We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we had stayed here longer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Windermere on the Beach
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Bandon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Since we had booked our trip down the coast in advance (height of summer, figured we had to for oceanfront locations), we did not have the flexibility to spend more than one night here. This was definitely one of the nicest places we stayed on the coast, and definitely the best equipped. The one-room cottage was spacious and the kitchenette - with a two- burner cooktop and combination microwave/convection oven - allowed us to do more cooking than was possible in other hotel-type accommodations. The chairs were comfortable for reading or watching the ocean. They do a great job maintaining a path through the dunes to the beach and it was a really interesting beach for walking and exploring. We were there a few days after a storm and lots of purple sailors (a small, blue variety of jellyfish) were on the beach, apparently not a common occurrence. The staff were friendly and helpful. If we are in Bandon again, we will definitely stay here. The only negative for us is that we were on the second floor and they do not have elevators; would have been worth asking them about in advance.

Room Tip: Views from second floor Are worth it as long as you are okay without an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (675)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

404 - 410 of 675 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2014

This excellent motel was built in the mid-thirties and retains the classic charm of the original design. If you need marble countertops and last week's fabric colors from Paris, then book a place in New York City. If you like the charm of expansive views of the Pacific and clean comfortable rooms, you can't do better than this property. I have been staying here for decades and will keep coming back.

Room Tip: The motel has both an original section and newer rooms. Talk to the management about your needs and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Scrooge06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

This was a spontaneous trip for me to the Southern Oregon Coast. As a native Oregonian, I had never been to Bandon or farther south and wanted to explore this area for a few days. I spent 2 nights in one of the smaller Windermere cottages and could not have been happier. The room was perfectly set up with 2 comfortable Queen beds, microwave and small refrigerator. I did not have a quiet patio facing the beach with this room but had 2 chairs and a small table that were in my room's little alcove facing the beach on the grass which made a perfect place to enjoy a beautiful sunset, listening to the ocean waves and eating fish and chips. There is a short walk to the beach and from there the possibilities are endless. I walked for miles on the beach and found it to be very quiet. The Windermere staff was very helpful, although I didn't need any assistance. The Windermere cottages are well maintained with care. Although I had to return home, my heart is still right on my new favorite beach spot, Windermere on the Beach!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MarShell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We spent 2 nights in one of the family cottages. It was roomy and clean. The view is breathtaking and the beach just a few steps away. There was a seagull welcoming us and accompanying our stay. We named him Egon, the handsome seagull!
We didn't see much of the staff but there was nothing we missed. We had two beautyful and relaxed days.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
Thank Tanja B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Our large extended family used four family cottages and one Queen with kitchenette during the week of July 7 - 14, 2014. It was a perfect location with an easily accessible path to the fantastic beach adjacent to the property - no busy roads to cross. Each room has a spectacular ocean view, the staff is friendly, the rooms were clean and kitchenette adequately stocked. All of us - young and old - enjoyed every minute of our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 1234Martha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Stayed for 3 wonderfully quiet nights with a most gorgeous Ocean View & a short stroll to the Beach! Their King room with kitchenette allowed us to Cocoon one day when it rained, which was just what the doctor ordered! The drive into town is only 5 mins.& walking in the neighborhood is enjoyable too. One day we saw three does & 2 fawns! The staff is very friendly & accomodating.
You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CaliforniaLynnie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Just back from 3 nights here. Stayed in unit 4 - pet friendly family cottage. Loved this place. Was so cute & quaint but also enough space for all of us. (My 8 yr old twins had the loft upstairs with its 2 separate beds & we had the queen downstairs) kitchen was well stocked with plates etc. no dishwasher but the cleaner washed our breakfast dishes for us everyday. The clean cottages are nice but it is the view that is really something. Gorgeous views right from your suite & patio. Short walk & you are right at the beach. My kids had fun exploring the dunes & caves. We also enjoyed beach fires in the evenings. Old town bandon is a 10 min car ride away. Check in check out was easy & pleasant. Loved that we could take our pet who also enjoyed the beach. Just so you know the stairs to the loft was a little narrow in case you have little ones. The bathroom was also a little small but for us was fine. We were not disappointed. Rates were also very reasonable. Would definately recommend this place & stay again.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view. Recommend a room with a patio in warmer months
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandon
0 mi away
Best Western Inn at Face Rock
1 mi away
Sunset Oceanfront Lodging
1.4 mi away
Table Rock Motel
Table Rock Motel
#7 of 12 in Bandon
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay
Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay
#2 of 7 in Coos Bay
599 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lighthouse Cove Inn
Lighthouse Cove Inn
#5 of 12 in Bandon
123 reviews
2.4 mi away
Lamplighter Inn
Lamplighter Inn
#10 of 12 in Bandon
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windermere on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windermere on the Beach

Address: 3250 Beach Loop Dr SW, Bandon, OR 97411-8808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Bandon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bandon
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bandon
#1 Family Hotel in Bandon
Price Range: $108 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every room at the Windermere has an unobstructed view of the spectacular ocean along Bandon's coastline. 25 secluded and private units, some with fireplaces, kitchenettes,and decks - perfect for family vacations. All rooms have free WiFi. Pet friendly rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Windermere on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windermere Motel On The Beach Hotel Bandon
Windermere Hotel Bandon
Windermere Motel Bandon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing