We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Educational, interesting & fun"”
Review of High Desert Museum

High Desert Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$685.00*
and up
Crater Lake 3-Day Tour from Portland
Ranked #1 of 98 things to do in Bend
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The museum, set on 135 acres of pine forest, has something for everyone. Explore the nature, culture and spirit of the High Desert through fun, interactive, indoor and outdoor exhibits. Encounter live animals, interact with living history characters at the Miller Ranch, visit the 1904 sawmill. See what life was like for pioneers, enjoy Western art and an extensive Native American collection. Special programs and events for all ages.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“"Educational, interesting & fun"”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I visited here from the UK with my cousin from La Pine. The museum is in a lovely setting amongst trees & wilderness. Interesting for me about the history of the local area & especially about the Native Americans. Felt sorry for the wild cats,eagles,owls & porcupine but at least they are taking good care of them as they can no longer be in the wild. Especially loved the Otters & saw lots of chipmunks & the golden mantle squirrel. Lovely place thank you.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank kimb019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,081
    305
    67
    12
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Beautiful Museum for All Ages”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We loved this place! Can't imagine visiting the area and not going to this museum as it makes the history of central Oregon come alive. Great for kids of all ages. When we were there, the museum featured a special exhibit of quilts made by the Sisters Quilting Group--beautiful!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank SnmaGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great museum, learned a lot about the region”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This museum is very well done. I live in DC and I think this museum stands up to any of the Smithosonians. Great information about the region and its settlement. There is a wonderful native American exhibit. They also have native animals and an outdoor section that was great fun. The only complaint I have is that the frontier settlement was not staffed with the frontier people as described in the brochure. Also, the otters were not out and it would have been nice to understand the reason. (They were in their den and I wasn't sure if it was naptime or hibernation time or something along those lines. The otters at the National Zoo in DC are constantly in action, so I am not sure why these were not.) In any case, I had a wonderful time. Very well done museum and I would definitely return in the future.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ams03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fun trip with kids”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We spent a week in the Bend area recently. Unfortunately the weather did not cooperate-- lots of clouds and rain. We spent one of the rainy days at the High Desert Museum and it turned out to be a great way to spend the day. There are plenty of interesting displays about the history of the area, and they were presented in the way that held our children's attention. The outdoor attraction are good, too. We ended up spending a lot of time at the saw mill/settler's cabin area. Lots of games and activities for the kids.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Misleading and not very interesting”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Was really looking forward to this but to pay $60 for a family of four to see a few animals and have no one there to narrate or answer questions about the exibits was disappointing. This was a bust for the money we paid. The Indian museum was
interesting but after that your wandering around trying to figure out what else there is to see or do.
I would not recommend this place if you're hoping for something exiting to spend several hours doing. We were in and out after seeing everything in 45 minutes.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed High Desert Museum also viewed

 

Been to High Desert Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing