We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute nightmare”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shilo Inn Hotel & Suites - Beaverton
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Beaverton
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We arrived on July 2nd. Upon getting into the room discovered very outdated unsanitary conditions, a quick google search revealed a large prostitution sting last year at the hotel. The door was an old key lock without a safety latch and the door into the main hallway where the room was wasn't lockable. After discovering all of this I asked the front door for a refund, that I'd like to stay somewhere safer. The front desk said they issued a refund and my card wouldn't be charged. Even gave me a 'receipt' stating that fact.

Imagine my surprise when they charged my card two days later. I called the hotel three times, without any answer. On the fourth time I did get an answer, but was hung up on after asking to speak to a manager. Now I have to go through BBB and my credit card company to get a refund.

I'm very disappointed, I've stayed at Shilo Inns before and never imagined this happening. I feel lied to and stolen from. I highly recommend spending a little more money for a safe, comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alisha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn Hotel & Suites - Beaverton, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Dear Alisha H,

Thank you for your review. I sincerely apologize that your experience did not meet your expectations. I also apologize that you felt unsafe at our property. You were not charged for you stay. Sincerely, G. Sorrels-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (330)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 330 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2014

A good bet when traveling to the Portland area. Close to zoo and downtown while having a fairly rural setting this motel is showing it's age yet remains a fair bargain when booked online. The water was less than warm however the staff responded fairly quickly and the problem was fixed. Parking lot in the lower unit was dark and scarey when returning at night. Single females (or males) without martial art skills should maybe think about getting a room in the upper building. Included breakfast was good. Coffee was excellent. Room chemicals (smelly stuff) are pretty heavy. Opening the window helps.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms are down away from Canyon Blvd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bradford7050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn Hotel & Suites - Beaverton, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2014

Dear Bradford7050,
Thank you for your review and for being a valued Shilo guest. I sincerely hope that you will choose us again the next time you are in the area. Sincerely, G. Sorrels-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

I recently stayed here for 2 nights, booked via a bidding site. I then read reviews, and was a little worried, but I had no problems during my stay. The place is very much of a different era, which some people like and some don't. I will say it has character, and they don't build them like this anymore, especially the well tended gardens/pond or the old school restaurant on site. My room was pretty average - CRT TV (didn't come there to watch TV, barely used it), not much furniture, but bed and bedding looked modern and updated. Wifi worked. I had an upper floor room, and it was quiet. Hallways looked older, but I didn't spend much time there either. The place was booked full both nights I was there, but didn't hear any problematic noise. Breakfast was a surprise, with a decent buffet in addition to the advertised choices - made it seem like that much better value. I didn't suspect any parking security problems, neighborhood is commercial but not rough. Don't stay here expecting a pampering Ritz Carlton style resort, but for something a little quirky and not terribly expensive, it works. Staff were always friendly. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank heckflosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn Hotel & Suites - Beaverton, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2014

Dear heckflosse,
Thank you for choosing Shilo Inns and for your review. I am glad your stay met your expectations. We look forward to serving you again in the future. Sincerely, G. Sorrels-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We were in town for a one night event down the road so chose Shilo because of the proximity. Got a decent price on a room and was pleasantly surprised. Although we didn't spend much time in the room, we got a good night's sleep, the room was quiet and the bed was comfy. Was only disappointed with the lack of wifi. Wish we could have tried out the pool but didn't get the time to do so. Breakfast was wonderful, expected the typical cup of coffee and packaged danish or "pour your own" waffles, but the free buffet had bacon, scrambled eggs, pancakes, muffins, fresh fruit and many other choices. The staff in the restaurant was great, and the front desk was very friendly. We would like to return when we have more time to take it all in.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Stayed here again in November of 2013. See my previous review from September of 2008. I return here because it is in a quiet area away from lots of activity, though many stores & restaurants just a short distance away. Very easy access to Hwy 26 to the north Oregon Coast; and Hwy 217 which connects I-5 to Hwy 26. On premises is the Mark Restaurant which serves a daily breakfast included in the price of the room. They also have a very nice dinner selection. There is also a separate complete bar, plus a "cigar lounge" if you're into that:) The outdoor pool & hot tub are nice features.
I noticed a previous reviewer had a concern for safety as the parking lots are not well lit. I'm an older single woman, and I've stayed here most of my life. It is right on a well-traveled road, but I've never felt unsafe or noticed strangers lurking around anywhere. If concerned, tell the staff when you make the reservation or call them directly. There are many rooms that are just a few steps away from the parking lots.

Room Tip: Room hint: My favorites are in the building just NORTH of the reception/restaurant area. Not much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fc646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn Hotel & Suites - Beaverton, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Dear fc646,
Thank you for your review and for being a valued Shilo guest. We sincerely appreciate your choosing Shilo Inns. Sincerely, G. Sorrels-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

The parking lot is large and is not lit with trees and bushes all around it. Then I had to walk for a bit to an outside door that is never locked, down a long poorly lit hallway to a keyed room with just a thumb lock (no electronic locks). The sliding door to the garden is locked with a plastic poll in the door sill. On the positive: good breakfast, nice people. As a woman traveling alone I'd never stay there again.

Room Tip: Apparently they do have some rooms with electronic locks. Ask for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dusty F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn Hotel & Suites - Beaverton, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Dear Dusty F,

Thank you for your review and for being a valued Shilo guest. I sincerely apologize that you did not feel safe and assure you that guest security is of utmost concern to us. I sincerely hope that you will allow us a future opportunity to earn your confidence. Sincerely, G. Sorrels-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times in the past. In general the service is very good, the people are friendly and they try to make all guests happy and comfortable. Recently I had made a reservation for just a one night stay (using one of the popular travel web sites like Orbitz, Travelocity, etc.) and found that when I arrived there was a mistake with the reservation. The only record available indicated that the reservation was for the night before. I was sure that was not the case. Long story short, the staff went out of their way to make sure I had a room worked out the date and rate issues behind the scenes, while I had a glass of wine in the bar. I appreciated the fact that mistakes happen, but, more importantly, good service to resolve problems and help a customer is what really matters. The hotel atmosphere is probably not for everyone, but I like the "old school" feel as long as it is clean, convenient, rates are reasonable and the people are friendly. Thanks for your help!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn Hotel & Suites - Beaverton, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Dear Michael S,

Thank you for your review and for choosing Shilo Inns. We appreciate your being our valued guest and look forward to serving you again in the future. Sincerely, G. Sorrels-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beaverton hotels
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Beaverton - Portland West
1.3 mi away
Peppertree Inn
Peppertree Inn
#8 of 12 in Beaverton
142 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Beaverton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland - Beaverton
5.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Portland - Beaverton - Eider Court
2.5 mi away
Courtyard Portland Beaverton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shilo Inn Hotel & Suites - Beaverton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shilo Inn Hotel & Suites - Beaverton

Address: 9900 SW Canyon Rd, Beaverton, OR 97225-2912
Location: United States > Oregon > Beaverton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Beaverton
Price Range: $82 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shilo Inn Hotel & Suites - Beaverton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shilo Inn Hotel & Suites - Portland/Beaverton is minutes from downtown Portland, off Highways 217 and 26. The exquisitely appointed 142 newly updated rooms and suites boast renewed ambiance and comfort and our proximity to Nike, Intel, Tektronix, Lincoln Center and Nimbus Business Park makes us the logical choice for business travelers. Children 17 and under always stay free with an adult at Shilo Inns. Dogs welcome with nominal fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Shilo Inn Hotel & Suites - Beaverton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Inn Hotel And Suites Portland / Beaverton
Shilo Inn Hotel Portland
Shilo Inn Portland
Portland Shilo Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing