We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, wonderful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lara House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bend
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lara House Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Lara House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
640 NW Congress St, Bend, OR 97701   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Fun in Bend!
Ranked #4 of 7 Bend B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, wonderful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The Lara House Bed and Breakfast is a wonderful place to spend a lovely weekend with someone special. My husband and I atayed there in May. The house is beautiful and our room was impeccably clean and well appointed with an ensuite bath. It is located a short walk from town and all of the great restaurants and shops and it is across the street from Drake Park which is just lovely and on the Deschutes river. You can ride bikes, hike, relax, shop...whatever you want is moments away. The staff is very attentive, they offer local beer and wine in the evenings and full, delicious breakfasts in the morning. They were able to accomodate my food preferences as well. I will be back, without a doubt!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tish2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    15
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
6
112
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The fact that this house is immaculate and the room was incredible are far down this list. The couple that run this house (whose names I've forgotten, sorry!) are incredibly kind. Our first night there, we were tired from our trip and he offered us beer (from the Deschutes brewery) or wine and a cheese plate. We accepted and he recommended that we sit in one of the common rooms where we could relax on a couch with a view of Drake Park. They offer a cocktail hour (beer or wine) daily and a snack which is usually cheeses, some fruit and crackers. But the best part was the breakfasts. Both days, there was a three course breakfast that was among the best I've ever had. There was a bread course, a main course and a fruit course. Everything was homemade and spectacular. And the fact that it's only a few minutes walk from downtown was an added bonus.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aaron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I just returned from a wonderful Memorial Day weekend at Lara House B&B. It is under new ownership and new management and they are ready to provide you with a great experience. The house is very clean, cozy and inviting. The breakfasts were gourmet and yummy. I loved our room. The ambiance is romantic and mellow and the bed was super comfortable! The location is perfect, across from Drake Park and a couple blocks walk into Old Town Bend is a big plus. There is even off-street parking and a bike rack for your bikes or the bike rental place is two blocks away. Laura House has a large front yard with lawn games available and relaxing outdoor areas to sit, doze, read, relax, watch the world go by or pick up the croquet mallet or Frisbee and play. Enjoy!!!!

Room Tip: Each room has it's own bathroom with showers but only a couple have bath tubs. If you like a go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
146 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

The Lara House is a beautifully maintained Bed and Breakfast that is lovingly restored to it's original period pieces. There are 5 bedrooms varying in sizes, each with it's own bathroom. From our viewpoint the Deschutes Room is the best. It's large with double sinks, a king size bed and two chairs to sit on. It's a corner room, so windows are on two sides. We stayed in the Cascade Room, it was lovely, but only one sink in the bathroom. The beds are very comfortable and the furnishings are very lovely. The serve breakfast which consists of a fruit plate (which varies), some kind f a breakfast quiche dish and scones, homemade bread or the like. It's a 2-3 block walk to town and many wonderful restaurants. The Lara House is a wonderful place to stay! We will return.

Room Tip: Reserve early in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jehesbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Lara House is beautiful house in a wonderful neighborhood right across the street from a beautiful riverside park. It is so relaxing to go for a walk in the park. Town and many restaurants are only a 3-5 minute walk away. The common areas and the rooms are very clean and nicely decorated. Wine and cheese in the afternoon are included, and the breakfast is delicious and is 4-5 courses. Definitely a place I will return to next time I am in Bend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 58DavidAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell Junction, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

A group of us, couples and singles, recently stayed at this wonderful B&B. The Inn keepers were so friendly and accommodating. The rooms were beautiful, spacious and private. Every morning we were provided a gourmet breakfast, the best eggs we every had. They provided us maps and suggestions for the Bend area hiking trails. The inn is located a few short blocks to the center of town which is so convienent. In the evening they had local wine and beer. We will definitely stay here again the next time we visit Bend!

Room Tip: All rooms seemed spacious and had good park views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Erin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed here recently for a 2-day mini vacation and found it to be comfortable (especially in the warm summer weather), nicely furnished, and operated with great skill and consideration for their guests. The food was great too! The only thing that could have made it better is if it were a little further from the downtown area. Since you are so close to it you do hear a lot of the weekend partying and that sort of thing. Completely out of the control of the owners, but still something to consider if noise is an issue.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bend hotels
0.3 mi away
The Oxford Hotel
The Oxford Hotel
#2 of 43 in Bend
5.0 of 5 stars 899 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wall Street Suites
Wall Street Suites
#1 of 43 in Bend
5.0 of 5 stars 278 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bend
0.2 mi away
McMenamins Old St. Francis School
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lara House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lara House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Lara House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 640 NW Congress St, Bend, OR 97701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Bend
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lara House Bed and Breakfast, a magnificent 1910 craftsman, offers a unique and luxury experience for adults seeking a getaway in Downtown Bend. Located in a historic neighborhood, the Lara House overlooks Drake Park and the Deschutes River and is only two blocks away from Downtown Bend’s wonderful boutique shops and fantastic restaurants.Our six guest rooms have world-crafted eclectic furnishings, exquisite linens, and down comforters, all with private baths. The common areas are cozy and intimate, but spacious enough to give you privacy. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing