We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lara House Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
Riverhouse on the Deschutes(Bend)(Great Value!)
$149
$112
Groupon.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Motel(Bend)(Great Value!)
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cascade Lodge(Bend)(Great Value!)
$99
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bend Three Sisters Inn & Suites(Bend)(Great Value!)
$156
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$234
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Quinta Inn Bend(Bend)(Great Value!)
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn & Suites(Bend)(Great Value!)
$168
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$173
$167
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (174)
Filter reviews
174 results
Traveler rating
148
16
3
4
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
148
16
3
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdrake parkother guestsdowntown bendwine hourlovely neighborhoodfew short blocksfood preferencesvegetable quichehome baked cookiesleather chairsthe riverluxurious linensdowntown areacommon roomtwo nightseach eveningboth mornings
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 174 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We arrived in Bend at the Lara House Lodge after a long drive and we were welcomed warmly by the inn keepers, Peter and Lynda. What gracious and lovely people and they were a wealth of information! They gave us a tour of the beautifully maintained house, explained its interesting history, and they showed us to our room. Later they invited us to have beverages, crackers, cheese and a delicious artichoke dip and they made us feel fully at home.
The room was so beautifully decorated and comfortable! We especially liked the chocolates left out for us to enjoy. The bed was perfect and we slept so soundly.
After dinner Peter and Lynda told us about a romantic walk we could take through Drake Park by Mirror Pond. The path led us up some steps into the town of Bend and Peter and Lynda also gave us directions to an old fashioned ice cream shop. What a wonderful evening!
The next morning Peter prepared a gourmet breakfast fit for royalty. We were sad to leave the Lara House Lodge and these sweet people, but adventures awaited us!
Thank you for the wonderful time!

Room Tip: Just make sure Peter and Lynda are working there.!
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jdhalsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2011

The Innkeepers, Peter & Lynda Clark do a wonderful job of making one's stay comfortable and pleasant. Peter cooks a great breakfast and the room was clean and comfortable. The little ammenities such as chocolates and beverages always available add much to the stay.

Being within walking distance of downtown was helpful for close by dining and the lovely park across the street is wonderful next to the river.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jbrockett444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

Bend is a well-kept, cute little town with quiet neighbourhoods, and situated right in the middle of it all is the Lara House Lodge. You are one block from both downtown and the river, yet you feel like you are away from everything.
Peter checked us in, got us oriented with the house and provided amenities (coffee/drink service, tourism info, DVD collection, cheese and cracker time, breakfast times, etc...) then took us and our luggage upstairs to our room.
The room was cozy and the multiple windows let in lots of light. Just a little bit too much light in the mornings since there are no black out curtains, but I am an early riser anyways. The bed and linens were so comfortable! The bathroom has everything you need, and the Jacuzzi was great, if a little on the small side. But we loved our two nights there.
The breakfasts were scrumptious both mornings; original and tasty. If only the weather was a little warmer, we would have loved the opportunity to enjoy it out on the patio.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LariJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

My colleagues and I needed a peaceful place to shut ourselves away from the office and get down to business. Our overnight stay at Lara House Lodge was perfect. We started with wine and cheese at this beautiful lodge before walking the 2 blocks to downtown Bend and a fabulous dinner. The rooms were not only gorgeous, but very comfortable. And at 6 months pregnant I can truly attest to that! Our group woke up the next morning to a gourmet, 3 course breakfast that was truly delicious. We then spent the morning working on the porch in the Spring sunshine. So much work accomplished in such a beautiful surroundings. Thank you to our fabulous hosts, who made the experience so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LynneTat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2011

We stayed at Lara House with another couple for a visit to the Bend area. It was perfect. The breakfast was yummy and Peter is a great host. As one reviewer said, the bath was a bit on the tiny side, but we realize it's an historic house that's been made into a B&B. Who knows if they even had bathrooms back when it was built! All in all, we'd love to go back again! We peeked into all the rooms during our stay, and they were equally well-appointed and luxurious. The sitting area downstairs was exceptionally cozy, with a fireplace & coffee/tea/sodas available.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QuiltBat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews