We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time rafting”
Review of Sun Country Tours

Sun Country Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sun Country Tours has been operating on the beautiful rivers of Oregon since 1978. We specialize in super fun whitewater trips, including our most convenient trip, the Big Eddy Thriller, which easily fits into a morning or afternoon so you can explore other fun things to do in Central Oregon, like the world-famous Bend Ale Trail. We also offer Standup Paddle Boarding lessons, rentals and tours, as well as river tube rentals so you can "Float the River" like a local.Sun Country Tours offers four family-friendly whitewater adventures on three rivers, including the Deschutes, McKenzie and North Umpqua rivers. We offer convenient pickups in Bend, Sunriver, Redmond and Sisters, and our trips include all transportation to and from the river, all equipment, and of course, expert guiding. All whitewater rafting trips are appropriate for kids 6 and older.
Vernon, B.C.
Level 6 Contributor
651 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Great time rafting”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Took the wife and kids rafting on the lower Dechutes River with Sun Country. We had a blast. They were all level 3 rapids which means "safe" for a family. All of us got wet, particulary my wife and boys - they all got dumped out. Hahahaha

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Silverwoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    39
    14
    5
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
“If you're going to go rafting, use Sun County”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We've gone rafting several times with Sun County over the last three years and each time has been wonderful. We found all of the staff to be extremely professional and accommodating to our needs. All the guides we've had (Clay, Scott and Pat) have been great with us and our kids. Scott was fantastic in giving my older one experiences that were fun for him while "protecting" our younger one when he was scared. Our kids loved it so much that they begged us to go on two trips back to back. Highly recommend this outfitter--you can't go wrong and soon you'll find yourself hooked and coming back for more!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank 264Lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our Family Reunion”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

19 of us decided to go down the Big Eddy during our family renunion and really enjoyed ourselves. Having never done white water rafting, this was new and exciting to me. The instruction was excellent and we all had a great time. Although it was advertised as being a 3 hour trip, we were only actually in the water for about 45 min. to an hour. The trip could have been a little longer for the price. The photos we received were excellent. I would recommend this adventure to everyone, although might recommend taking the full day trip. That will be my next one!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paula F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“great company to raft with”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We have taken several rafting trips with Sun Country. Their guides are excellent; experienced and safety conscious, but go out of their way to make sure everyone has fun. On our last trip our guide Matt even stopped to rescue other rafters who's boat had folded over a rock and everyone dumped out in dangerous rapids with all paddles lost down stream. We were glad to be with Sun Country, an outfit that clearly has the river knowledge and skill to ensure a safe yet thrilling adventure. Matt made sure we had a blast, and he especially knew how to connect with the kids in the boat. It was money well spent.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank scubaruba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highlight of vacation!”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

After watching a lot of people paddling down the Deschutes while we dined in the Mill District, we decided to give paddle boarding a try. Sun Country offered 2 hour lesson which we decided we should do. I am so glad we did. Our instructor was really upbeat and fun and taught us some good maneuvering moved (as well as some board yoga moves). The lessons were worth it (there were 5 people in the group). It was a lot of fun and very relaxing. Sun Country was easy to work with and professional. I called and got my reservation and everything was done over the phone (very easy) They held my keys while we were on the river. I would definately rent from them again. It was a highlight of our vacation!!

Helpful?
Thank KirkimusMaximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sun Country Tours also viewed

 

Been to Sun Country Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing