We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best animal park in Oregon”

West Coast Game Park Safari
Ranked #3 of 23 things to do in Bandon
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The United State's largest wild animal petting park.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best animal park in Oregon”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This a self-guided facility that is clean and well maintained. The trainers bring out young animals and let groups of people pet them and have pictures taken with them. Best to get there early in the morning.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Arne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    114
    37
    25
    66
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Tourist trap”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

There are some beautiful creatures here, and they all seemed to be in good health, and well-treated. But the habitats were all small, there was no educational material really, and it all seemed a little down at the heels. I felt a little sorry for the animals, and the people. But the kids seemed to like it, and it was fun to have the deer and goats come over to grab the food out of your hands while you tried to pet them. There are way better zoos for way less money.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JoeTPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“This place should not be open”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My husband and I visited the park after seeing signs for it on the road. Once the euphoria of playing with a baby tiger and other cubs wore off, the guilt immediately set in. We wish we had never supported this establishment, and that we had looked it up before going.

It was clear that the large exotic animals were unhappy, from their vacant looks to continuous pacing. The cages are way too small, considering the territories these animals would have in the wild. Not to mention the fact that the animals clearly do not get any form of mental stimulation. The staff are not trained zoo keepers. They do not know how to handle the animals.

After looking into it further, the park is not accredited by the Association of Zoos and Aquariums. The fact that they have been around for more than 40 years and have not gotten this accreditation shows its' disinterest in the animals' welfare. Their website mentions nothing about the animals they have: where they come from, their history, or even information about the animal itself. This park boasts being educational, and this could not be further than the truth. If anything, they come off as secretive; as if they don't want anyone to know anything about the animals, because they know what they're doing is absolutely wrong.

This park should not be open! It is no more than a hobby farm, and by the sounds/looks of it, it is also an exotic cub mill. Terrible!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
15 Thank van_cristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandon, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Needs better staff”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I'm a local, and have gone here a handful of times throughout the years. It has been going downhill. I went on august 11, 2013. The walkways were all clean with a young teen constantly sweeping them, but the cages were filthy. It cost 17.50 to get in, and there were no educational signs anywhere. Some of the animals looked sick. Not all the workers seemed too happy to be there, the girl who was showing the baby animals in the nursery specifically. She couldn't be bothered to answer anyones questions, bored and grumpy and seemed way more interested in talking to what I assume was her boyfriend, and playing with her cigarette filters. Don't know if I'll be returning.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CoastalHippie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A Great Stop”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This is a late review from our summer 2012 road trip. We stopped at the Game park. Their was a nice selection of animals, many of which roamed free around the park, giving the impression of being a giant petting zoo. The animals were very friendly, and my grandson had a great time. They had a few sessions with baby animals, and my grandson was able to play with and hold a bobcat kitten. Later he and a girl were able to interact with a young cougar.

The were a few exhibits, with animals in cages though, that did appear to be stressful on the animals. I noticed a leopard pacing in a cage, while park gardeners were using a weed whacker against the bars spraying the animal with debris, while they were wearing glasses to protect their eyes.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank HunkyJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Coast Game Park Safari also viewed

 

Been to West Coast Game Park Safari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing