We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Luxurious Lodge for Golfers”
Review of A Bandon Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bandon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Bandon Inn
Ranked #4 of 9 Bandon B&B and Inns
Hilton Head, SC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Luxurious Lodge for Golfers”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Last week I took my three sons (ages 44, 42 and 40) to Bandon Dunes in Bandon, OR for a golf outing to celebrate my 75th birthday. I had been to BD before and wanted the thrill of returning to play the courses with my sons. Needless to say we had a fantastic time (sun and heavy winds all six days) as we played all four courses as well as the par three Bandon Preserve. One of the highlights of our trip was staying at A Bandon Inn (the golfers lodge owned by Al Greenfield) approximately 10 minutes from the BD resort. The Inn is situated in a lovely woodsy private setting with a large outside deck, a fire pit and music pumped from the large entertainment room. As you drive into the lodge you are greeted by a large score card with the names of your foursome. The rooms and accommodations are "five star" (each room includes two queen size beds with private bath) and your stay includes a fantastic "Scottish Breakfast"...fresh brewed coffee is available at 5 AM...and an open bar each night. "Big Al" goes out of his way to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. My three sons could not believe the service Al provided us and how enjoyable he made our stay. This is my third time staying at A Bandon Inn and it always exceeds my expectations. It truly is a luxurious lodge for golfers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bird4Rover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
2
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2011

A huge "THANK YOU" to Al and his staff for making my 50th birthday golf trip a fantastic experience. Al helped me with everything from securing our group's desired tee times, to selecting our caddies, and he even had pizza delivered the first night when our arrival was delayed.

As far as accomodations, rooms were spotless and personal items were organized every day. Al cooks a great breakfast every morning, made dinner reservations for us each evening, and had our favorite libations waiting for us when we returned from our day of golf. Each evening, we finished the day with good conversation and drinks around the firepit, just a perfect place to relax after a full day.

If you go to A Bandon Inn's website you will see that Al and his wife set out to create the perfect bed and breakfast designed for golfers. Through Al's boundless energy and attention to detail, he has done just that. Congratulations Al, and know that when my group returns to Bandon Dunes to play golf again, our first call will be to you.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne2505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
1 review
Reviewed November 12, 2010

Very clean place and "Big Al" is great. You wake up in the morning to freshly brewed coffee and a fantastic breakfast personally cooked by "Big Al" himself. Off you go to golf at the most awesome golf destination on the West Coast. Upon your return to A Bandon Inn, your room will be cleaned and your personal items will be put in thier place with meticulous detail. You can stay and play cards in the poker room or sit outside by the fire pit and smoke a cigar. Or you could go into town to "Big Al's" Restaurant, McFarlin's Bar & Grill.
I will return to "Big Al's" place again sometime in the near future!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevesiciliani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2010

I would not bother with any other place to stay in Bandon, Oregon. Al Greenfield has established his private sanctuary for golfers and travelers in a serene setting overlooking the forests and valleys of coastal Oregon. He is the chef and host with the most. He makes everyone feel welcomed and has accomodations to match. It is the perfect spot to relax after your rounds at Bandon Dunes Golf Resort. The resort has nice facilities, but, cannot match the attention to detail that Mr. Greenfield provides. I highly recommend to all golf groups that want a trip of a lifetime to enjoy this exceptional place. Thanks Al

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennesee
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2009

this is a great place to rest, relax and get away from it all.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quiltingqueen59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnetka/Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2006

A Bandon Inn is the perfect destination for an upscale, guy's golf trip. Al's place is more than reasonable, but bring money for the golf. It's a B&B in beautiful southwestern coastal Oregon that has great food (breakfast), great views, and every possible amenity you might desire. Al will provide for all your needs and desires. It's certainly woman friendly (Al's lovely wife Debbie is often on-site also), but is really ideal for the 8 or 12 man 3 or 4 day golf trip. I was just there in early October and the perfect (sixties and sunny) weather helped, but it would have been a great time even if the golf had been mediocre. Alas, the golf was fabulous, and though the Bandon Dunes Resort looked very nice, the money we saved by staying at Al's was a big factor in our great weekend. Did I mention the cigars (for on the deck or golf course) and open bar? Al doesn't miss a thing. Okay so I've known Al a long time, but my seven comrades now know and like him as much as me and they just met him! (16 thumbs way up!)

  • Liked — our host
  • Disliked — breakfast servings too big and I'm not real disciplined in that departmentjust
  • Tips/Secrets — just go
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank peter15handicap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, FL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2006

The best B&B for golfers, hikers & naturalists! Al, the owner, is completely hands on. From taking your reservations, booking your tee times, greeting you in jeans, picking fresh berries, to buying your favorite cocktail ingredients - he does it all!! Once your his guest you'll be best friends for life. The Bandon Dunes Golf resort is very close & these courses are Fantastic! Al makes sure you get the best caddies, too. Don't confuse this one with "Bandon Inn" - they're Very different. "A Bandon Inn", Al's place, is casual, natural & first-class all the way!!!
We love you Al!, your fans from Naples, J & R

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank chicajill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandon
5.2 mi away
Best Western Inn at Face Rock
4.8 mi away
Sunset Oceanfront Lodging
4.5 mi away
Table Rock Motel
Table Rock Motel
#6 of 12 in Bandon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Edgewater Inn
Edgewater Inn
#3 of 7 in Coos Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
3.4 mi away
Lighthouse Cove Inn
Lighthouse Cove Inn
#7 of 12 in Bandon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
5.3 mi away
Windermere on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Bandon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Bandon Inn

Property: A Bandon Inn
Address: 56131 Tom Smith Rd, Bandon, OR 97411-6305
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Bandon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Bandon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Bandon Inn is your #1 Choice for Bandon Oregon Vacation Rentals and golf resort destinations.  Designed with the golfer in mind, just five minutes from the ocean shore, A Bandon Inn is the ideal hideaway for those who seek magnificent golf and the finest in private luxury accommodations and concierge services.A Bandon Inn can cater to your particular tastes. Every morning you will be delighted that breakfast and coffee will be ready when you are.After golf enjoy a soothing massage, play poker or just relax on the deck and enjoy the view with your favorite beverage. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing