We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sun Country Tours

Sun Country Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sun Country Tours has been operating on the beautiful rivers of Oregon since 1978. We specialize in super fun whitewater trips, including our most convenient trip, the Big Eddy Thriller, which easily fits into a morning or afternoon so you can explore other fun things to do in Central Oregon, like the world-famous Bend Ale Trail. We also offer Standup Paddle Boarding lessons, rentals and tours, as well as river tube rentals so you can "Float the River" like a local.Sun Country Tours offers four family-friendly whitewater adventures on three rivers, including the Deschutes, McKenzie and North Umpqua rivers. We offer convenient pickups in Bend, Sunriver, Redmond and Sisters, and our trips include all transportation to and from the river, all equipment, and of course, expert guiding. All whitewater rafting trips are appropriate for kids 6 and older.
Lake Arrowhead, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Attending a wedding, e stayed in Sunriver, Oregon for a long weekend. We decided on a whitewater raft trip. An easy walk from our condo to the Sunriver location, we were then bussed to the Bend location to pickup more folks. Our driver, Coach, pointed out highpoints along the way. Enjoyed the Deschutes raft trip with Christa as our guide. She was very knowledgable and fun, explaining what we would experience and how we were to paddle. When we were in the calm water she gave us opportunities to play around. You will definitely get wet and have a fun time on this trip.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank arrowhead5m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle B, Manager at Sun Country Tours, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Hi arrowhead5m, thank you for including a whitewater rafting adventure with us during your visit to Sunriver. We will pass along your positive comments to our team of people who made your trip a great experience! We hope to see you again next season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    38
    12
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“RUDE employeees”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We rented tubes for a river float in Bend and every single point of contact with one of the kids working for this company was HORRIBLE. They were RUDE, lazy, refused to answer questions, and had the gall to ask for a tip in the end. If you like being treated like crap, then this is for you. If not, find another company.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HeidiHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle B, Manager at Sun Country Tours, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Hi Heidi, we are dismayed that you had a negative experience at our river tube rental operation, and will definitely address your concerns with our park employees. We have a reputation for excellent customer service, and serve thousands of guests each summer at that location, and are disappointed on the rare occasion when we do not deliver exceptional service. We hope you will give us another chance to create a positive experience for you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
Level Contributor
319 reviews
134 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“short but sweet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Although we all felt it could have been longer, that was our fault for booking such a short one. The actual trip was about 1 1/2 h and it was awesome the whole way. Our guide Jeff was excellent with both the adults and the kids. Our youngest was 7 and we looked a little shocked after the biggest rapid and it could have lead to tears but he handles it really well and got the boy to smile instead. By the end of the trip, he said it was the funnest thing he had ever done and wanted to do another trip! It was very exciting and Jeff kept it fun all the way. I would definitely use them again for a longer trip in the future.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lauren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle B, Manager at Sun Country Tours, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Hi Lauren, thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We're so glad you enjoyed the Big Eddy Thriller, and as you mentioned, it's a great way to "test the waters" with your child before committing to a longer whitewater adventure. Hope to see you again next year for one of our longer trips!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Ojos, New Mexico
1 review
“North Umpqua”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

This was the third rafting trip we've taken with Sun River. The trips are fine. The photo service is sorry. The first trip we took was from Sun River, and we were able to stop by Sun Country's office there and pick up the photo CD. The next two trips (last year and this year) were from Bend, and the person behind the counter when we checked in told us the photo CD would be mailed within 48 hours. Last year, that didn't happen. I called a week or so later and finally got the CD. This year, I've emailed and called about the photo CD for the trip we took on July 17, and we still haven't received the CD.
We can argue about whether the photo price ($44) is a rip-off, but just to blow off the obligation to mail the CD is akin to theft. This was the last trip I'll book with Sun Country.

Mary Vermillion

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle B, Manager at Sun Country Tours, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Hi Mary, thank you for rafting with us, and taking the time to share your experience. We are glad you enjoyed our North Umpqua rafting trip, however, we are sorry you were dissatisfied with your photo package.

We looked into your photo order and found that it was initially delayed because your guide's name was missing from your order form. (We track which raft our guests are on by who their guide was.) Once you supplied the guide's name, we were able to process your order, and mailed out a photo CD to you on 7.19.13 (two days after your trip), and also emailed you the photo package that same day.

Upon seeing your complaint today, our photo processor has created another CD for you which was put in the mail today. May we verify that PO Box 23 is correct? Please feel free to call us at 541.382.6277 or email us at adventures@suncountrytours.com to verify.

We process thousands of photo packages and have a great track record; we hope you enjoy the photos of your trip, and that your trip down the Umpqua River is one your whole family will remember.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Family fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We had five boys and two adults, what a blast! Very safety concious but ready to give us a good ride, river guide. Will do it again next year!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank torip429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle B, Manager at Sun Country Tours, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Hi torip429, we're so glad your group had a great trip with us, and we look forward to seeing you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sun Country Tours also viewed

 
Bend, Central Oregon
Bend, Central Oregon
 

Been to Sun Country Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing