We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food!”

The Wheelhouse & Crowsnest
Ranked #13 of 54 Restaurants in Bandon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious food!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is one of the few places in Bandon open for a late dinner. We were nervous b/c of some of the reviews but it was hands-down the best food we had while we were there. I had the salmon with crab topping and oh my-it was delicious! The veggie medley was crisp and fresh with just enough seasoning. I really enjoyed the fresh bread and the clam chowder and my husband wolfed down his salad so it must have been good. My hubby also had the fish and chips which was great as well. Great service, food was served hot and promptly. Loved the low lighting and smallness of the place-very intimate environment.
The only reason this isn't a 5 star rating is the pricing but it was great for a special occasion and I believe our bill was around $50 for tip and all.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    136
    102
    30
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
74 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Average but still dependable.”
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Nothing special here. Food is good and reasonably priced, but it's just not mind blowing. Decor is dated.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Franklin22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurricane, Utah
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“WOW. Excellent food!”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I LOVE shrimp and my dinners (went twice) were the best I've had in a long time. Even the salad had nice touches. It had pineapple bits and little shrimp on it and the dressing was a tad sweet. The entree shimps were large and meaty with a nice beer batter coating. If I lived there, all of my dining out money would be spent there. My husband had fish and crab and said it was very, very good.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Travelingfools878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Rudest waitress EVER!!”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Wow, our waitress at the wheelhouse restaurant was the most unfriendly, rude, waitress I've ever had. She maybe said like 7 words to us the entire meal. The food was ok, but a little over priced for the quality. At the end of the meal we were headed out the door when the waitress had the audacity to stop me and ask if the amount that I left as a tip was correct! How freakin rude can you be!? I couldn't believe that she actually questioned her tip, I could have left nothing. I had to stop my husband from going back in and talking to her manager. We will NEVER go back there again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Vrede1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Albany, MS
Level Contributor
130 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our lunch at the Wheelhouse”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Just traveling through Bandon. What a cute town. Wish we could have stayed longer. Despite other reviews we just stopped in for lunch. Us girls just ate sandwiches, but they were delicious! Hubby ate chowder and it was great as well. Service was great and we would eat here again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wpdaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wheelhouse & Crowsnest also viewed

Bandon, Oregon Coast
 

Been to The Wheelhouse & Crowsnest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing