We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Star Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bandon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Star Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 9 Bandon B&B and Inns
Netherlands
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

We stayed in this guesthouse in October. Our room was suite 3A, it has two queen beds and is located in the front of the building looking out over the boat basin. Too bad it was raining when we arrived. The view is wonderful and weather permitting you can sit on the porch a enjoy it.
The host were very welcoming. Our room was comfortable, clean, and well appointed with a mini fridge, microwave, WiFi, coffee, tea, cable. The beds were very comfortable.
Old Bandon is a very nice little town and diner at Alloro Wine Bar was unforgettable.
I would highly recommend this place to friends & family.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the guesthouse have a beautiful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DixieNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    27
    10
    4
    4
See reviews for
11
40
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

I try to start these reviews saying I'm a physician and my husband is an engineer. He likes clean and economical and I like a little "PFOOF" factor. Sometimes he wins and sometimes I win. With Sea Star it was kind of a win-win! We were in room #1 on the top floor. We were only there one night. The large room with loft could easily accommodate a family with a queen bed upstairs and 2 twins downstairs. The place is very clean. And although not fancy, the view from floor to ceiling windows is splendid...esp at sunset!
So this is a basic guesthouse with microwave and fridge right on the waterfront. It wasn't noisy except for the rooster next door (part of a petting zoo during the cranberry festival!) Shops and restaurants all around. A cute town, but one night is adequate to explore Bandon. The Mexican restaurant next door ("Fiesta") sucks, so avoid that. But the room I would definitely recommend! If you are there to golf, this would be an excellent stay for a group of buddies!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Masala1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernie, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

I booked this before the new owners took over and we were looking forward to our 1st visit to The Oregon Coast as a family. I now wished I had booked it for longer. We had the upper room with a spectacular view of the harbour. The town of Bandon was really pretty and we ate well and cheaply here. We were well situated for a trip to see the giant Redwoods in California and other attractions. I would highly recommend this place to anyone visiting southern Oregon and would really love to go back there for longer!
Oh the beds were soooo comfy too...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank revilolouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

My family and I stayed at The Sea Star in july and enjoyed it very much. It was very clean, great location, and the management was great.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patchex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitcat22
Level Contributor
105 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2011

My only complaint about this lovely guest house is that the walls are thin. I could hear the bathroom vent fan from my neighbors.
But they have the softest sheets I've found in a hotel for ages!!! I checked the labels to find that they are Egyptian cotton from Costco.
Nice staff.

Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Kitcat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2011

My boyfriend and I spent one fantastic evening in Bandon, staying at the Sea Star Guesthouse. The room was well appointed, and had everything you'd need for a comfortable stay. We stayed in one of the cheaper rooms at the back of the main building, but I'd highly recommend trying to book one of the more expensive rooms at the front, overlooking the harbour.
If you are a fan of fish, then you must pay a visit to Tony's Crab Shack - I'd recommend the fish tacos.
The Loft was also very pleasant, if you are after a more formal meal - this would be the best place to eat in Bandon.
Overall, a wonderful place to break your trip along the West Coast.

Room Tip: Book a room overlooking the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlotte81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

The rooms were clean, well appointed and the bed was extremely comfortable. Management was friendly, knowledgeable and very helpful. We would stay at this guesthouse again without any hesitation. Try it - you'll like it!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gigglingmermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandon
1.3 mi away
Sunset Oceanfront Lodging
1.0 mi away
Table Rock Motel
Table Rock Motel
#6 of 12 in Bandon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn at Face Rock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Plainview Motel & RV Park
19.5 mi away
Edgewater Inn
Edgewater Inn
#3 of 7 in Coos Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lighthouse Cove Inn
Lighthouse Cove Inn
#7 of 12 in Bandon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Star Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Star Guesthouse

Property: Sea Star Guesthouse
Address: 370 1st St SE, Bandon, OR 97411-9657
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Bandon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Bandon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated inside and out, this cozy waterfront motel is nestled among downtown shops and restaurants. Rooms have all new furniture, mattresses, bedding, paint and carpet, plus micro/fridge, cable TV, and Seattle's Best coffee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea Star Guesthouse Hotel Bandon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing