We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy place on the coast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Windermere on the Beach
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Bandon
Certificate of Excellence
Coos Bay, Oregon
Level Contributor
85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Cozy place on the coast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Now that we no longer live locally we have spent a few weekends in hotels in the Bandon area trying different lodgings. The Windermere is in a great location with a wonderful view and all the amenities we needed in a small, cozy older cottage-style room. We even had a kitchenette with all the bare necessities for cooking meals, making a pot of coffee, and relaxing while we watched the winter storms. The price for the location, view, and kitchenette was excellent. The walls are a little thin and our downstairs neighbors were a group of teens who were up late into the night, but overall we had a decent night's sleep. Would definitely stay again. If you are looking for simple, cozy, great view right on the beach with the option for kitchen then this is a good option. If you are looking for luxury, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skeslack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisitWindermere, Manager at Windermere on the Beach, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for your review. The room you stayed in is the best room for storm watching! It's fun to sit at the kitchen table with a hot drink and watch the power of the Pacific! We hope you return again! Keep in mind that we do offer a King Deluxe Room that has a fireplace and balcony.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    157
    41
    8
    7
See reviews for
183
280
28
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Found this motel while driving the scenic loop in Bandon. Rented the remaining queen room from the very friendly staff (owners??), which was above the office. It has it's own fairly large balcony with a gorgeous view to the ocean and a walkway that brings you right to the beach. The room had lots of amenities (big coffee pot, toaster, micro, fridge, dishes, satellite tv).. My only suggestions would be to add a power bar or another plug in, as trying to make coffee and toast in the morning required the coffee pot to be on one night table and the toaster on the other, even though we had a kitchen counter.
Bed was a bit hard for my liking as well, but the rest of our room was pretty much brand new. Would definitely return or recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisitWindermere, Manager at Windermere on the Beach, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for your review. We greatly appreciate the suggestions our guests make. We have already put your suggestions into action by putting in a power strip and adding a nice egg-crate cushion on the bed! We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Best place to stay if you are traveling with pets. Easy access to sandy beach. Fully stocked kitchens. Great hosts. Beautiful ocean views. Nice deck with chairs to enjoy the gorgeous sunset.
Quick access to downtown Bandon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rnmbryant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisitWindermere, Manager at Windermere on the Beach, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for your review. The Windermere is a great place to bring your pet. Our pet friendly rooms are very clean and the dogs love our path! It's a great joy to see them hit the beach from the end of the path and run freely! We hope you can visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman MT
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Windermere walking along the beach each evening, exploring tidal pools at low tide, hearing the surf at night. VERY friendly and helpful to us as it was our first trip. I do look forward to returning to the Oregon coast and we already plan that this will be our central location for exploring the area. The town of Bandon is nearby and charming. Thank you to the Windermere staff!

Room Tip: Every room seaside so you can't go wrong! Great prices in the "off-season" Very affo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KariLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisitWindermere, Manager at Windermere on the Beach, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
March was a truly beautiful month on the Coast, showcasing all the beauty it has to offer. We are so happy you were able to enjoy the low evening tides! There were plenty of starfish to see! We look forward to your return visit to explore this one of a kind area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Clean, nicely updated, homey, comfortable, charming accommodations with a flavor from the 1940s-50. Fabulous location on South Oregon Coast dunes, set back from the beach, easy access on sand path through the grassy dunes to wide beach miles longs. Incredible sunset-watching from the porch or kitchen table, whales spouting, Northern Harrier and Cooper's Hawk soaring over the grassy dunes. Dog-friendly rooms a real plus. Managers helpful and friendly and taking great care of the place. Will come back next time I need a retreat/peace/nature!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elise1682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisitWindermere, Manager at Windermere on the Beach, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience at the Windermere. We think it 's a pretty special place! We hope you return again soon to enjoy our property and the amazing location!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

I stayed at the Windermere for a recent weekend and as always it was great. I've been a visitor to the Windermere for 43 years. We continue to enjoy the rooms, awesome access to the beach, nearby and easy access to town, friendly people (workers and visitors) and the best sand on the west coast. I thank everyone at the Windermere for making my wife's birthday weekend so great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kirk M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisitWindermere, Manager at Windermere on the Beach, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
We are so happy you and your family had a wonderful weekend stay! We love that many of our guests have been coming here for generations!! It is one of the greatest things about the Windermere. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Although the physical plant of this hotel may be a bit weathered, we had a wonderful stay here. The staff was very helpful and they have managed to update the rooms quite well in the last 2 years of ownership. The view is unbeatable from the edge of the cliff...perfect for cocktails on a warm February evening. And the beach is one of the best walks I have found on the Oregon coast. Good fish restaurants on Old Town Bandon just a mile or 2 away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZiziZeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisitWindermere, Manager at Windermere on the Beach, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Windermere! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the magnificent views from here! Bandon is a special place with great shopping, restaurants and vistas! We hope you can join us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandon
0.0 mi away
Best Western Inn at Face Rock
1.0 mi away
Sunset Oceanfront Lodging
1.4 mi away
Table Rock Motel
Table Rock Motel
#6 of 12 in Bandon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay
Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay
#2 of 7 in Coos Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
21.4 mi away
Edgewater Inn
Edgewater Inn
#3 of 7 in Coos Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
19.5 mi away
Plainview Motel & RV Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windermere on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windermere on the Beach

Property: Windermere on the Beach
Address: 3250 Beach Loop Dr SW, Bandon, OR 97411-8808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Bandon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bandon
#1 Family Hotel in Bandon
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bandon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every room at the Windermere has an unobstructed view of the spectacular ocean along Bandon's coastline. 25 secluded and private units, some with fireplaces, kitchenettes,and decks - perfect for family vacations. All rooms have free WiFi. Pet friendly rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Windermere on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windermere Motel On The Beach Hotel Bandon
Windermere Hotel Bandon
Windermere Motel Bandon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing