We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All around incredible experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Windermere on the Beach
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Bandon
Certificate of Excellence
Roseburg, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“All around incredible experience!”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Our needed get-away turned into a celebration as we set out to the Windermere. The immaculate yet very cozy accommodations were perfect and exceeded all of our expectations. Even the staff exuded a warmth and welcome like that of old friends that one has just met. I'm certain that our concierge had something to do with the beautiful weather as well. The location of the buildings amplified the symphony of the waves with a panoramic view that couldn't have been better. As Arnold says, "I'll be back!" Thursday, #24.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawrence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisitWindermere, Manager at Windermere on the Beach, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for the fantastic review! I would love to take credit for the amazing weather here, but rain or shine the Windermere is a great place to take it all in! Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    167
    45
    10
    8
See reviews for
205
310
29
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Talent, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Yeah I said it. If you stay anywhere else it might be ok, but it might not be. The Windermere will be good. There are lots of hotel on the Southern Oregon coast that promise to be "on the beach" and while they're close they aren't really "on the beach" but instead a quarter mile walk. The Windermere is truly on the beach.

Very nice rooms, all with great beach views. You could show up here and not leave the hotel and beach area and it would make a wonderful vacation. Clean rooms with satellite TV.

Friendly helpful staff that gladly gives recommendations (and good ones too).

As a side note my GPS directed me to turn RIGHT at the T-intersection to reach the Windermere. The correct direction is to go left. There is a handy giant sign at the intersection but this doesn't help when it's dark out. So turn left.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisitWindermere, Manager at Windermere on the Beach, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
You're right! We are truly on the beach, with all of our rooms having fantastic views! We're happy you enjoyed the Windermere and our recommendations! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gasquet
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We live just 100 miles southeast of the Windermere. We live inland, it's been Windy!!, and the weather on the Pacific beach has been Wonderful warm! so, we decided to head north, up the coast. We chose the Windermere in Bandon because it is dog friendly, and could not have been happier with the choice!!
We stayed in a "Traditional Room".. It feels like a little cottage...beautiful old wood trim around the doors and windows ..really nice!!!...the easy chairs are "outdated" and the bedspread was "dark". With these two items updated...this would be one Sweet room!... On the plus side... There is not one cobweb one! {and I don't mind spiders} The bath is small, but very clean and the shower insert new. The flatware, tableware and pots n pans are supplied, clean, new and Usable! Perfect amount, and perfect wine glasses......The little place just grows on you!

The dunes and the beach are right outside your door!! There is not a "bad" room here. They all do face the beach.
Bottom line. We travel with our well socialized dogs. This place is Perfect! Access to the miles of beach was right out our back door. The dogs ran for days. {and, it was a beach that was OK for dogs!} We met a few other dogs. No prob.

The sunset and AM moonsets were unbelievable:)

I cannot imagine that we will not return here.
It is the perfect drive for a weekend get a way for us, and it was Perfect for our Dog family!!
We encourage anyone from Del Norte. or Humboldt Counties, CA, to enjoy this lil gem
.
Ironically, we spent A Lot of time at the Bandon Marsh Nat. Wildlife Refuge(NWR), Ni-les'tun Unit, Coquille Pointe Unit, and Oregon Islands NWR. None which allow dogs for good reason. Best birding. Birds nesting. Dogs get over it.

But, when we got home to the Windemere, the dogs could run free on the beach. The Best!!

enjoy

Room Tip: The "deluxe rooms" are the new additions on either end of the property. All rooms, "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zerverovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisitWindermere, Manager at Windermere on the Beach, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for the review! We love dogs here at the Windermere! This winter we have purchased a lot of new furniture, and chairs were on the list! We hope you can return soon with your canine friends!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

This year, for my mother's 90th birthday, we stayed in Bandon at the Windermere to celebrate.

She and my father brought me to Bandon and the Windermere for the first time in April, 1951 when I was just turning 2 years old. Thereafter, we visited Bandon about once a year while I was growing up, typically staying at the Windermere two nights each summer. I carried the tradition of visiting Bandon and staying at the Windermere into adulthood, visiting most years alone or accompanied by friends or family members.

For visitors new to the Windermere and/or Bandon, the Windermere is a lovely place to stay. There are ocean views from every unit, ready access to the beach, ocean sounds at night (and windows you can open to hear it), and generally its quiet, clean, and the staff, helpful. For the ambitious walker, you can walk to Old Town and back, mostly along the beach. Mother and I got as far as Face Rock before we headed up the stairs there (yes, she made it) and then walked on the Beach Loop back to the Windermere (about .8 miles back).

Mother and I stayed in Number 1, the updated family cottage. This unit was remodeled several years ago. What I liked best about it was the redone stairway. Not only is the steepness of the stairs reduced and the stairs carpeted but the squeakiness is also missing, now. The rest? New curtains, new trim (kitchen counter, sink, faucet, etc.), a king bed downstairs (the shelving removed between the kitchen and bed), new fixtures in the bathroom, more electrical outlets (just guessing on this one) and two flat screen TVs were other changes. All-in-all, it still feels like the older styled cottages but with a fresher look and much improved stairway.

On a more critical note, the TV upstairs did not seem to have the same array of channels as the one downstairs. (Admittedly, I am not an expert on cable TV as I never purchase it!) I wanted to watch a PBS mystery -- could find it on the TV downstairs but not on the one upstairs. Nor could I find channels for NBC, CBS, ABC on the TV upstairs. And it seemed colder upstairs to me -- Could be the wall heater is placed in a different location in this updated unit than the older cottage units and the warmer air does not circulate upstairs as well -- just guessing on this.

For those new to Bandon, it is a wonderful place to visit. First, the beaches are beautiful and clean because of the mission of "Washed Ashore" -- a nonprofit that creates art out of trash (plastic) washed up on the beaches. Collect any plastic you might find on your beach walk and take it to Washed Ashore (325 2'nd Ave) to recycle. Second, I like to tell others that no visitor starves in Bandon. Head for the Face Rock Creamery for free cheese samples and to Cranberry Sweets & More to sample the candy. Third, Bandon appears to be well-loved and cared for by its community members and supporters. For example, Old Town Bandon Harbor is a creation from the community containing sculptured sea creatures and benches, a glass shelter for picnics and viewing on stormy days, and memorial pathways. I enjoy the shops, here as well, have favorites I always visit, and support the ones I like best by making yearly purchases! Finally, Nature has been good to Bandon -- its beaches, parks, the sunsets and sunrises. And, if you like golf, yes, there is a world class golf course, now!

So, visit Bandon and stay at the Windermere. You can't go wrong.

Room Tip: All rooms (units) have ocean views. When staying with others, I like the family cottages. When stayi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suni14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisitWindermere, Manager at Windermere on the Beach, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for the review! #1 is a really nice room! The stairs are a nice addition. How wonderful to have a childhood retreat to return to. The Windermere is a special place. We hope to see you and your mother again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otis, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Nice Clean Room with Great View, Just a bit cold and drafty, heater barely kept up. Lots of Hot water and nicely equipped kitchen.

Also Good TV service! Friendly staff and easy parking. PET friendly!!

Room Tip: All good~!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brianr1074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisitWindermere, Manager at Windermere on the Beach, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
We are so happy you loved the view and the clean room! I'm sorry your room was drafty. If you have time and could drop us a line with what room you were in, we will definitely check it out. Our heaters work really well. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, Texas
1 review
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We spent New Year's eve and New Year's night here. Best of our trip. The fireplace room is warm and cozy. View of the beach is spectacular. Hotel sits on the edge of the beach perfect for strolls on the beach. Beautiful sunsets. Very accommodating management. They rearranged their maintenance work so that we could stay another night in the same room. Wish we could come back for a week.

Room Tip: The fireplace room is worth the money; views are the same from all rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacque322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisitWindermere, Manager at Windermere on the Beach, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
We are thrilled you enjoyed yourselves and were able to ring in the New Year with us!! We did have spectacular sunsets for the Holiday! When you get too hot in Texas, come on over for a visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BALTIMORE
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I have been staying here off and on for years. It is right on the beach. Great views from most rooms. I am guessing it was built in the 60's, but the rooms have been upgraded with flat screens good wifi, fridges, and microwaves. Unless you really need top drawer luxury, this is the place to stay in Bandon.

Room Tip: If traveling solo, room 11 is a good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WALTER S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisitWindermere, Manager at Windermere on the Beach, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for your review! The Windermere was built in 1936! I'd say they look fantastic! Especially since we are right on the water. We hope to see you soon, as we have made several upgrades in the last month!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandon
1.0 mi away
Sunset Oceanfront Lodging
0.0 mi away
Best Western Inn at Face Rock
22.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay
Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay
#2 of 7 in Coos Bay
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Plainview Motel & RV Park
21.4 mi away
Edgewater Inn
Edgewater Inn
#3 of 7 in Coos Bay
176 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lighthouse Cove Inn
Lighthouse Cove Inn
#6 of 12 in Bandon
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windermere on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windermere on the Beach

Property: Windermere on the Beach
Address: 3250 Beach Loop Dr SW, Bandon, OR 97411-8808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Bandon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bandon
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bandon
#1 Family Hotel in Bandon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every room at the Windermere has an unobstructed view of the spectacular ocean along Bandon's coastline. 25 secluded and private units, some with fireplaces, kitchenettes,and decks - perfect for family vacations. All rooms have free WiFi. Pet friendly rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Windermere on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windermere Motel On The Beach Hotel Bandon
Windermere Hotel Bandon
Windermere Motel Bandon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing