We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lara House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 7 Bend B&B and Inns
Athens, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Lara House is beautiful house in a wonderful neighborhood right across the street from a beautiful riverside park. It is so relaxing to go for a walk in the park. Town and many restaurants are only a 3-5 minute walk away. The common areas and the rooms are very clean and nicely decorated. Wine and cheese in the afternoon are included, and the breakfast is delicious and is 4-5 courses. Definitely a place I will return to next time I am in Bend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 58DavidAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    16
    2
    4
    3
See reviews for
8
122
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hopewell Junction, New York
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

A group of us, couples and singles, recently stayed at this wonderful B&B. The Inn keepers were so friendly and accommodating. The rooms were beautiful, spacious and private. Every morning we were provided a gourmet breakfast, the best eggs we every had. They provided us maps and suggestions for the Bend area hiking trails. The inn is located a few short blocks to the center of town which is so convienent. In the evening they had local wine and beer. We will definitely stay here again the next time we visit Bend!

Room Tip: All rooms seemed spacious and had good park views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Erin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed here recently for a 2-day mini vacation and found it to be comfortable (especially in the warm summer weather), nicely furnished, and operated with great skill and consideration for their guests. The food was great too! The only thing that could have made it better is if it were a little further from the downtown area. Since you are so close to it you do hear a lot of the weekend partying and that sort of thing. Completely out of the control of the owners, but still something to consider if noise is an issue.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Earth
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

What a lovely place to call home for 2 days. The property is extremely well maintained, nicely decorated, and immaculate. Lara House is within easy walking distance of downtown and the many restuarants Bend has to offer. The park, with walking trails, is located basically across the street from the Bed and Breakfast. There is a very nice area for sitting outside the inn if you wish to do that. The innkeeper was welcoming, helpful, and friendly. He offered us good advice when we asked him for travel and restaurant information. Breakfast was included in the cost of the room and was delicious both mornings. We rented the the Cascade Room during our stay, which was comfortable, clean, and had windows on 2 sides. The inn offers books, internet access, in room TV and DVD player with DVDs available for viewing, if you wish. To be honest, we never used either the TV or the DVD player as we enjoyed spending time outdoors walking around the well kept town. Negatives would be that the bathroom was somewhat small and coffee isn't available until 7 (a little late for an early riser). As with most inns, breakfast is served at a set time, 8:30, which for us, was a little later than we would've liked. The inn did offer afternoon snacks as well as granola bars and soda and juice which could be accessed at any time. Lara House felt like home away from home and is an excellent choice for a quiet relaxed overnight stay in Bend.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank konstanzj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This is our 3rd time at the historic Lara House in Bend- just a few blocks walk to downtown Bend with upscale restaurants, shopping and recreation. Every detail is meticulously met...gorgeous furniture, luscious bedding and towels, and a delightful homemade breakfast prepared by proprietor Peter every morning. Today was fresh fruit drizzled with a berry sauce, raspberry coffee cake, and vegetable quiche. Yesterday was Eggs Benedict on a bed of seasoned potatoes. Delish. The rooms are all different with beautiful decor and amenities. The house dates back to 1905 and the craftsmanship is amazing. It was thoroughly updated about 5 years ago. It's a Fodors favorite pick for a reason! You'll have a lovely time at The Lara House Lodge.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank buzzzzsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

Really beautiful home filled with lovely period accent pieces. Great location near a lovely park and Easy walk from fun shops and restaurants. Super comfy beds. Huge bedroom. Nice sitting areas inside and out. good books and videos to borrow. Breakfast was merely ok although they seemed to think it was grand. Tasteless small crepe, tiny scone, a few pieces of melon. Very expensive but not a lot of other options for b&bs. Still a lot better than staying at a generic hotel chain.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjbirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Angeles, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We arrived in Bend at the Lara House Lodge after a long drive and we were welcomed warmly by the inn keepers, Peter and Lynda. What gracious and lovely people and they were a wealth of information! They gave us a tour of the beautifully maintained house, explained its interesting history, and they showed us to our room. Later they invited us to have beverages, crackers, cheese and a delicious artichoke dip and they made us feel fully at home.
The room was so beautifully decorated and comfortable! We especially liked the chocolates left out for us to enjoy. The bed was perfect and we slept so soundly.
After dinner Peter and Lynda told us about a romantic walk we could take through Drake Park by Mirror Pond. The path led us up some steps into the town of Bend and Peter and Lynda also gave us directions to an old fashioned ice cream shop. What a wonderful evening!
The next morning Peter prepared a gourmet breakfast fit for royalty. We were sad to leave the Lara House Lodge and these sweet people, but adventures awaited us!
Thank you for the wonderful time!

Room Tip: Just make sure Peter and Lynda are working there.!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jdhalsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bend hotels
0.3 mi away
The Oxford Hotel
The Oxford Hotel
#2 of 44 in Bend
1,153 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bend
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Wall Street Suites
Wall Street Suites
#1 of 44 in Bend
419 reviews
0.2 mi away
McMenamins Old St. Francis School
1.0 mi away
My Place Hotel - Bend, OR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lara House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lara House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Lara House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 640 NW Congress St, Bend, OR 97703-2512
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Bend
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lara House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lara House Bed and Breakfast, a magnificent 1910 craftsman, offers a unique and luxury experience for adults seeking a getaway in Downtown Bend. Located in a historic neighborhood, the Lara House overlooks Drake Park and the Deschutes River and is only two blocks away from Downtown Bend’s wonderful boutique shops and fantastic restaurants.Our six guest rooms have world-crafted eclectic furnishings, exquisite linens, and down comforters, all with private baths. The common areas are cozy and intimate, but spacious enough to give you privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Lara House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing