We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Memorial Day truly memorable.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monteaux's Public House - CLOSED

Monteaux's Public House
Price range: $17 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Walker Road & Schendel
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
98 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Memorial Day truly memorable.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I tried the eggplant meatballs on spaghetti. I love eggplant but couldn't figure out how they could work them into a meatball. Well, the four balls had no meat but were kind of like a hushpuppy/eggplant combo with a dab of cheese inside...very unique and super good. The pasta was also good and the home-made sauce was great. The service is always good (we go there about once a month) and friendly. Wife had a chicken dish that she enjoyed. Salads are always delicious, as well as desserts.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LarryR86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    26
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
270 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Cozy and perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Great food. It's a bit pricy for that area I think but we didnt regret it.
We tried thier burgers and Schnitzel with caper seed with their seasonal beer.
Their staffs were really friendly and the atmosphere was good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank May_Malek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Another wonderful evening out with my husband.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Great food! I had halibut fish and chips. It was very good and the coleslaw was fresh crisp and light dressing. Shared some bread pudding with my husband, " This is not mom's bread pudding" it so much more. Looking forward to the leftovers tomorrow.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice and Quiet Happy Hour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

We went for happy hour - they have great deals, good variety and you get a huge bang for your buck. The staff is very friendly and attentive. The food tastes great and came out in a reasonable amount of time. With 2 drinks for each of us, and 2 apps.. total was $22. Can't beat it!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
69 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Small and quaint”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Our first visit to this restaraunt was a good experience. I had the brick chicken, it was moist and flavorful. The only downside is how long you have to wait for this dish to cook I'm thinking maybe 45 minutes,.
I wanted to get a cheeseburger because it was National Cheeseburger Day ut all of their burgers were 1/2 pounds that is too much.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monteaux's Public House also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing