We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointing”

Tom's Pancake House
Ranked #44 of 389 Restaurants in Beaverton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $8
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

With breakfast prices averaging a little over $10, we expected fresh quality ingredients. Instead we received cheap diner food that had been pre-cooked, open from a can or gone bad.

We will not be returning this restaurant. If we are going to spend $50 on a breakfast, there are better alternatives.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JenAZAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    26
    13
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Beaverton, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Older style”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

The atmosphere is like an older times place that makes you feel comfortable. The food is sometimes just perfect but sometimes not. The people that work there don't seem happy, no smiles.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda Fuller S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pendleton, Oregon
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Amazing food amazing price!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stopped in on a whim. The food was to die for! Amazing fruit creeps and amazing banana nut pancakes! All of it was priced very well for so much food!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pentukey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
182 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Consistent and reliable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Just a good old pancake house. Clean, friendly, good portions and absolutely consistent. Not gourmet by any stretch but we go there if we are not in the mood to cook and would like to catch a pretty quick start to a morning. Certainly can get busy and of course the week-ends are more apt to be busy. Friendly staff and family run.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank nancywim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
68 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Feeling a little tired.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

I want to like this place, I really do. It seems to be a clone of Davidson's restaurant in Tigard-which I like very much. Their menus and promotions are almost exactly the same.
But this restaurant doesn't have the same appeal to me. The food is okay, pretty much your standard breakfast fare. I know that they are trying to keep their coffee appealing to an older demographic, but I would recommend they move up a notch on the roast scale to appeal to a broader spectrum. (Boyd's--their coffee provider--makes a blend called Gourmet House, which would fit the bill, I believe.) Service was attentive and friendly. But I don't think I would make a special trip to come here and when I do I would stick to the standard fare.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank starchucks1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tom's Pancake House also viewed

 

Been to Tom's Pancake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing