We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Need time to really see everything.....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of High Desert Museum

High Desert Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$685.00*
and up
3-Day Tour from Portland to Crater Lake
Ranked #1 of 93 things to do in Bend
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The museum, set on 135 acres of pine forest, has something for everyone. Explore the nature, culture and spirit of the High Desert through fun, interactive, indoor and outdoor exhibits. Encounter live animals, interact with living history characters at the Miller Ranch, visit the 1904 sawmill. See what life was like for pioneers, enjoy Western art and an extensive Native American collection. Special programs and events for all ages.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
Nebo, North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Need time to really see everything.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

My husband and I visited and only had about one and a half hours....not nearly enough time and I am not a "museum" person. There is so much to see outside and many trails that we did not get to walk. So many displays inside to study and read....we hope to visit again! A very easy drive from Bend. Even without kids( who are now all grown) there is mcuh to learn and enjoy here.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank julie4504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    983
    280
    63
    11
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Council, Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Facility”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

This is such a neat place to visit. Very neat displays and lots of interactive stuff throughout for little ones to do. My only complaint is how high the prices were in the cafe there. My goodness! Yes, I should have known better, but it didn't even cross my mind. Oh well, live and learn. But the museum was really neat.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Debbie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fasinating exhibit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

My husband and I went on a 3 day vacation to Bend, Oregon,. One day, due to rain due that day, we decided to go to a exhibit that was partially indoors. Well it was a excellent decision, and we went on a fascinating trip with extensive exhibits. The High Dessert museum, has something for everyone. Including wild eagles, owls, a rescued bobcat found starving on the road, who was brought back to health. There is a realistic exhibit of Native Americans, one of life on the frontier,including a settler who "lived" in the cabin, dressed in clothes of the time, and talked to us about how life was for them, then, and answered any questions we asked. This was a great place to visit, we thoroughly enjoyed it, and it was a fascinating place to visit, rain or shine.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank matzma16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silicon Valley, California
Level Contributor
117 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“An exceptional museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

We just did a big tour clockwise around the Western United States, and there are museums in every town, but we found that this one is really special. The High Desert Museum is artfully laid out, really informative, and in a beautiful setting. I learned a bunch about the native American tribes in that area. If you find yourself in Bend, stop by for an hour or two. You won't be disappointed!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelinFieldGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Party at the Museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

One of our favorite places to go to. The grandchildren always love it as do we. When you come to Bend it's definitely a must see. During the winter they have a "Behind the Scenes Tour" that is so worth it. The living museum portion is informative, interactive and fun. The museum does a great job in bring new exhibits and artwork to the museum. Their fundraisers are also fun.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank stylnz8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed High Desert Museum also viewed

 

Been to High Desert Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing