We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid if used to average hotel rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Shooting Star Motel
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Bandon
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Avoid if used to average hotel rooms”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

We were traveling late and stopped here late at night. The motel is in a good spot as it is right off the highway. The man greeted us an gave us a discounted rate of $55 with tax due to it being slow. He kept asking if there was anything he could do, and made alot of effort to make our stay enjoyable. When we got to our room, that's where good things ended. The room has a bad smell to it, like musty. The window in the bathroom was open allowin bugs in. The bed itself was hard but had clean sheets. The shower was extremely hard to figure out how to turn on and the employee was willing to come help us with this. Overall, I was not impressed with the room but gave it average reviews due to the location and service. The smell is overpowering!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dano9258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    13
    4
    4
    12
See reviews for
9
11
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

The owner is very friendly and has even stocked food items to purchase (since most places in town close by 9). Our room was very clean complete with a tv, wifi, refrigerator, and microwave, as well as extra towels in case the normal amount is not enough. The rooms are decorated better than most motels, and offer plenty of light. As weather may be a factor in this area, the rooms are connected to an over-hanging carport so you don't have to unload in the rain. The price is very reasonable as well, especially for what you get! Next time I'm coming through here, I will check Shooting Star for vacancy first.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PIT1pet2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

We have stayed here twice now and just love it. Very resonable price and a great room. The manager/owner is super friendly and goes out of his way to make you feel welcome. Rooms were very clean and everything works. Beds are super comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

Not new and flashy but clean, neat and very comfortable. The room was small but adequate and had all the amenities. The owner is super nice and helpful.
If your looking for new and fancy, this isn't it, but for the money it's great. Quiet, good parking and comfy.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BisbeesMarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

Comfy, clean, everything works, fast WIFI! Compact room, but everything has been cleverly fit in, incl a microwave & fridge. In-room coffee maker, yay! Shampoo and good soap, too. $75 total with tax for 2 people, 2 dogs on a Sat night in high season, unbelievable. Friendly, personable owner.

We loved it and would happily stay again. Recommend highly. And the motel sign is damn cool.

Yuppies beware, though. This ain't your kind of place. Go on down to the Old Town overpriced ocean view hotels with all the "amenities" and that little bistro down the block where people will recognize the labels on your spendy outdoor gear.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blue m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daphne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

The rooms were very small but cozy. We came to the area for my husbands job. short on time and even shorter on cash. The owner is a very pleasant man! He is a pet lover, did not bring my girls but he was great with everyone else's pet. Was always asking if we needed anything and was willing to offer help if we needed it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbie i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walla Walla, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2011

We rolled in late one night, needing a place to stay, and not only were the rooms well within our roadtrip budget but the nicest we had gotten on our week-long trip along the west coast. The staff was very helpful and kind, and everything was just generally delightful. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadtripperyea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandon
0.9 mi away
Sunset Oceanfront Lodging
1.0 mi away
Table Rock Motel
Table Rock Motel
#6 of 12 in Bandon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Inn at Face Rock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Plainview Motel & RV Park
21.1 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay
Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay
#2 of 7 in Coos Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
22.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Coos Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shooting Star Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shooting Star Motel

Property: Shooting Star Motel
Address: Hwy 101, Bandon, OR
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Bandon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Bandon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Shooting Star Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Shooting Star Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing