We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location”
Review of Bandon Beach Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bandon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bandon Beach Motel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Bandon
Certificate of Excellence
Boise, Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed two nights at Bandon Beach Motel in November 2013, while on a an intentionally unplanned trip. We'd seen the place on line, but pretty much stumbled to it after arriving in Bandon late in the afternoon. Chuck, the owner, showed us rooms he had available and we chose the "fireplace room". The view is nothing short of spectacular, and access to the beach is steps away from every room at the motel.

The room was very clean--the wood floors a welcome alternative to the usual questionable motel carpet. Accommodations were basic but complete, and well thought out, pleasant, and very comfortable. The service was exceptionally good. As a smoker, I appreciated that there was a designated smoking area that I assured I was comfortable, and that no other guest was made uncomfortable by anyone's smoking. Likewise, pet owners were accommodated graciously, and none of the rooms we saw seemed tainted by animal odor or other evidence of pets in residence.

My only criticism is minor. Our room had a laminated, two sided document stating rules and regulations for the Bandon Beach Motel. In contrast to the gracious personal welcome the owner gave us, the document was harsh and about as warm as the nun who rapped my knuckles with a ruler in 3rd grade. I suggest to the owners that the same messages--asking guests to be considerate of the property and one another--could be stated in a way that matches the respect we got at the front desk.

We will absolutely return to the Bandon Beach Motel and have already recommended it to other.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    176
    46
    16
    5
See reviews for
130
293
31
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Great location..just a short walk to the beach. Steps down are secure. A walking trail has spectacular ocean views without going down to the beach. Good views of stacks and water from some rooms. We stay in corner room when available. It has adequately equipped kitchen. Views of summer sunsets and winter storm watching. We love this place in all seasons. Rooms are clean and have been updated. Owner on site is very helpful and has lots of good tips and local knowledge.

Room Tip: Lighthouse tours at Cape Blanco. Check time of tours before you go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Bern K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FREMONT
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Loved our 4 day stay here.....things important to us are the three Cs...clean, comfy and convenient.

CLEAN: Extremely clean all around, including windows, new-like assortment of dishes and pans in well-stocked kitchenette

COMFY: Loved the mattress, soft, plush towels, textured sheets and soft blankets. Furnished with stove, fridge, sink, microwave, desk, chair, table, two armchairs, two queen beds. older furniture, but in very good condition and attractive to me, small patio with chairs with ocean view.

CONVENIENT: Couldn't ask for a better location right on Coquille Point with spectacular views to the north and south. Views vary from room to room, but the motel is literally a few yards from the full view in front. It is so convenient being right by the lovely cliff walk along Coquille Point where you can see way up and down the coast. In front of the motel are the steps down to the beach...there are a lot of steps, but easy going. This is the most beautiful part of the central Oregon Coast in my opinion. One added convenience was the parking, which was almost at the door of the room so easy for our loading and unloading.

Some rooms are pet friendly, which is a hard thing to find for such a great location.

Loved seeing the sunsets from our room as well as just outside the motel !!

This motel is not on 101, but rather on Beach Loop Drive where the spectacular views are. Many folks stay on 101 and miss this special part where there is so much beauty.

Other: nice TV with good reception, many channels and WiFi.

Motel is family owned and they will accommodate any special needs you have. For example, if you have any allergies to fabric softener, let them know ahead of time and your room will be prepared for you accordingly as it was for me.

Don't miss the fish and chips (or substitute cole slaw) at the Bandon Fish Market (the blue building on the wharf) if you are in town. Pizza is good at Tony's Pizza on Beach Loop Drive.

Our thanks to the owners for the TLC they give this place. We are already talking about returning in spring of 2014.

Room Tip: Get advice from motel staff as some rooms have more views than others....best views upstairs, althou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANNMARIESFREMONT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

This motel was a perfect location literally at the steps down to one of the most scenic beaches on the Oregon coast. The rooms were clean and spacious and the owners were warm and helpful. This part of the coast is considered to be the most photographed beach in Oregon. Nearby is a creamery called Face Rock Creamery, where you can buy locally made cheese

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robin512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Room was absolutely spotless and the view was a million-dollar one! Literally sits on the cliff overlooking the beach and has (we felt, on the next day), a MILLION steps down to the beach! Worth the sore leg muscles the next day - the tide was exceptionally low and we found clam-crusted rocks, caves to explore, seagulls to dodge, and - something we'd never seen - purple, orange and red starfish! Lots of beach to explore and wonderful soothing sound to fall asleep. Price was excellent. This small business hotel could use a bit of updating in décor, but we found absolutely nothing to complain about and thoroughly enjoyed our visit.

Room Tip: Views from all floors are of the ocean and/or beach and have a little porch out the "back door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, wa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Came in the early evening and Jeannie was wonderful, kind and accommodating! Absolutely beautiful location overlooking the ocean. Bandon was magical in mid October. The autumn lighting, the gorgeous sunsets were spectacular!

Room Tip: It didn't seem like there were any bad rooms as all three sides of the motel faced the ocean!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beth s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creswell, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I came for a three day weekend. We had no reservation and found this lovely place. The owner showed us three rooms at 3 prices. They were so nice!! The motel was close to old town and had a magnificent beach. We would definitely come again!!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SoFunML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandon
0.3 mi away
Sunset Oceanfront Lodging
1.3 mi away
Best Western Inn at Face Rock
21.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay
Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay
#2 of 7 in Coos Bay
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Plainview Motel & RV Park
20.4 mi away
Edgewater Inn
Edgewater Inn
#3 of 7 in Coos Bay
176 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lighthouse Cove Inn
Lighthouse Cove Inn
#6 of 12 in Bandon
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bandon Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bandon Beach Motel

Property: Bandon Beach Motel
Address: 1090 Portland Ave SW, Bandon, OR
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Bandon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bandon
#4 Family Hotel in Bandon
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bandon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bandon Beach Motel perches on the bluffs overlooking Coquille Point giving fabulous views of beautiful Bandon Beach in THREE directions. Corner rooms feature wrap around windows giving a breathtaking ocean-stay experience. Remodeled rooms have fireplaces, kitchens, patios, balconies, microwaves and fridges. The motel is pet friendly, kid friendly, and great for romantic getaways or family reunions. The Bruce clan welcomes you with genuine hospitality that will leave you feeling like part of the family. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bandon Beach Hotel Bandon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing