We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time and great food for birthday celebration”
Review of Benihana

Benihana
Reserve with OpenTable
Benihana is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #102 of 391 Restaurants in Beaverton
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Between Hall and Scholls Ferry
Description: Prepare for a dining experience unlike any other. Watch as your personal chef performs the ancient art of Teppanyaki. Listen as razor-sharp blades slice through tender steak and juicy chicken. Take in the aroma of sizzling shrimp, lobster and savory vegetables. Or visit our sushi bar, where your sushi chef will prepare fresh nigiri, sashimi and specialty rolls, all with the same flair that made Benihana a legend in Japanese cuisine.
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great time and great food for birthday celebration”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We went here for my daughter's birthday. We were seated with another family with a couple of young kids. Our chef was very entertaining. The kids (and parents) really enjoyed the show, the food was delicious and the pictures taken were a nice touch. I highly recommend this as a good celebration restaurant. It is busy, loud and full of the "happy birthday" song. Not a place for a quiet dinner, but excellent for a get together or celebration

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    34
    13
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spring Hill, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just fun!!!”
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Great food, such fun....kids get such a kick out of the chef's antics. Great service personnel.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank dmp630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Dinner AND A Show”
Reviewed March 24, 2012

We love tepanyaki style cooking - fresh food and artful technique, and this Benihana is no exception! The service was wonderful and the tepanyaki chef was great! We had the steak and chicken. It came with soup, salad, teppanyaki veggies, rice AND Ice Cream for dessert! I highly recommend the Benihana Punch at happy hour, but be warned - - - ONE is PLENTY! The location is convenient - right next to Nordstrom Rack and across from Washington Square. This one is good for all ages, they cater to kids and families. Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lori P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fun presentation, but I never feel like I get what I order”
Reviewed March 16, 2012

I have been to this BH three times, and I always feel short-changed on what I've ordered, as though my stuff got lost in the shuffle or went to someone else. Maybe the menu doesn't do a good job of explaining what comes with an order, or maybe it's just too chaotic. The food that I do get is generally good, but I still leave feeling like I didn't get my money's worth (it isn't cheap). The presentation is entertaining, but after a while, it's just the same schtick.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BC H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Birthday central - takes away from an otherwise great experience”
Reviewed February 13, 2012

My spouse and I went to Benihana on a Saturday night before Valentine's day. I have one major complaint - every single table around us (and there's got to be 18 or so) had a birthday. We heard their tambourine-rich birthday song every 5 minutes, and over the course of a 90 minute dinner, that gets old FAST. Plus...3 tables of teenagers for a 18-year birthday - need I say more? Overall, it was LOUD, hard to have a conversation with the person next to you.

Beyond the atmosphere issues - the food is as excellent as I remember. My steak was tender and perfectly cooked, the shrimp, scallops, and lobster all nicely done. Chicken fried rice tasty, even better with mustard sauce added. Wish they had more veggies than just zucchini and onions, but that's just me.

Waitstaff and bar staff were great. Despite a reservation we had a 20 minute wait, so hung out in the bar enjoying drinks and conversation. Bartenders gave us lots of suggestions and plenty of laughs, but never stopped moving.

Few small niggling complaints - the building is showing it's age. Paint is flaking off the ceiling vents, the walls need a new coat of paint, and the lobby size is completely inadequete. Doesn't detract from the food, but still not something you expect for a $80-120 meal for two!

We'll go again, it's a nice treat - but definitely not on Saturday night!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank physicsmom04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benihana also viewed

 

Been to Benihana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing