We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we could've stayed longer! So beautiful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Windermere on the Beach
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Bandon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2014

We stayed in room #20. Second floor room with a corner view looking out to sea. The room has a king size bed, and a gas fireplace with the controls right next to the bed. The bathroom is small, but we'll appointed. The whole establishment seems well run, and well maintained. The landscaping is colorful, well done. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room #20 is great for privacy, and a beautiful view of the dunes and ocean.
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pipercam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (652)
There are newer reviews for Windermere on the Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

374 - 380 of 652 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2014

We stumbled upon these properties on a road trip on the Oregon Coast. The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful, and although the location is outstanding the cottages are also wonderful. Spotlessly clean, well equipped, comfortable bed and private even when sitting outside for the amazing sunsets. Don't miss staying here!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank KathR51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

I was really surprised by this hotel. We had a two story cottage and it probably looks very similar to when it was first built. It's a little rustic but it was very quiet and comfortable. Our son had the room upstairs and loved the fact that he had his own little hideaway. He's also an avid gamer and raved about the wi-fi strength. The bathroom is pretty small but I appreciated the fact that I didn't have to do yoga positions to rinse my hair since the faucet is high enough on the wall (an issue that a lot of hotels seem to have). We only stayed one night but I really wish we could have stayed longer as it was so nice and relaxing. Maybe next time!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MBinSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We were on our 25th wedding anniversary trip through Washington, Oregon and Northern CA. This was by fair the best stop. Clean and charming - overlooking an amazing view of the ocean. The managers are very friendly and helpful. A great choice

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014

I have stayed at the Windermere many times over the last 20 years. Most recently I stayed in one of the pet friendly rooms with two beds. It's nothing fancy, but there have been improvements and updating since my last stay. The bathroom, while small, has a tub/shower and has been updated. The room has a flat screen tv and a good selection of satellite channels. There is a large picture window with a great ocean view, and another screened window. The room can get stuffy, but the office had a fan we could borrow.

There is a fridge coffee maker as well. Ice and soda available across the parking lot.

As I said, the rooms are not fancy, and summer rates are a little high, especially if you're paying a $25.00 pet fee as well. What you're really paying for so the view and the accessibility to the beach. There is a path through the dunes...no steps to navigate ... And a great beach to walk. They provide a hose at the top of the path to wash off the sand...a nice touch.

Don't expect luxury here, but do expect a great view and a comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are quieter. Expect to hear your upstairs neighbors if you're in a lower room.
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teri1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Location is excellent, but room was not particularly clean. No hair dryer. Had to ask for a fan because the one small window provided no circulation and the room was hot and stuffy. Old, scratchy blankets on bed and small uncomfortable pillows. Worst of all my dog got fleas from the room! Nice view and trail to a lovely beach, though.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisitWindermere, Manager at Windermere on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment. I'm sorry you did not find your room to be up to our standards. As you can see we receive many comments on how clean our rooms are. If a room is not to your liking for any reason, please see management immediately so that we have the opportunity to correct the situation. We live on site and are available at any time to address your needs. We hope you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We spent two nights in an upper suite, and found it to be very accommodating and relaxing. They have thought of everything you need to make your stay comfortable and convenient. We had a lovely ocean view in one of the newer units behind the manager's office. It did look into the adjoining unit, so we had to keep the shade closed by the dining table.

We had one issue with the volume on the TV not working, and the manager was not available in the evening, so I reported it the next morning. By early afternoon, he showed up with a new TV and promptly got it working. The grounds are beautifully kept, and there is a dog area (although we don't have a dog.)

This hotel is South of the downtown Bandon area. It is quiet and just a couple of miles from the heart of Bandon -- a quick drive.

Room Tip: All rooms have an ocean view. We requested the deluxe suite on the second floor and got a nice unit...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandon
1.0 mi away
Sunset Oceanfront Lodging
0.0 mi away
Best Western Inn at Face Rock
1.4 mi away
Table Rock Motel
Table Rock Motel
#7 of 12 in Bandon
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay
Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay
#2 of 7 in Coos Bay
593 reviews
19.5 mi away
Plainview Motel & RV Park
1.9 mi away
Lighthouse Cove Inn
Lighthouse Cove Inn
#5 of 12 in Bandon
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windermere on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windermere on the Beach

Address: 3250 Beach Loop Dr SW, Bandon, OR 97411-8808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Bandon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bandon
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bandon
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bandon
#1 Family Hotel in Bandon
Price Range: $107 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every room at the Windermere has an unobstructed view of the spectacular ocean along Bandon's coastline. 25 secluded and private units, some with fireplaces, kitchenettes,and decks - perfect for family vacations. All rooms have free WiFi. Pet friendly rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Windermere on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windermere Motel On The Beach Hotel Bandon
Windermere Hotel Bandon
Windermere Motel Bandon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing