the future.

Thank Lauren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle B, Manager at Sun Country Tours, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Hi Lauren, thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We're so glad you enjoyed the Big Eddy Thriller, and as you mentioned, it's a great way to "test the waters" with your child before committing to a longer whitewater adventure. Hope to see you again next year for one of our longer trips!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sun Country Tours also viewed

 

Been to Sun Country Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing