We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible room, bad attitude at front desk” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend
Ranked #21 of 43 Hotels in Bend
los angeles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrible room, bad attitude at front desk”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Terrible room, not very clean and in desperate need of an update. The bed is lumpy - mattress should have been replaced about a decade ago.

Went to the front desk to ask for a different room (the internet doesn't work either) and was given attitude by the girl at the front desk. If there isn't another room available, then that's fine, but please, there's no need to have such a poor attitude!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dsrdms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear LeRoy P,

I am so disappointed to find out that you were unhappy with your room. I am sorry we were not able to move you to a room that would have been more to your liking.

I will speak to the front desk agents about your experience. That is not living up to Shilo standards and will be addressed.

Sincerely,

Kevin Coelsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    212
    147
    76
    47
See reviews for
196
247
36
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bend
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Room is a little outdated. TV was still tube and small. Not a very clear picture. Overall room is clean and the fireplace is a nice touch. Thank you as we have stayed in the Shilo Inns in the past, and enjoyed the experience



  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Richard A,

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. We are working on replacing the older TV units. Please come and stay with us the next time you are in Bend.

Sincerely,

Kevin Coelsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
350 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

We were booked in here by our agent as part of a month long tour of the States. The site is attractive to look at and the gardener keeps the grounds neat and so we went to reception to check in. This area could do with the windows cleaned and being made more welcoming but our receptionist was friendly so we got our key. We had a pre-paid voucher for a standard room for 4 nights so were expecting the usual motel room.

This complex has the stairways on the outside and we are always given a ground floor, noisy room under the stairs so no change there! However, the room was dingy with chipped furniture, old-fashioned large tv and the dirtiest, stained carpet I've ever seen in a hotel room! As we were there for a while, we went back to reception and told them we wanted another room as the carpet was disgusting! After being made fun of by another receptionist at our use of the word 'disgusting' we were told the hotel was full but they had one room we could have. We asked to pay for an upgrade and the receptionist said she had none available and didn't know how much it would be when she had and if she quoted a figure she might get into trouble if it was wrong!

This room had been re-furbished, had a kitchen unit, was spacious and very nice. I cleaned the window inside as we didn't want to look at finger and nose prints on the glass and gave the coat hangers a dust then we settled in. Some of the rooms are by the river and this one had a lovely view with a patio. However, only cold water in the shower, only a hand-held shower out of the Ark which moved around when you tried to shower and no cold water from the washbasin for teeth cleaning. We tried again in the morning and discovered the shower fitting was on the wrong way so if you turn the water to cold you get hot! We cleaned teeth in the kitchen sink and put up with the archaic shower head - it was all too much hassle.

The restaurant is as uninviting as reception - the whole place needs a thorough clean, certainly the windows - but has a nice view of the garden and water feature. It was full at breakfast our first morning but tables were being cleared and food replaced. The next morning was very different - one man working, no clear tables, no bowls, no knives and forks, only grubby plates left, just a few dry slices of bread, little fruit salad and the floor around it was very sticky. It all looked like a plague of locusts had gone through. We bought our own breakfast and never went back.

I would have given this place only two stars but it has a lot going for it. It's over the road from shops and good restaurants and could be a winner with further investment and more staff. We will be suggesting to our agent that nobody is booked in here until the place has been sorted out.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a re-furbished room on the top floor and with a river view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flowerlady64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

I saw this regional chain while driving and decided to try it out. The cost was reasonable and it was easy to check in.

I was disappointed with the shower and construction. The shower was an inexpensive water saver shower which seemed strange in a place that waters their grass and scrubs. The hotel is made of wood including the floors so I heard the upstairs guest walking around all evening.

I would not stay in this specific location again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Mr. Grabill,

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay with us. I am sorry that the shower head was not to your liking. I am happy that you found our price reasonable and the check in easy.

Kevin Coelsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tualatin, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Our room was huge, and included a small kitchenette and fireplace. It was definitely clean and recently renovated. The hotel itself, is a bit dated. Breakfast was adequate, and 2 staff members serving were very nice.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear suebinor,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. It is great that you found the 2 staff members very nice. We hope that you would come and stay with us again if you come back to Bend.

Kevin Coelsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We booked into the Shilo beacause it looked cleaned and updated. That is not the case. We had a room that had last been updated in 1988. The chairs and windows were also filthy. I would run not walk away from this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Brenda O,

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We do have a mix of updated and older rooms on property, but the furniture is maintained and cleaned regularly.

Sincerely,

Kevin Coelsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bend hotels

Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
85 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

We were so pleased with this hotel. We had a king size room overlooking the river. The room was extremely clean and so large with a full size kitchen. The breakfast buffet had many items to chose from and was very tasty. The price was reasonable and staff friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dcupp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dcupp,

It is great to hear that you were pleased with your stay. We have a large variety of rooms on the property and many overlook the Deschutes River. This is a great time of year for wildlife along the river. I will pass your nice comment along to the staff.

Sincerely,

Kevin Coelsch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bend hotels
1.2 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Bend
3.2 mi away
My Place Hotel - Bend, OR
1.1 mi away
Bend Riverside Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Bend
La Quinta Inn Bend
#15 of 43 in Bend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bend
1.7 mi away
Bend Three Sisters Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend

Property: Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend
Address: 3105 NE O B Riley Rd, Bend, OR 97703-7523
Location: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Bend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 43 Hotels in Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend 2.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend is nestled on the banks of the scenic Deschutes River and is ideally located in the heart of Central Oregon with its wide variety of indoor and outdoor attractions. With 151 beautifully designed rooms, this full service hotel is ideal for the leisure and business traveler. Mt. Bachelor and public golf courses are nearby. Children 17 and under always stay free with an adult at Shilo Inns. Dogs welcome with nominal fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Bend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Inn Hotel Bend
Shilo Inn Bend
Bend Shilo Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing