We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No hangers, crooked blinds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Ranked #43 of 45 Hotels in Bend
Reviewed August 28, 2013

You get what you pay for, I guess. The room was clean, but my husband and I consider this our first and last visit. There are many other options in Bend. There were no hangers for our clothes, and no bath mat. The window blinds did not fully close. The so-called breakfast was coffee and some leftover pastry the first day, more cereal and juice the second day, but it's better to bring what you want yourself and put it in the fridge. The hotel attracts some partyers, and we could hear them through thin walls, but we managed to endure two nights. Still, we would not be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foundloveinpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 104 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

The "non-smoking" room smells like old smoke and musty funk. The carpet is filthy. The beds were ok. The bathroom was....EW!! The toilet paper holder was coming out of the wall leaving a dark hole, the water in the tub would not drain. At.ALL. There must be a 30 year old hair ball down there. We couldn't stand in the shower. We had to sponge bath. This place gives me the shivers. RUN away! It was a complete rip off for the amount we payed, I expected a room that would not make me throw up in my mouth.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

First, let me say that had we been staying more than one night, we would have brought the problems with the air conditioner to the attention of management. Yeah, it's hot in Bend. And the air conditioner in the main room (we had a suite) was just not working right. It turned on and off, was noisy and didn't keep the room at the set temp.

The front office folks were friendly. Breakfast was pretty awful. Some juice, some milk, a couple types of off-brand looking cereal. Loaf cakes cut into slices and left in a large Tupperware-style container. Coffee was undrinkable. There was fresh fruit, some dry oranges and green bananas on a stand. Technically breakfast, but not in any way desirable.

The pool was the best part of the place. Decent pool, clean water, good temperature.

Why'd we stay there? The first three places we called in Bend were all booked up and we needed a room that night. And it wasn't cheap! Over a hundred bucks.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TMMao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I have been coming up to this motel for years. When I first stayed here, under far different management, it was a cheap place to stay, but a wreck. It was dirty, cramped, damaged, and uncomfortable .... but cheap. Since it was taken over by Rodeway Inns and their group, and been managed first by Maya and then by Lety Valdovinos, it is rapidly being transformed into a clean, comfortable and efficiently run motel. I might add that I am caregiving two adults over 90. I book us into a special room that is easily accessible. All furniture, rugs and accessories are new. The cleaning staff is excellent and very accomodating to special needs seniors. The management is beyond belief for a budget motel, and go the extra mile for us. They are smart and competent, because they know that they need return business to survive. They will keep seeing us return. The only problem we have is the child-sized commode, but that is a small thing compared to before, and things are upgraded every time we come here. When things keep changing, I will submit a review again and give it a 5..

Room Tip: In the winter, Bend has a lot of ice in the shade. If you can get the size room you need on the nort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

My family stayed here this past month, and the room was clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast needs to be improved with more variety of choices. Kids had fun in the pool which was very clean. Overall a great place to stay, would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liv B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I have stayed in many hotels on the road and I have to say, this was one of the worst. Because all the AAA recommended hotels were sold out, we called around to see what was available. The room we got had filthy carpets, missing window cranks so we couldn't open or shut windows, and the furniture was worn and run down. Wen I called to ask how I could get the window shut, they said the maintenance people were gone for the day. The "continental breakfast" consisted of packets of oatmeal, old sliced cake like bread in a tuppleware box, tea and hot chocolate packets. The only liquid was mediocre coffee. The small oranges were dried out and old. Really, it was all gross. Can't believe they charged almost $100 to stay here. Never again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

First the good news: the room was clean, the bed was comfortable and all of the plumbing worked. The room is so small that the two of us were tripping over each other. This is an old place that has not been modernized. So there are not nearly enough plugs for the PC and the iphone you need to plug in. The low point was breakfast. A couple of packaged sweet rolls, coffee, instant oatmeal and some bananas. There was no cereal and the small refrigerator that used to hold (probably) packaged yogurt and milk was turned off. There is no way you can make a reasonable breakfast from that. To top that off, both coffee containers were empty and the person at the desk was sitting there blissfully unaware.

One big surprise awaits you if you happen to be arriving late. The office loses at 10PM. If you aren't checked in buy then, too bad.

The location is good but this place needs a major physical upgrade and some management and staff that cares about service for their customers.

Room Tip: There are other motels in Bend at comparable prices. Pick one of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank albwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bend hotels
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Bend
Days Inn Bend
#32 of 45 in Bend
774 reviews
0 mi away
Holiday Motel
Holiday Motel
#14 of 45 in Bend
322 reviews
2.6 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Deschutes River – Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#22 of 45 in Bend
189 reviews
0.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Bend
Econo Lodge Bend
#26 of 45 in Bend
137 reviews
1.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn Bend
La Quinta Inn Bend
#12 of 45 in Bend
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn & Suites

Address: 904 SE 3rd St, Bend, OR 97702-1749 (Formerly Westward Ho Motel)
Location: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Bend
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 45 Hotels in Bend
Price Range: $40 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Rodeway Inn & Suites 1.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westward Ho Hotel Bend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing