We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Location in Old Town Bandon”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bandon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Star Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 9 Bandon B&B and Inns
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
115 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“The Best Location in Old Town Bandon”
Reviewed October 3, 2010

Pulled into Bandon looking for a place for the night while heading down the coast. We saw this place and while late in the day, we asked if they had a room and were fortunate there was one left. The house is right on the harbor street in "old town" Bandon, which has plenty of restaurants, coffee shops, etc. You are also just a 5 minute drive to a beach with magnificent rock formations.

The room itself was on the first floor, but set back far enough from the street that we were not disturbed, and the traffic is minimal anyway. Room was very clean, comfortable and nicely decorated, with the only oddity being the bathroom is down a couple of steps and does not have a bathtub (i.e. shower only). A small fridge and dining table is there also. While we spent only one night here, we'd love to come back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CashandCarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    27
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
11
43
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2010

Cute Little Inn very conveniently located in Old Town Bandon on the Harbor. Our hosts, Larry & Carol, couldn't have been nicer--they went above and beyond to make our vacation in Brandon a good one and we are very grateful to them. The Sea Star is a cozy comfortable place to stay and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DenverHikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2009

We stayed here for a week in September. Larry and Carol, who were managing the hotel, were very friendly and helpful. Right behind the hotel is a fantastic Italian restaurant called Alloro Wine Bar and Restaurant to which we went almost every evening. The hotel is right at the harbor in Old Town Bandon. We stayed in two rooms; one downstairs and one upstairs. The upstairs rooms are large, have plenty of light and a good view. The downstairs rooms were a little bit dark. The place is very clean but not fancy. For an extended stay, we would recommend the upstairs rooms.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnBarnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawaii
Level Contributor
43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2009

we stayed in a small 2nd floor room that was not much bigger than the bed. well furnished but very small. located on a main street fronting the harbor so some noise from passersby. good restaurant (wheelhouse) just steps away. and outstanding ocean views nearby.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seamountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Hill
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2009

I went for the day from Ashland- and hoped to find a place once in Bandon.I actually stayed in the dorm room for the night but loved getting up to the sun, boats, Bandon Coffee House so booked the Pent House for my birthday and the suite for a visit with my kids. I left and went South (where I usually stay) and though the fog is welcome on these hot days it was great to go back to "town", easy living-can walk everywhere and not spend more time in the car. Larry and Carol are great managers-the small accomodations and personal touches are definatly preferred by me to the large hotels.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gottagocoastal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbor Springs, Michigan
Level Contributor
411 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2009

My wife and I shared the penthouse suite at the Sea Star Guesthouse with our son and daughter-in-law for a very enjoyable weekend in the charming Southern Coast of Oregon town of Bandon.

The Guesthouse is in an ideal location, facing the harbor, and close to restaurants, coffee houses, and shops in Old Town.

It is very clean, with comfortable beds, a full service kitchen, a large flat panel TV and DVD player, with a generous supply of DVDs.

The manager, Larry, was most accommodating.

The only shortcoming was the dim lighting in the rooms. Most of the bulbs were fluorescents, but would have provided better lighting with a slightly higher wattage.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouBobHarborSprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2009

We called for a reservation and was quoted a price for a room in May. We were sent a confirmation via e-mail later that day. The confirmation indicated $37.00 more per nite without an explaination. When we called the same day Larry refused to honor the origonal price. His only explanation was that the prices went up?? Not the way to stay in business. Good luck Larry!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank photomanWyoming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bandon hotels
1.3 mi away
Sunset Oceanfront Lodging
1.9 mi away
Best Western Inn at Face Rock
1.0 mi away
Table Rock Motel
Table Rock Motel
#6 of 12 in Bandon
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lighthouse Cove Inn
Lighthouse Cove Inn
#7 of 12 in Bandon
79 reviews
2.0 mi away
Windermere on the Beach
0.1 mi away
Inn at Old Town
Inn at Old Town
#3 of 9 in Bandon
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Star Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Star Guesthouse

Property: Sea Star Guesthouse
Address: 370 1st St SE, Bandon, OR 97411-9657
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Bandon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Bandon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated inside and out, this cozy waterfront motel is nestled among downtown shops and restaurants. Rooms have all new furniture, mattresses, bedding, paint and carpet, plus micro/fridge, cable TV, and Seattle's Best coffee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea Star Guesthouse Hotel Bandon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing