We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach”

Bullards Beach State Park
Ranked #5 of 23 things to do in Bandon
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Huntington Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great beach”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We really enjoyed walking on the beach. We collected some fabulous drift wood and even found some agates.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank tmanfewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    42
    11
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Point Reyes Station, California
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Best Campground Hosts and Rangers”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stopped at Bullards Beach during a road trip. I was surprised when, instead of having us drive through and pick a campsite, the ranger asked us about our camping style (tent size, want to be close to restrooms, length of stay, etc) and assigned us a site. I was dubious, but after settling in we realized she had made the PERFECT choice. I talked to other campers and RVers and found that they had had the same experience. We each thought WE had gotten the primo spot.
The campground was spotless. Each morning, as campers departed, the hosts came around and cleaned each site, going so far as to rake the camping pads and clean the fire pit as each camper departed.
We attended a presentation on the Oregon lighthouses given by one of the volunteer hosts. My 10 year old nephew dubbed the presentation "Really cool and worth delaying marshmallow roasting for".
The bathrooms were clean, the showers were hot (and free) and they place all trash in a big trash compactor so you don't have problems with flies and critters. One caveat for the showers, put your shoes in an area far away from the shower. I had the water splash out and wished I had thought ahead or brought shower shoes.
Based on our stay at Bullards, we hope to stay at more Oregon parks in the future.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank CoastalBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland,OR
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Nice Campground, bad bugs”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed one night at the Bullard's beach campground on 8-12-2012 as a stop off point to rest along a 10 day road trip. We really only used it as an over night stop after a long drive from Humboldt Redwoods Park. It's very easy to find, easy to navigate the paved road around the grounds. We had site B27. Large, grassy, nice fire pit and picnic table, easy to back into paved long driveway.There were gopher holes in our grassy area however that made the tent set up challenging. I do have to say this campgrounds had more RV's and trailers then any other sites on our entire 10 day trip. It seems very popular to pull in these big easy spots with RV's, and not as many tent campers that we noticed in our loop. Some of the generators were annoying at night, and it didn't feel super private with people at the next site being able to stare directly down onto our tent from their RV windows.
The bathroom was a short walk away and very nice. We loved that Oregon mostly doesn't make you pay with coin operated showers like many other places. The water was hot and decent. Most people here were very friendly, including the rangers. We spent some time talking with a grounds keeper who was extremely personable and a very nice man.
On the down side, this isn't on the beach or really that near the beach. It's a 3/4 of a mile hike to the beach from the camp grounds. We were right near the "trail" that takes you there. We thought after all our hiking in the redwoods and at Crater lake that 3/4 of a mile is no big deal. Well think again. This trail winds up and down and is sand filled making it more challenging. It also seems to go through mosquito ville USA as they were swarming us on the path with no where to go to escape them. We really didn't enjoy this walk. The beach however feels secluded and is very nice. Not super windy, and a tad foggy for our visit. The mosquitos even at our site however were huge and swarming until the night got too cold for them. We didn't get bitten our entire 10 day trip until this stop. Apparently someone rang the dinner bell and they had a feast at our expense!
I probably wouldn't visit this campground as a destination, but I may go again as another stop off point. It was quiet, pleasant and the people were all very nice and the beach was isolated enough to be fairly empty and very beautiful. But it's not wilderness or beach camping by any means.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ariella35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“I love the oregon state parks”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

My famly loves to go camping. Every year we go to the coast for 4th of july and try to get away as many times as possible during the summer over to the oregon coast every time we go we stay at state parks. they offer everything you could want from yurts(so fun to stay in) to tent and rv sites. The bathrooms are always clean and the showers always have hot water. what more can a camper want! we will continue to stay at oregon state parks and pass on the love of camping in them to our kids and grand kids!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank hannahOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Level 6 Contributor
37 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best campground in Oregon”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We didn't bring our camping gear, but I have been here many times growing up and this state park just keeps getting better and better. Very well maintained and very clean. Love the camp areas as they are all very secluded and close to the beach.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Traci H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bullards Beach State Park also viewed

 

Been to Bullards Beach State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing