We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spring break”
Review of Bandon Beach Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bandon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bandon Beach Motel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Bandon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Your staying here for the view and access, not what the motel has to offer. The king suite was large but the bed was a full. Bathroom was really small. Beach was accessable from the hotel but it was a long walk with alot of stairs. Not handicap accessible. The view from the rooms were great but in the end the price was a little high for what you are getting.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aeridale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandonbeachmotel, Owner at Bandon Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2012

We are sorry that these folks had bad stay in Bandon. We feel concerned that people with handicaps will be discouraged from staying with us because of this review.

The stairs to the beach are forty feet away from the corner of the motel, not a long walk. There is a paved path running right by the motel that encircles the parameter of Coquille Point. There are three resting benches on this path in the three directions that face the ocean. The views from these lookout points are not to be equaled. We have guests that choose to stay with us because this path makes the ocean, if not the actual beach, accessible to the handicapped. There is also a path to the beach on the far side of the Point that isn’t as steep and has fewer steps. For three years in a row an adult foster care home in Medford brought their residents and staff to stay with us for three days at a time. You can find an excellent review from them on this site.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (547)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

430 - 436 of 547 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2012

Found this place on TripAdvisor, we needed a place to stay last minute. During check in there was only one person working and 3 people in line waiting to be checked in when we arrived. Check-in took a ridiculously long time. The room we stayed in was clean but smelled like a heavy smoker had been living in there. The shower unit needed to be replaced (damage/holes/chunks missing to the floor and near the drain). The smell in the room was so bad that we had to leave the window cracked all night long. The hotel staff obviously knew that the room smelled horrible because they had an automatic air-freshener in the room that sprayed about every 10 minutes (the cigarette smoke smell was so heavy that you couldn't smell the air freshener unless you stood right in front of it) - we would have packed up and left but we'd been traveling all day and were exhausted. The furniture in the room was very dated and the overall appearance of the hotel is that it needed some TLC. The hallways smelled musty/unclean. The TV, microwave, coffee maker, refrigerator and lamp were all plugged into a multi-plug extension cord. In order to use the coffee maker we had to un-plug the microwave or refrigerator. However, the view was INCREDIBLE and if this place had some clean-up, work and updates it would be awesome.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kimmielovestraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandonbeachmotel, Owner at Bandon Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2012

We are sorry for the bad stay these guests had at our motel. All of our rooms are nonsmoking. Unfortunately we had guests that smoked in this one room. Our housekeepers scrubbed everything in the room, including the cloth chairs, and we aired it for several days without renting it. That night it was the last room in the motel and we let these folks check out the room before they rented it. We shouldn’t have rented it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We stayed here for three nights in March during a very blustery and wet coastal storm. As a result, we spent more time in our room than normal. The best thing about the room, aside from the location on a bluff with a spectacular view of the ocean, was a large flatscreen TV which worked perfectly and offered a wide variety of channels.

The bed was extremely soft, and it squeaked whenever I turned over. The bathroom was miniscule. One complaint I had was that the housekeeper did not make the bed for us during the day. When we got back to our room we found the sheets and blanket carelessly pulled up and the pillows haphazardly stacked but the bed was not made.

The overall look of the motel in general was rundown, old, dated, and desperately in need of some TLC. For a place with such a wonderful location, they could do a lot better.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Worrygrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Ok, really the reason you stay here is the view. We stayed in room 206 and I really wouldn't have wanted any other room. Make no mistake, this is a motel and the smaller rooms I did see were very motel like. Our room had the corner windows which were incredible and an electric fireplace which gave off a ton of heat. Adequate bed, bath and fridge/micro wave area. Really, you just can't beat the price for this view. Overall clean rooms, outside pretty run down with broken railings but I keep going back to the location and that view. It looks to be family owned as the guy at the desk (very nice) appears in a large family picture in the lobby. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Room 206 is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ob23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

It was hard to leave this wonderful motel overlooking the Pacific Ocean. A memorable birthday for me, indeed. Perfect spot for photo-ops as well. Clean room ( #206) with all the necessary amenities and very friendly-warm owners (Chuck and Jeannie). This will be our hideaway place in Bandon and we look forward to our next visit.
Would highly recommend this motel to friends and family.

Room Tip: Upper floor with the ocean view, preferably room 206.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pinay51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

This motel is perched on a bluff looking out on the Pacific, located next to a wildlife refuge as well. The beach is accessed by a long flight of stairs. We found our room with kitchen to be large, comfortable, and clean. Great value for the money, we plan to return soon.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff-n-Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

We toured the North West of America in Sept 2011 and stayed in many different places but this by far was the most expensive. I can't complain too much as the view was spectacular and the room was spotless. On a bluff overlooking the beach we opened the windows during the night so that we could hear the waves.....Stunning.

Bandon Beach itself is quite small and limited on places to eat if you have a child with you (my daughter is 11). I wanted to eat at Tony's Crab Shack as Tripadvisor had highly recommended it, but my little girl got really upset over the idea of picking a live crab or lobster to eat so we had to find somewhere else!!! (Kids.......too sensitive.....I blame the parents!!). The beach is truly amazing and even though I got fed up with Sea Stacks towards the end of my trip (there are sooooo many) the ones here are gorgeous. I've got lovely photos to go with lovely memories.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sweetlittlepixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bandon hotels
0.3 mi away
Sunset Oceanfront Lodging
1.3 mi away
Best Western Inn at Face Rock
0.2 mi away
Table Rock Motel
Table Rock Motel
#7 of 12 in Bandon
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Lighthouse Cove Inn
Lighthouse Cove Inn
#5 of 12 in Bandon
119 reviews
1.3 mi away
Windermere on the Beach
0.9 mi away
La Kris Inn
La Kris Inn
#8 of 12 in Bandon
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bandon Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bandon Beach Motel

Address: 1090 Portland Ave SW, Bandon, OR
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Bandon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bandon
#4 Family Hotel in Bandon
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bandon
Price Range: $105 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bandon Beach Motel perches on the bluffs overlooking Coquille Point giving fabulous views of beautiful Bandon Beach in THREE directions. Corner rooms feature wrap around windows giving a breathtaking ocean-stay experience. Remodeled rooms have fireplaces, kitchens, patios, balconies, microwaves and fridges. The motel is pet friendly, kid friendly, and great for romantic getaways or family reunions. The Bruce clan welcomes you with genuine hospitality that will leave you feeling like part of the family. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bandon Beach Hotel Bandon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing