We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whale watch and beach walks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Windermere on the Beach
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Bandon
Certificate of Excellence
Eugene, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Whale watch and beach walks”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Had a second floor room. No deck there but big window and great view. The beach access was near, as was a whale watching site which we walked to. The room was clean, comfortable and quaint. Very nice. The price was reasonable and everyone working there was friendly and helpful. It all made for a great few days on the ocean. Also saw whales.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice, though I would try for one with a deck, or a lower level on with a walk-out next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    167
    45
    10
    8
See reviews for
205
310
29
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
518 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

You can't beat the view of the beach from your room. The room has a tiny tiny bathroom. There is a small kitchen with a stove, frig & microwave. A full bed not a queen, which we are used to. The room reminded my wife of a Motel 6 we stayed at once a long long time ago. Way overpriced for the outdated room. If your coming for the view then it's a 5 star. If you like just a touch of luxury, it's a 3.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank StevenHScher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisitWindermere, Manager at Windermere on the Beach, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Hi, we are happy you enjoyed the view. We do offer King Deluxe Rooms with large bathrooms, fireplaces and decks or patios. We hope you will give one of those a try the next time! The Traditional Cottages were built in 1936!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

This is such a wonderful place to stay. So cute and cozy with fabulous views! Check-in experience was great with helpful and friendly staff. Highly recommended for families or couples. Wished we stayed longer. We will be back :)

Room Tip: Short walk to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We were expecting better from the reviews we had read. The room was clean but "rustic" as my husband would say -- the furniture was older, the bed ok but a little hard, the bathroom small. The kitchenette was fine and well stocked with equipment & dishes, with a nice table in front of the large window looking out to the ocean. Only a few minutes after arriving, the knob on the bathroom door fell off (!) and that seemed to sum up the room for us. On the good side, the ocean access is fantastic, an easy walk to a wonderful beach. There are restaurants nearby (one across the street) which we didn't try but went into town for dinners. We stayed for 2 nights but won't be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthwestTravel13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garbervil
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I like to find a favorite homey place in a town I come back to, and Windermere has been it for a while on my way from San Francisco to Hood River. Old fashioned in the best way. Walk straight out onto the bluff with a path to the beach walk. Sit and stare into the middle distance facing a fabulous ocean view with no barriers. Very functional kitchen, back-friendly bed, and easy to get a two level place, great for the fam. Sure, if you want to pay an extra $50-$100 bucks to stay where all the faux trim makes your teeth squeak, be my guest. I'd rather spend it on a great dinner in town. Word to the wise on folks not familiar with Oregon coast; the pretty part is at the lower end, ending maybe at Florence. Too far north and it gets overbuilt. Bandon is perfect if you like gorgeous, low key and relaxing. Drive around the beach drive, your jaw will hit your sneakers. And oh by the way, if you prefer staring at your electronics rather than the view, you might be frustrated. (I guess I'm getting sarcastic because it seemed maybe the disgruntled portion of reviewers were missing a great opportunity for an actual "getaway.")

Room Tip: Ground floor (or a two-level) gives you a little deck going straight out to the grass, then bluff, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karenl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Our room was quite comfortable and the view was lovely. there is a walkway to the beach. The staff (owner) was helpful and friendly and the room was clean as a whistle with a nice flat screen TV and lots of direct TV channels. The only drawback was the tiny bathroom with a child-size toilet which did irk my husband with his long legs. All in all would stay here again for the view!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lilypond1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Alberni, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We only stayed one night but would have stayed longer if time permitted. Our room (25) was an end unit on the ground floor with a great ocean view and easy beach access. King size bed, fireplace, kitchenette; very cozy. Had a good dinner across the street at the Best Western.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Landcruiser78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandon
1.0 mi away
Sunset Oceanfront Lodging
0.0 mi away
Best Western Inn at Face Rock
22.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay
Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay
#2 of 7 in Coos Bay
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Plainview Motel & RV Park
21.4 mi away
Edgewater Inn
Edgewater Inn
#3 of 7 in Coos Bay
176 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lighthouse Cove Inn
Lighthouse Cove Inn
#5 of 12 in Bandon
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windermere on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windermere on the Beach

Property: Windermere on the Beach
Address: 3250 Beach Loop Dr SW, Bandon, OR 97411-8808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Bandon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bandon
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bandon
#1 Family Hotel in Bandon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every room at the Windermere has an unobstructed view of the spectacular ocean along Bandon's coastline. 25 secluded and private units, some with fireplaces, kitchenettes,and decks - perfect for family vacations. All rooms have free WiFi. Pet friendly rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Windermere on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windermere Motel On The Beach Hotel Bandon
Windermere Hotel Bandon
Windermere Motel Bandon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing