We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Museum” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of High Desert Museum

High Desert Museum
Ranked #1 of 93 things to do in Bend
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The museum, set on 135 acres of pine forest, has something for everyone. Explore the nature, culture and spirit of the High Desert through fun, interactive, indoor and outdoor exhibits. Encounter live animals, interact with living history characters at the Miller Ranch, visit the 1904 sawmill. See what life was like for pioneers, enjoy Western art and an extensive Native American collection. Special programs and events for all ages.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Port Angeles, Washington
Level Contributor
134 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Excellent Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

I'm not a huge history or museum fan, but I enjoyed the High Desert Museum. Their indoor and outdoor exhibits were well done and quite enjoyable. I'm glad we stopped for a visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank OlympicPeninsula2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    982
    280
    63
    11
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baker City, Oregon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice outing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

This is near sunriver and a nice outing for families. The prices vary by season so check that out before you go. Grab a schedule when you arrive to make room for specific animal presentations that you want to see. This is not a zoo but more of an educational experience with flare. When we went they had a neat butterfly exhibit that you could actually walk through. Would recommend.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
106 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great family fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We spent a good three hours here in a too hot to hike afternoon. The otters were hilarious. Make sure you go during feeding time. We also saw the birds being fed which was great. The owls were up and flying. We went to the animal talk and saw several different animals up close. My daughter loved both the indoor and outdoor play areas. The cafe was great for lunch. This is a must-see for families visiting Bend. The even have a cool, secure place for you to leave your dogs!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank backpackerjmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“"Educational, interesting & fun"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

I visited here from the UK with my cousin from La Pine. The museum is in a lovely setting amongst trees & wilderness. Interesting for me about the history of the local area & especially about the Native Americans. Felt sorry for the wild cats,eagles,owls & porcupine but at least they are taking good care of them as they can no longer be in the wild. Especially loved the Otters & saw lots of chipmunks & the golden mantle squirrel. Lovely place thank you.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank kimb019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
254 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Beautiful Museum for All Ages”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We loved this place! Can't imagine visiting the area and not going to this museum as it makes the history of central Oregon come alive. Great for kids of all ages. When we were there, the museum featured a special exhibit of quilts made by the Sisters Quilting Group--beautiful!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank SnmaGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed High Desert Museum also viewed

 

Been to High Desert Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing