We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Bend
from $129.99
More Info
from $300.00
More Info
from $885.00
More Info
from $199.99
More Info
Reviews (1,810)
Filter reviews
1,810 results
Traveler rating
1,352
366
75
13
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,352
366
75
13
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews birds of prey live animals indoor and outdoor exhibits otter exhibit animal exhibits living history great exhibits all ages bird show desert sky rotating exhibits old west river otters native americans central oregon gift shop on display
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
797 - 802 of 1,810 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2016

Many years we have traveled to Bend and my husband has always said we need to go the the Highly deserted museum (kinda a joke). I was dragging my feet and boy was I sorry I did. This place is amazing, great exhibits, superior staff and wonderful history.

Date of experience: July 2015
Thank Carma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDM_Raptor, Public Relations Manager at High Desert Museum, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2016

Thanks for the great review and for listening to your husband! Though much of the High Desert may seem deserted, the empty spaces and vast stretches of sagebrush are its beauty.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2016

I've been to the HDM many times, and I love it. It's especially good if you are there during the season when they do the free flight raptor shows. They have educational talks which are great also. I visit pretty much every time I'm in town.

Date of experience: October 2015
Thank Dana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDM_Raptor, Public Relations Manager at High Desert Museum, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2016

Thanks for the great review and for visiting often! The Raptors of the Desert Sky is an outdoor flight program that includes 5 or 6 species of birds of prey flying literally right over the audience. There is a nominal fee for this program, and tickets may be purchased at Admissions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2016

The variety and regular rotation of exhibits keeps this attraction at the top of our 'to-do' list. Ranger talks and demonstrations as well as up-close looks at the local fauna keep our grand-kids entertained and educated. We have a Grandparents Membership, we go so often!

Date of experience: April 2016
Thank PFrede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDM_Raptor, Public Relations Manager at High Desert Museum, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2016

Great to hear you're members and thanks for writing a review! This summer the Ranger Station will have a scheduled daily talk at 1 pm, beginning July 1. The station will be open 11 - 4, weekends until June 4, then daily beginning July 1.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2016 via mobile

The museum has its permanent exhibits but changes others periodically. Always a joy, always interesting.

Date of experience: February 2016
Thank Juliequeens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDM_Raptor, Public Relations Manager at High Desert Museum, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2016

Thank you for your review. Please check the website to see what exhibits are currently open or are upcoming.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2016

We stopped here thinking we would spend an hour looking around not sure what we would find. We ended up spending 4 hours leisurely looking at the indoor exhibits and enjoying the outdoor areas. Everything is well done and definitely worth a visit when in the area. There are live demonstrations on a schedule during the day which are interesting. We had lunch on the outdoor patio area and the food was reasonable and tasty.

Date of experience: April 2016
Thank JERRYG448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDM_Raptor, Public Relations Manager at High Desert Museum, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2016

Thanks for your review. Glad to see we kept you from other endeavors, as well! There is a lot to see and take in, especially with the daily schedule of programs and all the exhibits. When the weather is good, lunch on the patio is the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews