We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing but a bit drab”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend
Ranked #24 of 44 Hotels in Bend
Reviewed August 10, 2014

My visit was just for one night and the hotel was fine for my purposes. It was quiet and relaxing by the river. Hotel grounds are nice - offering both indoor and outdoor pools. My building needed a powerwash - so many cobwebs on the outside decks, light fixtures and such. This makes it feel a bit dirty. The room was clean but felt dark and lackluster - needed some updating and maybe brightened up just a bit. Included breakfast was a good standard breakfast with eggs, potatoes, sausage, pancakes, fruit, etc. You can sit outside and enjoy the nice grounds around the pool while eating. Staff were friendly and overall a good hotel for the price - considering Bend is higher cost area.

Room Tip: I paid extra for riverview room, but it was very relaxing to sit on deck with the river below and pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank luvmooses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (729)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

353 - 359 of 729 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2014

My wife and I have family in Bend, Oregon, and travel there several times each year. We stayed at the Shilo Inn in Bend three times in the last year, totaling about 20 days, and a year ago, I gave the Shilo Inn an outstanding review. Our stays have spanned multiple seasons, so we are not just "prime time" tourists.

Unfortunately, things have changed, and our most recent stay was something of a disappointment.


Pros/Cons for our recent visit:


Pros

The after-move-in Housekeeping was great. We had a problem that was addressed quickly by housekeeping staff. Throughout our visit, housekeeping was excellent.

The location is perfect for us. The hotel is located adjacent to the Deschutes River, and has the feeling of a resort.

Rooms are clean.

Summertime in Bend is a popular time to stay, so we were glad to get accommodations


Cons

NOISY! This is the first time that we stayed on the first floor, and I would never do that again. The structure is apparently wood-framed, and we had to listen to every footstep above us throughout the entire stay. One night, someone tromped back and forth above us until after 3:00 AM. In addition to the upstairs noise, we were located adjacent to what I assume is a huge air conditioning system between buildings 100 and 200. This system turns on and off all night. If you can sleep next to a runway with airliners taking off several times per hour, then fine. Othewise, I would make certain that you don't stay next to that A/C system.

The sheets that were originally placed on our bed had disgusting stains. Really, it looked like a crime scene -- I took photos. Housekeeping replaced the sheets upon our request, but you have to wonder about the overall quality of service when you find something like that.

Restaurant: During previous visits, we were especially happy with the restaurant. We usually dined on the patio, which was very pleasant. This time, there were very few tables and chairs on the patio, no umbrellas, and the tables that were there often had dishes and glasses from the previous day. Breakfasts were fine, but they no longer served lunch (bummer!). I can't comment on dinners, as we chose to dine elsewhere.

The decor is very dated, although rooms are clean. We did not object to the decor during previous stays because the overall experience was very nice, but with the several issues noted above, the dated decor seemed more of an issue on this trip.

Even with the problems noted above, I would have given the Shilo Inn and Suites in Bend a three-star rating, excpt for another factor that is very important to us. Shilo has "recently" added a $15.00/Day fee for pets. Bend is famous for being a dog-friendly town, and in the past, Shilo fit right in. No longer. We have a miniature poodle that does not cause any problems whatsoever for Shilo, nor for its guests. Being a poodle, he does not shed. He does not chew on anything, and he is 100% housebroken. We do not let him be a problem for other guests in any way, and we pick up after him without fail. The final score: +$90.00 to the Shilo bottom line, -$90.00 from my wallet, with $0.00 cost to Shilo and $0.00 benefit to us. THANKS
SHILO FOR THIS RIP-OFF!!!

For futures, we will definitely look at alternative hotels, and/or renting a house in Bend through one of the popular short term home rental websites.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boater418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

I stayed at the Inn for 10 days and "loved" every minute of it. From the large comfortable rooms and the staff at both the hotel registration desk and the restaurant. After a few days everyone remembered my name. A terrific property with numerous building, an indoor and outdoor pool as well as a small gym. Your room rate also includes a "full breakfast". The new chef Shawn is extremely talented and turns out wonderful food, I highly recommend the Shilo Inn to anyone going to Bend either for vacation or using it for an event. This trip to Bend was for a global business meeting, I'm already recommending the Inn to colleagues. The lunch's at our meeting were beautifully laid out as well as delicious, I have to admit due to Shawn's wonderful cooking I am a few biscuits over my normal weight!

Room Tip: The best accommodations in Bend, close to everything with a staff that answers "all" your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

we enjoyed everything espcially the location and surrounding area. glad we were able to be come acquainted with "bend" and oregon. if we come again
we will try to stay at shilo

Didn't like the geese poop and the dog walking area was not marked

thank you

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Wendell J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

The room at the Shilo Inn and Suites was quite roomy but starting to look a little dated. It is more of a condo style for ski trips etc. with a 2 burner stove, a breakfast counter and a couch with 2 chairs. It was quite roomy and comfortable. The bed could certainly use a little improvement as the mattress was not of the quality one would expect. We were given coupons for a free glass of wine each (or beer) and a BOGO entree at the restaurant. Again, not fancy but the food was quite good and reasonably priced. A little new decor for the room and the restaurant would greatly benefit this property. The TV was older (not a problem) but the cable service gave a very poor selection for viewing.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrentyMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights. Yes the river view is nice but couldnt open the slider or go on the deck due to tons of spider webs in between the slider and screen. Also spider webs all over the ceiling. Bathroom counter is brown and beige marble. Happened to notice a dark brown area and it was who knows what smeared accross the counter. Obviousy was not wiped down. Carpets had hard crusty stains. Do not walk on them barefoot. Cleaning staff was a scary guy with missing teeth and looked like a grungy drug attic..over priced for a dump. The only good thing is the location and a comfortable bed.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bmwgidget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

Perfectly tucked in next to the river, you're close to the main road but would never know it, super quiet and private. Both indoor and outdoor pools were perfect along with the hot tubs, sauna and steam room. Exercise room definitely needs some work, just one treadmill and elyptical. Room itself was a little dated, we stayed in 415 but was still super clean. Hot breakfast buffet was great, the lounge has a good handle selection and good appetizers. Overall great stay, will be returning!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wylie-beans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bend hotels
1.2 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Bend
4.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Bend
La Quinta Inn Bend
#12 of 44 in Bend
471 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bend Inn Suites
Bend Inn Suites
#38 of 44 in Bend
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
My Place Hotel - Bend, OR
1.1 mi away
Bend Riverside Inn & Suites
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#22 of 44 in Bend
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend

Address: 3105 NE O B Riley Rd, Bend, OR 97703-7523
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Bend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 44 Hotels in Bend
Price Range: $98 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend 2.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend is nestled on the banks of the scenic Deschutes River and is ideally located in the heart of Central Oregon with its wide variety of indoor and outdoor attractions. With 151 beautifully designed rooms, this full service hotel is ideal for the leisure and business traveler. Mt. Bachelor and public golf courses are nearby. Children 17 and under always stay free with an adult at Shilo Inns. Dogs welcome with nominal fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Inn Hotel Bend
Shilo Inn Bend
Bend Shilo Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing