We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stand Up Paddleboarding Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sun Country Tours

Sun Country Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sun Country Tours has been operating on the beautiful rivers of Oregon since 1978. We specialize in super fun whitewater trips, including our most convenient trip, the Big Eddy Thriller, which easily fits into a morning or afternoon so you can explore other fun things to do in Central Oregon, like the world-famous Bend Ale Trail. We also offer Standup Paddle Boarding lessons, rentals and tours, as well as river tube rentals so you can "Float the River" like a local.Sun Country Tours offers four family-friendly whitewater adventures on three rivers, including the Deschutes, McKenzie and North Umpqua rivers. We offer convenient pickups in Bend, Sunriver, Redmond and Sisters, and our trips include all transportation to and from the river, all equipment, and of course, expert guiding. All whitewater rafting trips are appropriate for kids 6 and older.
Portland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Stand Up Paddleboarding Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Had the chance to go on the first new Paddleboarding Tour. Glen, our great guide and Bruce our driver both made the trip great fun, it was really great learning that I can stand up on a board. Sun Country Tours has always had on of the best rafting
Companies in Bend, now they have lots more adventure for the whole family. Thanks Dennis & Michelle for arranging everything.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tmoneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle B, Manager at Sun Country Tours, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Hi Tmoneil, thank you for trying our new SUP Tour this summer, and for telling others about your experience! We hope to see you again next season for another river adventure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    38
    12
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
398 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Fun and wild!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

When my 70 something Aunt and Uncle came to visit Bend for the first time, my husband and Uncle wanted to raft. I learned that Sun Country Tours had one of the best rafting trips in Bend so we took the 1.25 hr Big Eddy Thriller. It was a blast! All of the staff were extremely welcoming, helpful and super-friendly. Scheduling the tour and learning about the various options was very easy.

First: be sure to know that you will get completely wet, so dress appropriately. To get to the water you take a short bus ride and you can bring a towel and warmer clothes to leave in the bus for after. The bus driver was wonderful. The guides are all very knowledgeable and professional, and while the ride is certainly not tame, we felt like we were in very capable hands. We each had fun, got to see the river's power, learned some things about the area and enjoyed our time. If you want a rafting adventure.....here it is!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank BlueEyeTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle B, Manager at Sun Country Tours, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Hi Wendy, we're so glad you and your family had a fun Big Eddy Thriller whitewater rafting trip, and appreciate you taking the time to share your good experience. Hope to see you again next season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friday Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great river and guides with crew with personality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Just drying our shoes from the Big Eddy trip, and we're still talking about it!

My wife and I have done rafting a couple times in our lives, so we're no pros on the rapids.

Great service from the first phone, with quick answers and good suggestions for what we wanted to do.

Showed up to the Sunriver office and Laura was a big help. Smiley, knowledgeable and quick to offer suggestions on what to bring for clothing on the 60 degree and overcast day.

Scott was our driver, and made the 20 minute trip to the Bend office a treat. Usually I dread the small talk in the car, but Scott had great stories and personality, and offered some great suggestions on activities for the rest of our stay. He was just as good going back.

The team on the excursion was superb. Iain was our guide, and was a dream to have on the trip. Excellent conversation, genuinely funny jokes, took safety seriously, and guided us down the rapids with a deft touch.

Tips: Sit in the front for an immersive (and wet) experience. And "ride the bull" at the end. If you've got more time, do the longer trips, because the Big Eddy leaves you wanting more.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheZJs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle B, Manager at Sun Country Tours, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Hi TheZJs, we are so happy you had a great Big Eddy Thriller! We pride ourselves on the quality of our team, and feel fortunate to have so many of our people return year after year to provide awesome experiences and excellent service to our guests. We love what we do and it shows! We hope we'll see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
95 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Really fun and memorable rafting for the whole family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

Really fun, worthwhile. Second time doing Big Eddy trip. It's close enough to Bend to just devote half a day to the whole experience. Great guides, wildlife. The Big Eddy rapids are fun - you WILL get wet! -- but totally safe and fun for kids. Experienced fairly significant issues getting the photos we ordered from the trip -- they really pushed the "email" version of the photos but they were not downloadable and it took 4 disks, and back and forth on the phone many times, emails also, to finally get a disk that worked WITH the photos (of my own family) on it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank 2011Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle B, Manager at Sun Country Tours, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
We're so glad you enjoyed your Big Eddy Thriller! We are sorry you experienced a delay in getting your photos, and want you to know we are working during the off-season to streamline our photo processing. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, and we hope to see you again this summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We live in Bend and have rafted the Big Eddy Thriller at least five times! It is great fun to take out-of-town visitor with us on these trips. It is reasonably priced and a great summer activity on a hot day!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sun Country Tours also viewed

 

Been to Sun Country Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing