We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gave away our PAID room--had to sleep in the car with 2 small kids! NEVER BOOK HERE! COWARDS WOULDN'T EVEN ANSWER THE PHONE!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Windermere on the Beach
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Bandon
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Gave away our PAID room--had to sleep in the car with 2 small kids! NEVER BOOK HERE! COWARDS WOULDN'T EVEN ANSWER THE PHONE!”
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Left us and our 2 small children without a room in the middle of nowhere. Yes, we had a confirmed reservation. Cowards wouldn't even come to the door--clearly they had given our room away. NEVER BOOK HERE unless you like sleeping in your car.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Debadele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisitWindermere, Manager at Windermere on the Beach, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
I am sorry that you had this unfortunate experience with the Windermere. We did in fact call you at 8:15 pm the night of your reservation to confirm with you and to tell you how to access your key as our office closes at 9pm. There was no answer at the cell phone number you left with us so we left a message. At that point you had called the day before trying to cancel your reservation. We did not hear back from you. We NEVER ran any charges on your credit card or rented out that room. You arrived at 2:40 am according to your phone message. We did not answer because our office was closed. First thing the next morning after getting your message I called the number you left and left a message apologizing and offering you a room at no charge. You never responded to my phone call. Again, I am sorry you had this negative experience with us, as our goal is always positive, pleasant and prompt customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    162
    42
    8
    7
See reviews for
189
294
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cypress, Texas
Level Contributor
179 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We loved the location of this cozy place! The owner checking us in was very helpful, asking our plans for the evening and then helping us with a reservation after she recommended a great restaurant. Made it easy on us! Then we saw our room....and even though it's of the old style cabin-on-the-beach look, it was perfect for the area! It's charming in a way that worked for us. If you want fancy, upscale digs, don't expect it here.

There is a small kitchen with a sliding door onto our own little deck, including a bench and chairs, which all looks out on the gorgeous beach! We were in love with the view! We enjoyed the view, hurried to dinner, and made it back to our room for sunset which we didn't want to miss from our deck!

There was a small bathroom on the bottom floor which was fine for us. If you have as many as six in the room, which the beds hold, it might be a bit tight. It was clean and had what you need.

About Bandon itself, really nice! Because it's so far south, it doesn't have the multitudes of tourists we saw farther north. The town is cute, has several places to eat, shop, and view. The beach and ocean have beautiful rocks in the water and worth the trek south to see!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisitWindermere, Manager at Windermere on the Beach, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to comment! You're right, every day here on the beach reveals something new! The Washed Ashore Project is an amazing addition to our wonderful community!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
145 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We got the family room which was two stories, kids slept upstairs. Decent size kitchen with all the necessities. Everything was clean, clean, clean. Sliding glass doors onto the deck which looks out onto the beach. Beautiful! Owners were very helpful with info on the 4th of July fireworks, when to head down, where to hang out while waiting. Gave us the heads up about Washedashore.com, this very cool non-profit in Bandon that makes crafts out of sea trash. We volunteered for an hour making a starfish out of plastic trash. A unique memory. The walk to the beach is short, the walk to the impressive rocks a little longer. If you are lazy you can get in your car and drive North to the viewpoint (about 2 minutes). Loved, loved, loved this beach. The rocks and caves were amazing. Each time of day revealed something a little bit different.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LabsRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We had a very nice stay. Family friendly. Staff was very nice. Room has lots of big windows and the view was amazing! Great coastal access, we loved looking at the tide pools and caves in the big rock formations.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Momhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisitWindermere, Manager at Windermere on the Beach, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thanks for your comments, I'm so happy you enjoyed the caves and tide pools! It's fun to see the different sea creatures!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eads, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

First visit was with my husband in 2009 on a motorcycle trip and on my return visit to the Pacific coast made Bandon one of our destinations...mainly because of the views from the property and quaintness. While traveling for a number of days it was comforting to stay somewhere that gave you the feeling of home.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cjb1418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisitWindermere, Manager at Windermere on the Beach, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
I love the title of your comment, Beauty and the Basics! We are happy the Windermere can be your home away from home! We hope you visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

When we first arrived I was disappointed with our "overly quaint" upstairs room. It had a beautiful view and was exceptionally clean, but the Queen size bed was very small and smokers staying in the room downstairs second-hand smoke made us miserable. We finally gave in and complained and the staff couldn't have been kinder in moving us to another room.
The ADA fireplace room at the end of the complex is pure delight, especially if you're traveling with pets as we were! A lovely room and it suited us perfectly.
The owners are exceptionally kind and professional, even offering to pack and ship the items we left behind when we checked out.
I knew this was an older property, but I've gotten spoiled, I must admit. So if your standards are high, ask for one of the more modern rooms and I'm sure you'll be pleased. We will return!

Room Tip: Some rooms are very old fashioned. If you are choosy, ask for a more modern room in advance - it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mystralle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisitWindermere, Manager at Windermere on the Beach, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Hello, I am happy we were able to move you to a room that were so happy with. The Traditional rooms are our most popular, but are not for everyone! The King Deluxe Rooms definitely give you more luxury! We hope you and your pet can visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snoqualmie, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stumbled upon Windermere on the Beach while on a family trip down the coast. We fell in love with our little room overlooking the ocean. It had wonderful charm and tempted us to stay for a second day. The view of the ocean/beach was beautiful. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MayFolks5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisitWindermere, Manager at Windermere on the Beach, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thanks for your comment! Try us in the winter for some storm watching! The traditional rooms are fabulous for spending the day just watching the power of the Pacific!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandon
0.0 mi away
Best Western Inn at Face Rock
1.0 mi away
Sunset Oceanfront Lodging
1.4 mi away
Table Rock Motel
Table Rock Motel
#6 of 12 in Bandon
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Plainview Motel & RV Park
21.4 mi away
Edgewater Inn
Edgewater Inn
#3 of 7 in Coos Bay
172 reviews
22.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay
Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay
#2 of 7 in Coos Bay
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windermere on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windermere on the Beach

Property: Windermere on the Beach
Address: 3250 Beach Loop Dr SW, Bandon, OR 97411-8808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Bandon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bandon
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bandon
#1 Family Hotel in Bandon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every room at the Windermere has an unobstructed view of the spectacular ocean along Bandon's coastline. 25 secluded and private units, some with fireplaces, kitchenettes,and decks - perfect for family vacations. All rooms have free WiFi. Pet friendly rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Windermere on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windermere Motel On The Beach Hotel Bandon
Windermere Hotel Bandon
Windermere Motel Bandon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing